We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Ranked #29 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were quite hesitant after seeing some reviews on here after already booking to stay 9 nights, however we were pleasantly surprised. it might be a case of hit or miss but we got a room by the carpark on the ground floor and we slept fine with a 3 month old even!

Its a good location for the kuranda railway and mall and a few blocks from the main hub of cairns.

Only downside was that they tried to charge us for a bassinet we never asked for and didnt use, otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    229
    100
    37
    43
See reviews for
119
253
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First I would like to say, that I never left a bad review before. I either leave a good one in very good cases where the service was outstanding or I don’t at all. But this case is really a rarity that I feel it must be shared with fellow travellers.
Although the unit was nice, we suffered the worst treatment we have ever experienced on 6 continents. Maybe it was just us having unbelievably bad luck... but considering what happened we believe it to be extremely unlikely...

- We were charged more than we were led to expect. The level of miss-communication and conflicting information we experienced during our stay was really confusing.

- They had our car towed away! Even if parked properly, due to the fact that we didn't use it for a while as we were using our push-bikes. They didn't even try to organize the return of the car but instead, to our speechless bewilderment, made jokes about it like: "we sold it on ebay"...

- They charged us almost $300.00 in cleaning fees out of our bond once we left. We spent 2 days cleaning the place inside out and we even had a friend that is a professional cleaner come in one day to help us out in the attempt to avoid any more extra pricey fees.

- Finally when we complained for all this, in a direct but proper manner as I am writing this now, instead of trying to amend the situation they asked us to apologize to them. This showed us once more what little notion they possess regarding customer service.

Ultimately we have lost a great deal of money… and we are wondering how this treatment can be legal at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank An0nym0us146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you want any sleep, book somewhere else. This place is like trying to sleep in a car park. We were woken up every morning at 3,30am by a rubbish truck in the vicinity. The next one was at 4.30 and so on. Around 6am the rubbish came to collect the rubbish from the car park. We also heard guests coming and going from the car park, which the apartments are built around. I could hear the guy next door, or above, taking a pee during the night. We got woken up by people talking in the car park and the stairs.

Our son, next door, had water pipes rattling all night for 2 nights. They saw no rush to fix them. The Management couldn't care less about our complaint. They won't even redspond to the travel agent.
We stayed a week and went home shattered.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the outside, this seems like a really nice place to stay, but there is something about it that made me feel never quite comfortable while I stayed here for 2 nights. It might be the noise factor, that echoes throughout the complex. Noise spills in from the road, the neighbouring units, the stairwell - which if you are a light sleeper makes for a bad night's sleep.

On the upside, there is absolutely everything you need in the kitchen, equipment wise including a rice cooker (!) and coffee plunger. There is a shopping centre next door with supermarkets, cinemas and about everything else you could need. The Esplanade is about a 7 minute stroll away.

Also, management should look at their facilities and ensure everything works well and easily. For example, at first glance the gym looks great, but once you try to use the equipment, everything is just a wee bit broken. The TV channels are listed, but half of them had too weak a signal to display on the set.

The coffee shop downstairs next to reception serves average coffee.

There are a fair few options in Cairns and to be honest I’d explore other options the next time I visit.

Travel safe :)

Room Tip: Away from the carpark or road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QMochalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently spent 7 nights in a One Bedroom Apt, pool facing, ground floor. The apartment was spacious, all amenities clean and kitchen was well stocked with everything you could possibly need. You occassionally hear noises from the industrial area but the biggest issue we had was the noise you hear from other apartments. On our last night we either had a room above us full of airline hostesses or staff walking around in high heel shoes most of the night (Midnight til 4am) I'm a heavy sleeper but this i could not sleep through. This really put a dampner on our trip as we had to fly out at 6am. Also the pool is not heated so swimming in winter doesn't really happen unless you are 6yo and dont care =) It's about 4/5 blocks from The Esplanade and its a nice stroll. The shopping centre next door is fantastic and you can get almost anything there. I dont think i would stay again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment as a family with 3 teenagers. The rooms gave us immediate access to the pool area and we found the rooms spacious, modern and very accommodating. The location was great as the shopping mall and Kuranda station were only 5mins walk. We enjoyed the easy walk to the restaurants and marina as these were several blocks away. We were looking for a place to stay where we could sleep comfortably, able to cook if we wanted to, with laundry facilities, close to shops, restaurants and facilities as we were out everyday touring. It was just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Southern Cross Atrium Apartments advertised themselves on their website as "luxury". They are definitely a very long way away from that. Both in terms of the accommodation itself - the bedrooms are small, nothing luxury, just ordinary 3 star level. The breakfast was terrible, with some really bad filter coffee. However there was a friendly yellow sign on the wall beside a nespresso machine advertising a nespresso capsule coffee for the bargain price of $ 4.00 dollars!!!
Plus, the two bedroom "deluxe" apartment which we paid for, was not really an two bedroom apartment. Rather a single room linked to a one-bedroom apartment via a separate, hallway. Either way both were very noisy. Did not realise at the time of the booking, that Water street where Southern Cross Atrium are located, is in fact the street for the supliers delivering to Coles and the big shopping centre next door. So from about 4 pm onward there were big trucks passing by all the time. Needless to say that the windows and walls offered no protection whatsoever against the noise. Obviously the whole place has been built on the cheap. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.9 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing