We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and noisy for the price, terrible breakfast - definitely not luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Ranked #26 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Small and noisy for the price, terrible breakfast - definitely not luxury”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Southern Cross Atrium Apartments advertised themselves on their website as "luxury". They are definitely a very long way away from that. Both in terms of the accommodation itself - the bedrooms are small, nothing luxury, just ordinary 3 star level. The breakfast was terrible, with some really bad filter coffee. However there was a friendly yellow sign on the wall beside a nespresso machine advertising a nespresso capsule coffee for the bargain price of $ 4.00 dollars!!!
Plus, the two bedroom "deluxe" apartment which we paid for, was not really an two bedroom apartment. Rather a single room linked to a one-bedroom apartment via a separate, hallway. Either way both were very noisy. Did not realise at the time of the booking, that Water street where Southern Cross Atrium are located, is in fact the street for the supliers delivering to Coles and the big shopping centre next door. So from about 4 pm onward there were big trucks passing by all the time. Needless to say that the windows and walls offered no protection whatsoever against the noise. Obviously the whole place has been built on the cheap. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    225
    96
    33
    39
See reviews for
110
247
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a ground floor studio apartment which was just a good size which meant no steps but also no real view except cars. Also had the stairs right near a window. Very convenient location with very helpful staff in the office and the coffee shop. Immaculate laundry (and reasonable price). It was an easy walk to so many places for evening meals and a nice stroll around the main part of town to the water!. Absolutely ideal for our 4 nights stay/ Yes, would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in June/July. Found the rooms very spacious, quiet and comfortable, booking of tours all taken care of by the very friendly and helpful staff. Pool was cool but useable and BBQ facility very clean. Short walk to supermarket, restaurants, and marina. Our 4th Cairns trip. This was our first stay here, and will not be the last.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Unserviced apartment. Stayed 4 nights
GOOD points - 1) very roomy, 2)very clean, 3) full kitchen, 4) nice view from the balcony of the pool. 5) friendly and helpful reception staff, 6) great location for the mall and railway.7) A choice of 3 pools, 8) Nice little breakfast cafe 9) Good shower.
BAD points -1) no lifts so being on the top floor had to lug cases up 3 flights, 2) very, noisy - mainly other guests and it wasn't that full, 3) The pool was pretty but chilly . 4) too far from the waterfront & cafes 10-15 mins.Walking back after dinner felt a bit unsafe. 5) The complex cafe was only open for breakfast. 6) There was only one bedside light and lamp.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. If you don't like stairs get a room on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingsideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location in the CBD of Cairns. The main Cairns Central shopping centre is just down the road and only 7 mins from airport. Free car parking on site. The studio saver apartment was nice but fairly small. The lady that booked us in wasnt very friendly and wasnt going to include the 3 breakfasts that were part of the deal. Lucky I had the paperwork to prove it was included as she wasnt budging but then only gave us 2 breakfasts and I didnt want to argue anymore. Having said that the tropical breakfasts were basic, but nice and inviting. The room was nice, the pool and spa was freezingbut kept super clean by the lovely friendly man every day. On second to last day of our 6 days, we ran out of loo paper and they would only sell us a roll for $1.80!!! Not sure if this is the norm for unserviced apartments but interestingly we didnt have a full roll when we got there. This was a bit disappointing. Rooms had limited kitchen facilities (2 knives, 2 forks, 2 plates, 2 mugs etc) Trip Advisor previous comments recommended to ask for a room away from the reception and main car park and this is what we did. We had a great room on second level that was quiet and away from the noise. Overall it was an okay place in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the reception area and main car park. I agree with previous comments, highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1967_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hi, we were really looking forward to staying here as we were impressed by pictures on Internet of rooms. It's a shame management can't put the same effort into their cleanliness of the rooms as they do to the grounds and gardens. We arrived to find dust on bedtables, grubby plates, cleaning rag under sofa bed, food smears on kitchen cupboards, mould on shower roof, and overall just lack of cleanliness. Such a shame! Customer service was pleasant but no wow factor. Location good and handy to shopping centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalbliss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights for the Ironman. The complex is very close to a big shopping centre, which is very handy for supplies etc. The room we had was very close to reception and overlooked the central car park. This meant we had vehicle noise at all hours with cars, mini vans and buses so the balcony wasn't used much. Plus for some reason the garbage trucks would come really early in the morning and make a lot of noise.
The room was clean and comfortable although on the small side. The breakfast was adequate and the pool is unheated and very cold even on a sunny day. The bed and shower were excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from reception and the car park as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#21 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing