We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Central Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Ranked #28 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Central Cairns”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The room was very clean and modern. Not a huge room but very well equipped with all the kitchen utensils you could need, crockery, saucepans along with stovetop and microwave made cooking your own meals easy if you choose to. Just across the road from Cairns Central shopping centre, very convenient to buy food or do some shopping and it is a short 8-10 min walk to the esplanade and markets. Our room was not a serviced apartment, so the linen is not changed every day. We stayed approx 2 weeks and there is a mid week linen change along with a replacement of the toiletries and coffee, sugar etc. There is a washer & dryer at ground level for guests, very useful. This hotel is great value for money and convenience, is clean and comfortable and has amenities including a lovely pool and barbeque area. Only a couple of small negatives, is hard to get internet signal but is available at reception. The train runs close by but there are only 2 or 3 a day so didnt bother us and we would stay again.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, but only 2 levels to walk up if you are on the top floor. There are a lot of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    227
    98
    37
    40
See reviews for
116
250
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location wise it's difficult to judget whether it is good or not because it is not very close to the main street by the sea where many restauratns and shops locate (ard 15 mins walk) but it is right next to a shopping mall and the train station so you can still get the things you want conveniently.
The apartment is pretty basic with two single beds one room, one bathroom and the kitchen. It's good that they have a balcony with a table set so we can eat insider or outside as we wish. The kitchen is pretty well equipped with hardware. Overall the room is very clean! However during our five day stay there they wouldn't provide any cleaning services or change towels. You need to pay extra for that.
One thing that left me very bad impression is the stairs to the room. Our room is on the third floow and there was no elevator so we need to carry our luggage up to 3 floors (no one would help us to carry up). In the midway some of the tiles are broken on the stairs. I couldn't imagine what if ppl acciedentally fall on the broken tiles.
In the reception there are many marketing materials for the local tours. We could easily book the tour via the lady tho all the time she's very busy with other guests checking in and out. We need to wait patiently.
They have a swimming pool but it doesn't trigger our desire to swim there. I prefer to walk 15 mins to the lagoon in the centre area which is open to the public for free.
As I was travelling with friends we need to have twin bed rooms, otherwise I saw some other hotels provding better deal with better enviornment and location. Just that they only have double bed room which is not suitable for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milky_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a studio apartment. We arrived on a public holiday an hour after reception closed, the night manager came down to check us in and was very friendly. He even took the time to go through a map of Cairns with us and show us some places to go, without even asking him to. The apartments are quite new and were very clean. There are a few well kept pools & spas, the grounds are well kept also. There are 3 good communal laundries in the complex which we used one of at a cost of $3.
The location is great, right beside Cairns Central shopping centre and only a 10-15 minute walk down to The Esplanade & Barrier Reef cruise terminal. We have only had to use the car once in our 5 night stay and that was only to carry our fishing gear down to the harbour.
Overall we were very happy with the apartments and would definately stay again or recommend to friends

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Atrium apartments are well located, right in CBD just a few blocks from Esplanade, close to shops. They had good after hours check-in arrangements, and security. The apartments have very well equipped kitchens, nice new and clean throughout. Also lovely pool areas, with BBQ. The only negative, they forgot to make up the foldout bed. I love Cairns, love the weather and there is so much to see and do in surrounding areas, within easy day drive, such as the Tablelands, Port Douglas, Green Island....

Room Tip: A bit of road noise near the street. Select the floor, according to the stairs you can manage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jindycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for a week in April and enjoyed it very much! Me and my partner stayed in a studio apartment in block 5 and had a nice view of the pool. The room was perfect for the two of us, not too big, not too small. We also appreciated that the shopping centre was a 5min walk away. All in all great value for money and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitaN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hi all,
We booked this spot as I needed to fly to Cairns out from Arnhemland to have our 3rd child as my pregnancy was in the 'risky' class and our local hospital could not facilitate this - so therefore needed to have a little flexibility with our booking, understandibly it wwas a big ask but I has emailed in advance and had assurance from staff that they would try to be as flexible as possible given our situation, which was great. However when our baby came early (the next morning) we realised we had booked for too long and wouldnt be needing the whole time so when we went to recieve the refund and had it loaded on our card when we got home we realised we had been NOT refunded but CHARGED AGAIN!!!
This was a very very disappointing thing to have happened as we were already in a high stress situation and by the time we realised this mess up it was too late.
However the rooms were immaculately clean and it was a great spot close to the Cairns Central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redrockrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

gloucestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Originally booked for 6 nights but plans changed and needed to book 3 more' the receptionist was extremely helpful and let us keep the same rooms at the same rate as I booked the previous 6 nights.
Facilities good, very clean and tidy but remember this isn't a serviced room with linen or towel changes every few days. The room was very spacious and had good cooking facilities. The three pool areas are very pleasant. On the negative side our room was very noisy facing the tyre depot on water street with a telephone ringing all day. Bins are emptied early hours of the morning and there is a tendency for indigenous people to roam this area making a lot of noise. Also the wireless internet is expensive and expires after 24 hrs.
Overall the accomadation was fit for purpose and my only advice is request a room not facing onto water street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#23 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing