We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, unfriendly, arrogant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #13 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, unfriendly, arrogant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed at this hostel for only one night. I stayed in a 10 dorm which was pretty okay. Lockers are only available at the reception and cost $6 a day. Every time you want to access your locker, you have to ask one of the receptionists. Most of them roll their eyes when you ask them to access your locker. In general, staff is unfriendly and arrogant.

The bed was pretty cozy, however, I could still not sleep well. The attached pub/club played loud music till late at night (around 3 am), so that it was very noisy.

The pub is nice, with a pool and terrace. The hostel advertises a "free hot meal" when staying in the hostel, however, you will not be able to get full from that meal. It's only an entree and you will have to spend $3 to get full.

In general, there are many extra costs, e.g. the locker, $2 for luggage storage and so on. A night in a 10 dorm costs $17. I can only recommend this hostel to party-seekers who do not mind paying around $10 extra a night.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari3ch3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grafton57, Manager at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Our 10 bed dorms are those that we sell at a smaller cost as they are closer to our nightclub. I do apologise if you was not made aware of this upon check in.

Luggage is stored for $2 per day in our luggage room, however if guests wish to use our private lockers in here it is at a $3 per day fee.

We do offer a free meal and an upgrade fee to a large meal is only $3, which is very reasonable considering we also offer an hour free internet, free linen, free courtesy bus, free parking, free GYM reduced in-house guests prices amongst other inclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    292
    128
    54
    66
See reviews for
10
74
315
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Gilligans was the first place i stayed in Australia and NOTHING and i mean NOTHING compares to it. Clean, fun, friendly and fantastic facilities. The staff were always pleasant and happy to help. The tour desk out front was absolutely perfect for booking excursions and was well organised and friendly. The free shuttle from the airport saved me a hell of a lot of hassle and money. Gilligans is right in the centre of town, walking distance to basically everywhere. Shops, clubs, pubs and events. Cairns is the base from where all trips leave from and they always pick you up which is great.
Even the cleaner staff were nice, my dorm stole all the mugs every night and in the morning when they came in to clean the sheets of whoever left they never complained.
The club was so much fun, great nightly activities and always a laugh.
The pool outside is niiice and cold with great sun-loungers and pool volleyball nets across the pool.
They're also very conscientious with water coolers and cups on the decking by the pool to prevent dehydration when sunbathing.
Gilligans also has fantastic internet access which is cheap and very easy to use. With computer suites on every floor you'll never be stuck. The community TV and sofas on each floor was also great for the morning after if you were unlucky enough to experience rain and wanted to slum through the hangover.

Basically i had the best time in Gilligans, i met some fantastic people and staff and i was NEVER bored. The bathroom in our dorm was squeaky clean as was the shower. The room was a generous size and the bunk-beds are sooo big if you compare them to the normal ones. BE GRATEFUL FOR THE SIZE.
TIP: If you're travelling alone stay in a 10 bed dorm you will meet some awesome room-mates.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCattermole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We went there as a netball team end of season trip and had the BEST time. Drinks were reasonably priced, the management went out of their way to be accomodating and the live band on Saturday night were rocking with great tracks. Would recommend Gilligans to anyone traveling to Cairns in a group!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fii28282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

fun place to stay with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and tidy. Would definatley stay again - we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessmck7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I am Gillagans number one FAN! this was our last stop before we headed back to the UK, and after a fair few dodgy hostel stays on our way up to Cairns this was a welcome change! Not only were the staff incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms were spotless and there was a great social scene in the bar and club.

I would highly recommend this hotel- and also the location was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollygosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

I travelled from Warrnambool Victoria to the Tropical North to experience all it has to offer. A friend recomended Gilligans Backpackers even though i was not a backpacker as such. I stayed in one of their hotel rooms. I found the room to be clean, and fairly priced, the staff were more than happy to provide me with the service i would come to expect from a quality hotel. Meals were reasonably priced and the kitchen staff were fantastic to deal with my fussy food choices. I loved the fact that you didnt really need to leave the establishment as everything you could possibly want is right at your fingertips. You have the pool with its own little quirky beach, you have the bars with great local bands and entertainment, the niteclubs,( if your lucky you might see someone famous, or someone who looks like someone famous, oops my mistake lol) restaurant, pokies, coffee shop, gym. And if thats not enough and you feel like stepping outside the bubble the front desk staff were happy to help me book my reef trip. Which i might add i came back as red as a lobster and ended up spending the next 3 days chilling upstairs in front of the tv regrowing my skin cells. If i hadn't burnt myself to a crisp thinking i was going to tan like a bronzed goddess i would have happily gotten a spray tan from the beauty salon downstairs, which i will be doing when im back just before Christmas. Anyway the thing is i will be back and i loved it. Check it out for yourself

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dairyprincess_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

So i just got on here to place my review about Gilligans and saw that 2 previous people had winged about the place. Obviously they are stupid. When i arrived at gilligans, the reception staff were incredibly helpful. I was checked in straight away and when arriving at my room found it to be clean and tidy. Since beggining my travels, i have stayed at several hostels and have had problems with bed bugs. My stay at Gilligans was the first lot of peacful nights sleep i recieved. NO BED BUGS which is a huge tick of approval in my books. The 2 night clubs attached to the hostel are amazing. Gilligans bar downstairs is always pumping and great for eveyone and all tastes in music. Then on fridays and saturdays if you fancy another great experience without traveling to far around the town, The Attic goes off. The music up there is new and fresh and the dj plays all the latest dance tracks to keep you on your toes. Service is great in both parts of the venue and the bar staff are fun and easy to get along with. In my opinion this has been the best place to stay on the whole east coast of australia. Its definatly where me and my friends had the most fun. Highly recommend Gilligans when staying in cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limparmtimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing