We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hostel, spotless, backpackers dinner- horrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #7 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel, spotless, backpackers dinner- horrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was only my second hostel experience ever and I was very impressed. It is noisy at night if your trying to sleep though. It is very clean. The staff were great. The backpackers dinner was tiny and not very nutritious! Their travel agents are great at recommending tours. They have a daily maid service. Kitchen is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thankyou for your recent review left on Trip Advisor. The team at Gilligan's very much appreciate your feedback. We recommend choosing one of our smaller dorm types on a higher level for those guests looking for a quieter nights sleep. All comments are sent out to all departments for revision so we can continue to better the product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    267
    116
    47
    56
See reviews for
9
68
287
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

backpacker place full of yelling 18-26 year olds. That is normal for this sort of place and I had no choice but to stay here due to work. However, I was making a complaint to the front desk that my internet (with global gossip ) was not working and was met with a rude " do you want me to...or do you want no internet" kind of response by the front desk person on the night of 28 June at 1130 pm. I realise that my internet skills may be poor but the rudeness by their staff member was worse. Did not appreciate the threatening tone by the staff member and feel bullied and not appreciated as a client.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank uqwloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello and thankyou for bringing your slightly negative experience to our attention. I do believe the hotel manager tended to this complaint when you sent through your email regarding this matter last week, and that the staff member you mention has been dealt with accordingly. We do apologise for manner in which your complaint was handled. The management at Gilligan's likes to maintain a high standard of customer service and really do appreciate being advised when it is not upheld.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Gilligans is huge. The rooms are pretty standard, the bar/club is fun and where everyone goes in Cairns so nice and easy to walk up the stairs or get the lift to bed when the party is over.
Because the place is so massive the vibe isn't so friendly or familiar. But the free drinks/food offers are good.
Location is pretty good, close to the greyhound bus stop and shops and walking distance to the lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisacoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Here at Gilligan's we are continually looking for ways to better our product offering and appreciate your honest feedback. In an effort to create another level of social interaction later this year we will be launching the all new Gilligan's Getaway floor. Part of this will be our 'Lounge About' area. By doing this we hope to create an area for people to mingle and interact away from the busy entertainment areas, in an alcohol free environment. Gilligan's Travels also offers 'Group Activities'. Information regarding these days will be going into all rooms in the next few weeks. These days are specifically designed to create opportunity for individual travelers to meet other people and make new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We started our east coast trip here and it did not disappoint. The hostel has a massive bar during the day with swimming pool which turns into cairns biggest night club at night with events on every night from jelly wrestling women and the likes. The rooms have en suites and the balcony's are sound proofed so you can party and not wake anyone up in your room. Great spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlodwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
It's always great to hear when someone has loved their stay with us at Gilligan's! All of the management and team really appreciate your comments and we look forward to having you and your friends come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Over all a very nice hostel, clean rooms, clean bathrooms and well stocked kitchen facilities. However significantly lacked atmosphere, and just seemed to be loads of kids getting smashed at night and lounging around hungover in the day. Good if you want partying I guess but the staff were quite rude, and slightly patronising whenever I asked for help, with the acceptation of the staff working in the travel bookings department who were lovely. Also very antisocial not much mixing between different groups of travellers

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Francoise7538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Your positive feedback on the cleanliness of overall product Gilligan's offers is appreciated. We are constantly working with our staff to improve customer service and your comments have been received by all of the management team for review. As you mention our Travel staff do offer impeccable service and really appreciate your awesome comments regarding the service they provide. I'm not sure if you were aware, but I would like to take this opportunity to mention that we do offer 'Group Activities' at Gilligan's Travels. These days are specifically designed for individual travelers to meet like minded people and make new friends. Information racks regarding this product will be going into all rooms later this month. We do apologise if this was not brought to your attention during your stay. For those travelers not wanting to party we do recommend our smallers dorms on the higher levels. All of our room types at Gilligan's have en-suite facilities, including the budget rooms on lower levels more commonly populated by party people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Gilligan’s is the hub of the Cairns backpacker scene, if you don’t stay at Gilligan’s you will get FOMO and end up going there for drinks anyway.

In house guests get bonuses such as discounted drinks, free entry and free dinner and there is always something cool going on in the bar. There is nightly entertainment, live music and lots going on.

It’s also a really high quality place to stay, the rooms are really clean, the staff are friendly and it’s very secure.

Room Tip: If you want to party choose an 8 bed dorm on a lower floor, if you want a quiet sleep pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 344Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I don't get the hype. Checking all the recent 5* reviews I've noticed they were the only reviews made by the users -- use your head on that one! The bar itself is a great set up and all that but it's spoilt by the childish music and the rude staff. The rooms are fine but not worth the price charged. They need to point out that there is no gym anymore and the pool has been under construction long enough to remove that from their website too. It's far too overrated. I'd rather pay 1$6 a night less and go somewhere a little "grottier" to be around people that a) love their jobs and b) not forced to listen to Pitbull every third song. If you're a teen who loves the Magaluf scene, this is most likely your thing. If not, avoid it. I will note however the love acoustic music outside is always a winner and if it weren't for that, I'd have never gone a second time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzies2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#5 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing