We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Like an institution to Cairns, Gilligams is a great spot to stay at, handy location, modern, good bar and food on-site. This is where it happens in cairns. This is a fun hostel to stay in but also very safe and secure.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JMirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

I’m a traveler who values new impressions more than comfort. So, if you like to be in the center of merry backpackers’ life, to meet new people from different countries, to see evening shows, to dance in Gilligans bar or just have a walk to the Cairns Lagoon whenever you want – than this place is the just for you!
If you want to have a calm, quiet stay among calm, quiet people in a calm, quiet place – it is not for you!

Room Tip: A mixed dorm is a bad idea... for those who want to sleep a bit and wake up early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alika999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed in this hostel as it is very central in a Cairns - I advised I was concerned about the noise and parties and I was put in a room at the back on the third floor and it was fine. It is a young persons hostel and if you want to party you will be in your element ! The staff were ok - nothing special but I didn't find them actually rude. Clean tidy hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Teenawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I personally found my experience at Gilligans so amazing because of the customer service. Especially this one fella named Josh, he just has something that no one else does. He literally has the X FACTOR. He had such a friendly face, I knew as soon as I saw him my experience here would be unforgettable. Aside from Josh however, the others that are working at reception, at the pool, the bar, let's not forget about the housecleaners, they are all impeccable human beings that deserve the equivalent to an Oscar. If I could nominate them for an award I believe I would, unfortunately I do not have that power. I wish I did though. Let's get back to Josh: He is AMAZING. Seriously, I am a difficult human being and he made my complications uncomplicated. WHO DOES THAT? JOSH DOES!! I like the way he throws his water bottle up in the air and then catches it on the back of his soft hand. Just because I said soft does not mean I do not think he is one helluva man. I just think he may moisturize. Anyways, I seriously love this place. I love it so much in fact that I think i'll never leave. If anyone wants to have the time of their life (and then some) STAY AT GILLIGAN'S!!!!

Room Tip: 113, 114, 210, 131, 124, those are all good rooms. Rooms above reception are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The staff in reception and bar are rude and cannot be bothered to even serve you let alone tell you of any deals, offers or recommend anything to do.
Very disappointed it's worse than base or nomads. They charge even to store your bags when you check out is $5 per item, your better off in a different hostel and using these facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

As disappointing as it is to read your comments they are appreciated. Management of both the Venue, and the Hotel will shortly address your feedback with their respective teams with a view to making immediate improvements. Many thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, check in was fairly easy however the staff didn't seem very interested when we asked them for recommendations around cairns. Room was clean, bed was comfy, very basic though and don't think it was good value for the amount we paid. We didnt eat there, or use facilities but the pool area looked good as did the bar area! Location was good right in town but doubt i would stay again as we could stay in a hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. I feel I should take this opportunity to point out that Gilligan's has had over 5.5 million dollars spent on a refurbishment in the last 4 years and offers a very high quality product to the Youth Adventure market. With $2 wi-fi for 24hrs, 24 hr reception & onsite security, central city location, 3 entertainment venues, stunning lagoon swimming pool, free travel advice, free airport pickup, and free evening meal with a drink purchase. Gilligan's is generally reviewed as being exceptionally good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had the best time here and was gutted we didn't stay longer. If you like partying and meeting people then you'll love this. The rooms were great and had their own toilet and shower. Next to the hostel is a big bar which offers good meal deals and there's always something going on. The pool is lovely as well as the kitchen . Definitely made some good memories here. The only downside was the staff were quite slow checking in or if you wanted to get wifi it was take ages.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mccanna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thankyou for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Gilligan's here in Cairns. Your comments are appreciated by management and staff as well as your fellow travellers. In reference to the slow check in we are currently working on systems to make the this process more efficient for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 82 in Cairns
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $18 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing