We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but awful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Upon check in you are greeted by unhappy and miserable staff, mainly the girls and anytime you want to ask a question you are greeted with a glare and the minimum reply. The 2 guys (minus mark) are lovely and were very helpful to me when I had some problems. They cared about me and did everything possible to help.

The rooms are clean and tidy and some of the best we've stayed in. And there are kitchens located on every floor which is nice and they don't get so full.

The nightclub is good, but the free (free with a drink) meal every night is below par. It's dry and boring, so not worth the hassle. Also the staff in the nightclub are just as miserable s reception staff. I was stood next to two Danish guys who ordered jugs of beer after 11pm. The girl was rude and shouted that they don't do jugs after 11. It confused the guys (obviously when English isn't you first language and you're in a loud nightclub, its easy to get confused) and so he asked her again. She gave him another horrible reply and I said to the guy next to me, "oh, she's mad!", she turned to me and shouted "I'm not mad, I'm just tired and I've been up since 5am". People like that shouldn't work behind bars and if you're not willing to talk a little bit slower and more reasonable to foreigners, you shouldn't work in a backpackers.

Apart from the awful staff, it's a good place to stay! Also the pizza shop located in the foyer is AMAZING!!!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nataliepov31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Natalie,
Thanks for taking the time to review the property. It is disappointing to read that some of the team at Gilligan's has made your stay a less than enjoyable experience, especially amongst so many other positive reviews from recent travellers. We have now welcomed a new manager to head up the hotel and he will be putting in place some new systems to assist the staff with handling high volumes of in-house guests without feeling pressure. The Gilligan's Venue Manager will be speaking with all staff in reference to your comments. Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place to be in Cairns if you want to party, a place to avoid if you want to sleep. I enjoyed my stay at this hostel very much. The beds are very comfortable and each room has an ensuite and balcony. However there are only 2 powerplugs in the rooms and that is not enough with 8 people. The bar downstairs is nice but very loud, they play 2 different types of music (inside and outside) which you hear in the rooms and can be quite frustrating if you have to get up early in the morning for a diving trip. Cheap wifi on all floors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beary225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Beary,
Happy to hear your enjoyed your stay recently with us at Gilligan's. I thought I would address the two points that you made regarding power points in rooms and the noise factor from the venue for the benefit of fellow travellers. In light of similar comments in regards to lack of power points management have acknowledged the fact that since the property was purpose built 9 years ago all travellers now have their own 'smart' phones/laptop/Ipads, therefore our maintenance team is gradually putting extra power outlets in every room. In an establishment the size of Gilligan's this will take a little time but it will be done for the convenience of all guests.
I would further like to point out for those travellers that are not so party orientated or have a busy touring schedule and genuinely need some sleep we recommend at the time of booking you request a quieter room on the other side of the building away from the venue. I hope this information is useful to you and helps potential guests with making their choice to come along and enjoy their own Gilligan's experience!
Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you want party, you must go there. Not olny party, also the hostel, have a bar, an axcellent pool, excellent rooms with view to the pool and the pub, same the bathrooms, attention, kitchen, room service.
On the price, that is the same of all the other hostels of cairns, you have included something to eat at night and free pass to de club.
If you want something quiet, no! these place it's only if you want party all nights. Recomended for young people

Room Tip: Only with reservation, it's allways fully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migueluranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A really nice hostel. Modern with large kitchens and a really nice bar/restaurant with what seemed like perpetual happy hours. Live and DJ music at times.

Even with loud music, I found it pretty easy to get to sleep. There are large balconies for smoking, hanging out, or drying your laundry. Kitchen facilities excellent with plenty of fridge space. $2/day WiFi is cheaper than the $8/day at most Australian hostels.

Free dinner is crap, but the eats you pay for at the bar (burgers, roast lamb) is good and relatively cheap. AC in the rooms but not common areas other than reception is a bit weird..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As you step through the door you feel all the fun, excitement and happiness hit you on the face! Smiling people everywhere. The service is good, friendly and lighthearted- everyone treats you as if you're a favorite guest in their house, not the place they work at:)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

my friend and me stayed here 3 nights because we wanted to go to the great barrier reef. it was a very long line when we got checked in, but the man at the reception was very nice and funny and helped us alot when there was a problem with our booking. He tried to speak german to us :-) our room was cleaner than another hostel before and we had nice 'roomies' from ireland (a little bit lout but funny) When you come to cairns you have to go diving (we saw a shark)and also see the daintree national park. Gilligans was cool, thank you for free dinner, fun time at the bar (but a little bit expensive) and nice worker at reception.

Room Tip: Maybe a room away from the Gilligans pub to sleep better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirimaus1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked with caution as heard it was great but with a nightclub I worried it would be noisy. I was on 4th floor and could not hear the music apart from on my last night when they had 2 guys playing so it was a massive night, but even then it wasn't that bad, I fell asleep easily.
Could have done with more plugs bear bed. Only one plug near one bed, then two in wardrobe and one by sink. That's only criticism.
Hot powerful shower, comfy bed, free very basic small meal every night, very clean and fresh looking. Perfect as solo traveller, free pick up from airport easy. Highly recommend. Don't be put off by nightclub and reputation of being party central. I'm 25 solo traveller, so wanted atmosphere and option to party but not to have to if I didn't want to, ideal for anyone similar or wanting to party party party!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClairePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $21 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing