We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Cairns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Cairns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights at the Mantra Trilogy in Cairns. The resort is located on the esplanade with great views of the cairns waterfront from most rooms/balconies. There are plenty of restaurants, cafés and bars in close walking distance as well as a convenience and liquor stores. The rooms are spacious and modern with good security and facilities (pool/gym) at the complex. Would definitely recommend the Mantra Trilogy.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the cairns esplanade and waterfront are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Steve H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    314
    172
    96
    83
See reviews for
238
300
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've stayed here twice now, in 2011 and again last week. The building is ageing quickly and the cheapness of all the fittings/furniture is shining through. The halls smelled strongly of bleach, and the gym had barely any equipment, and what they did have wasn't maintained and or labelled "out-of-order". The pool was shaded and too cold, you're better off hitting the lagoon.

On the plus side, the location was fantastic and the customer service suburb. The friendly yet professional lady at reception always greeted me with a genuine smile. Given I booked at late notice and still got a cheap price the hotel overall is average. It's a good base to leave your stuff and go out and do other things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear seanorr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Its great to hear that you found our customer service exceptional. The Gym equipment is leased from a third party who maintain their equipment on a regular basis.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Mantra Trilogy is is a really good spot, not too noisy on the weekend but conveniently positioned for the marina and the lagoon.
A huge downside for our family was the damp smell of the room. We kept the windows and balcony doors open for the five days we were there and each time we stepped back in the smell was so strong. Also the room was for a family of four but there was only a two seater sofa and one arm chair. Good job we didn't plan to relax as a family in the apartment at night time.
The gym is basic and the pool was really chilly but we still used them.
Probably wouldn't stay there again due to the smell.
As I say if it were rated three stars I probably would have expected these things

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAW118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear SAW118,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the resort.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed while on business for 5 nights. Lucky enough to have tower one, fifth floor, ocean view, one bedroom apartment. The kitchen was well appointed, the bathroom had a great corner shower bath. The bed was very comfortable allowing me to have a great sleep-in this morning. The ocean view from the fifth floor was spectacular. The choice of eating places close-by was outstanding and with IGA and Woollies close by, all me catering needs were taken care of. If you need centrally located accommodation, then the Mantra Trilogy tower one is the place for you to stay. Just a couple of minor things wrong in the room but a restful stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rmcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear rmcooke,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great stay overall except for the shower that had no pressure but that is so thing the hotel can invest to fix (601B). We stayed 5 nights for a family function and we're given a spacious room and the hotel is centrally located. You can't complain about the security of the hotel as you needed a to swipe your card 3 times before you get to your room so if your Staying with others in the hotel it can get a bit annoying to swipe each other up to rooms but apart from that the staff we're wonderful and we had a great stay. But please fix that shower head

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellmiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Shellmiaa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

Our maintenance manager has investigated the shower head you reported and has since been replaced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I normally don't post reviews when I have an average stay at a hotel. As they say "bad experience tell 10 people, good experience tell 1."
I'll have to make the exception here because I had a great stay at The Mantra Trilogy. The rooms were very spacious and clean, the shower was great (always important for me) and the pool was beautiful.
I had never been to Cairns before this trip so I was a bit lost when it came to getting around but the staff were very helpful in guiding me when I needed help.
I even had Rupert give me a good bar grill to go to on the Esplanade. I told him "mate it's a bit tough for me to eat with Mrs because she's vegan." He gave me the name of the chef to say Rupert sent me then when I name dropped at the restaurant the chef came out and gave my Mrs some really nice options.

Thanks to the manager Rupert for taking the time, it means a lot when you have a tough time finding good food!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James2810711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear James2810711,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

I'm happy to hear that the restaurant we spoke about lived up to its reputation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Right on the esplanade, couldn't ask to be any closer to anything.

Awesome views, totally relaxing stay in Cairns. Had efficient staff. Couldn't fault the service.

Had a great stay, and I'll definitely stay here net time i go to cairns.

Room Tip: Get a single beachview room - Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyTawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear TeddyTawee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#24 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing