We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've stayed here twice now, in 2011 and again last week. The building is ageing quickly and the cheapness of all the fittings/furniture is shining through. The halls smelled strongly of bleach, and the gym had barely any equipment, and what they did have wasn't maintained and or labelled "out-of-order". The pool was shaded and too cold, you're better off hitting the lagoon.

On the plus side, the location was fantastic and the customer service suburb. The friendly yet professional lady at reception always greeted me with a genuine smile. Given I booked at late notice and still got a cheap price the hotel overall is average. It's a good base to leave your stuff and go out and do other things.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seanorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear seanorr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Its great to hear that you found our customer service exceptional. The Gym equipment is leased from a third party who maintain their equipment on a regular basis.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Mantra Trilogy is is a really good spot, not too noisy on the weekend but conveniently positioned for the marina and the lagoon.
A huge downside for our family was the damp smell of the room. We kept the windows and balcony doors open for the five days we were there and each time we stepped back in the smell was so strong. Also the room was for a family of four but there was only a two seater sofa and one arm chair. Good job we didn't plan to relax as a family in the apartment at night time.
The gym is basic and the pool was really chilly but we still used them.
Probably wouldn't stay there again due to the smell.
As I say if it were rated three stars I probably would have expected these things

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SAW118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear SAW118,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the resort.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed while on business for 5 nights. Lucky enough to have tower one, fifth floor, ocean view, one bedroom apartment. The kitchen was well appointed, the bathroom had a great corner shower bath. The bed was very comfortable allowing me to have a great sleep-in this morning. The ocean view from the fifth floor was spectacular. The choice of eating places close-by was outstanding and with IGA and Woollies close by, all me catering needs were taken care of. If you need centrally located accommodation, then the Mantra Trilogy tower one is the place for you to stay. Just a couple of minor things wrong in the room but a restful stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank rmcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear rmcooke,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great stay overall except for the shower that had no pressure but that is so thing the hotel can invest to fix (601B). We stayed 5 nights for a family function and we're given a spacious room and the hotel is centrally located. You can't complain about the security of the hotel as you needed a to swipe your card 3 times before you get to your room so if your Staying with others in the hotel it can get a bit annoying to swipe each other up to rooms but apart from that the staff we're wonderful and we had a great stay. But please fix that shower head

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellmiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Shellmiaa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

Our maintenance manager has investigated the shower head you reported and has since been replaced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I normally don't post reviews when I have an average stay at a hotel. As they say "bad experience tell 10 people, good experience tell 1."
I'll have to make the exception here because I had a great stay at The Mantra Trilogy. The rooms were very spacious and clean, the shower was great (always important for me) and the pool was beautiful.
I had never been to Cairns before this trip so I was a bit lost when it came to getting around but the staff were very helpful in guiding me when I needed help.
I even had Rupert give me a good bar grill to go to on the Esplanade. I told him "mate it's a bit tough for me to eat with Mrs because she's vegan." He gave me the name of the chef to say Rupert sent me then when I name dropped at the restaurant the chef came out and gave my Mrs some really nice options.

Thanks to the manager Rupert for taking the time, it means a lot when you have a tough time finding good food!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James2810711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear James2810711,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

I'm happy to hear that the restaurant we spoke about lived up to its reputation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Right on the esplanade, couldn't ask to be any closer to anything.

Awesome views, totally relaxing stay in Cairns. Had efficient staff. Couldn't fault the service.

Had a great stay, and I'll definitely stay here net time i go to cairns.

Room Tip: Get a single beachview room - Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeddyTawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear TeddyTawee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this hotel for a family reunion. The penthouse apartment we had was superb, with amazing views a massive outdoor seating area and a very very high standard of decoration and accommodation. I did have to keep the room key separate from my other cards and phones as otherwise it deactivated but the reception staff were very quick to remedy the problem for me.

In fact I found all the hotel staff very efficient, helpful and pleasant. The hotel is ideally located for easy access to everything Cairns has to offer.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HJMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear HJMUk,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us here at Mantra Trilogy.

We trust that you made it back to the UK hassle free. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your family reunion and that we were able to accommodate your entire family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $92 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing