We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit & Miss ”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

There are some huge pros and cons of our stay at this hotel . The photos don't lie , it is amazing to look at and the pool is beautiful . But there is more to it than that ...

PROS:
- Excellent location - close to everything . The only time we drove anywhere was when we went to Port Douglas.
- Friendly staff - always saying hi when we walked through the lobby
- Huge rooms . We got an apartment which had 2 bedrooms (separated by lockable doors) , 2 bathrooms , laundry , dining , kitchen , multiple balconies , lounge .
- Amazing views . We could see the ocean as well as mountains & some gardens .

CONS
- A horrible damp/mouldy smell on entering our rooms , especially after being closed up for a day
- Could see marks on the walls and cupboards from where "cleaning" had not been done well
- Bats ! Not inside but so loud they might as well be . They are directly outside & drove me batty
- Loud noises coming from above our room . Not sure of what was making these noises .
- We had water leaking from our roof in one of the rooms & when we told staff we were told "that should be expected after the weather we have had" . Could not disagree more & nothing was done except them wiping it away .
- At times , dodgy lifts . They seemed to have a mind of their own .

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank AshBurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear AshBurka,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feed back with you in greater detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me via the resort.

Kind regards,

Rupert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

As soon as we stepped off the elevator for tower 2 you could smell a damp, mouldy, musty smell. When we opened the door to room 702 it was worse!
In the room there was mould on the back of the wooden furniture & food scrapes in between the lounge seats.
Upon getting up this morning we were both covered in bites (bed-bugs) & the bed was lumpy & pillows were the thinest, flattest I have ever see in a hotel!
On check out the staff member was not interested to hear what we had to say.
Save your money stay somewhere else!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
6  Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great location as it was only minutes to get to restaurants and grocery stores along with the night markets. However the rooms weren't serviced daily and the foyer on level 5 had a really strong foul smell.
The hotel was priced quiet cheap so for a more budget stay and great central location I would recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank foodie8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Executive Assistant Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear foodie8990,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and it's convenience right in the heart of the Esplanade.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The first room we were given on Wednesday April 2, 2014 was nothing short of shocking. The smell and amount of bugs was horrible. We are from Canada and not familiar with Cairns; so we thought maybe this was a rare thing and they offered us a second room.

The main reason we stayed and accepted a second room was we had booked through a travel agent and they already had our money!!! When we returned the next day from our travels our second room was also covered in ants. I immediately called the front desk and asked for a refund to go to another hotel. They said there was no manager on staff or could be reached that could make that decision after 6pm. They did offer to come and spray the room with insecticide, but we refused...not sure which would be worse.

So, as a result I thought I should let people know as we really don't want this to happen to anyone else.

Find another hotel with better reviews and don't just trust your travel agent - do some research on your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NRDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Executive Assistant Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear NRDY,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We regret that you did not enjoy your time with us, however I would like to address the points that you have made.

Firstly, there is always a manager on duty in the hotel and they are available at all times to all of our guests. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding in that the information given to you was regarding the office hours of an organization outside of the hotel.

Ants are one of the most populous insects in the world and they inhabit nearly every building, tree, shrub and lawn - especially in the tropics. We have a program in place to ensure that they are kept under control, however certain circumstances, such as leaving food out for extended periods of time, can encourage them to venture forth.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your issues with you in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me via the resort.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your issues with you in further detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me direcctly via the resort.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the mantra trilogy in our way to and way back from Port Douglas recently and were pleasantly surprised. Travelling with another family who had kids, we booked 2 x 2 bedroom suites and although we were in seperate towers, the fact that it was self contained was great and had everything we needed including laundry, oven and dishwasher in the room. We even came back from Port Douglas a day early so the kids could enjoy the cairns esplanade.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Executive Assistant Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Carly R,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Mantra Trilogy. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be comfortable and well equipped.

We hope your journey home was pleasant and we look forward to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed lots about your property, location etc and also liked the apartments but you need to do something about the mouldy smell it is a deal breaker for me. I went into several of your apartments and all had the smell, awful and even with doors and windows open it made little difference. Also we booked and travelled with family and friends and requested rooms together in writing and also over the phone but we were put on different floors. Please do something about the musty revolting smell in rooms.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Brmibrgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Executive Assistant Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Brmibrgaz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed lots about our property. Your feedback regarding the rooms has been passed on to our Executive Housekeeper and will be actioned immediately.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert,
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We arrived a little early, the staff were happy to allow us to go to our room. Unfortunately someone had left the door open & the carpet has become smelly & moldy. They immediately changed our room to a sea view room. The staff behind the desk are attentive & knowledgeable. The location is probably one of the best locations apart for the bats behind the hotel across the road. There is an IGA supermarket around the corner and a Bottle shop (off license) next door to that.
A 2 minute walk from the front door will have you at the Esplanade where all the restaurants are.
The room was well fitted out & a beautiful view across the bay from our balcony.
The pool & gym facilities are all included & a great way to wind down at the end of the day watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in Tower 1 with a Sea view nice & high, Rooms on the North East side are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert H, Executive Assistant Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear summutha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 64 in Cairns
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $102 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing