We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this before booking!”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Read this before booking!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading reviews I thought this would be a decent place to stay for my 5 days in Cairns. Hotel was not what we expected at all!

** There is no housekeeping. Your room does not get serviced and if you want fresh towels, toiletries, etc. you have to collect it from the front desk.

Complimentary car park: There are only about 20 available so if it is a busy weekend you will have to find parking elsewhere.
Wifi: about $20/day.
Front desk: Staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful
Location: Excellent, close to lots of restaurants and the esplanade
Room: okay, clean but the beds were not the usual "comfy" hotel beds, and bed sheets were not great.

If you're unlucky your room will be on the end where the bats are in the trees across the street and they are extremely loud in the morning.

Room Tip: Request it to be and the end that does not have the bats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 830LisaD830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear 830LisaD830,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience at Mantra Trilogy.

It is very regrettable that you have not been advised of our non serviced rates prior to your arrival.
Since you also took the time and read the reviews on tripadvisor it is also very unfortunate that you did not come across responses to previous posts where I have explained our housekeeping arrangements at Mantra Trilogy.
In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. Admittedly some still have serviced rates and un-serviced rates available. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed. A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, but I understand your disappointment if you have not been advised at the time of booking so that the choice would have been yours. We do include weekly servicing in our rates which means that housekeeping will service apartments once a week if you stay more than 7 nights with us.

Regrettably the limited amount of car park spaces at the Trilogy complex is not only an issue for our guests.
Owners and Residents alike wish that a higher ratio of spaces to units was applied at the time of approving the construction.
It is due to this limitation that Mantra decided to provide the spaces free of charge.

Encouraging are your comments in regards to the service you have received at the time from our staff.
I will make sure it is passed on to them in our next team meeting.

Please let us know when you are in the region again and we will be more than happy to welcome you back to Cairns.

Kind regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    576
    317
    196
    140
See reviews for
451
537
76
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I love going to cairns and staying at the mantra trilogy I have stayed there twice now, and always look forward to heading back to the room after a hard days shopping, the pool is great the location perfect and the view amazing! A+!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endeavourstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Endeavourstreet,

thank you so much for your great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back the 3rd time in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is a very nice 2 room apartment with nice location and great view. Got a nice swimming pool and gym facility. It's about 5 minute to Night market.and close to a lot of attraction. A lot of restaurant around and the supermarket is within walking distance. We love this apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pica0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Pica0507,

It is great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Mantra Trilogy. Please let us know when you are in the region again and we will be more than happy to welcome you back to Cairns.

Kind regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On The Esplanade surrounded by some lovely restaurants. An easy walk to the marina and the trips out to The Great Barrier Reef. The room was an average but adequate size. I felt like the bathroom floor could have done with a good scrub (behind the door) - the shower, toilet and sink were clean though. The pool area is very nice. We were in tower 2 on the 7th floor and had great views from the balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear kaz747,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay.
Your comments are most appreciated and please trust that we will address them immediately.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kinds Regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 bedroom apartment can't fault it, clean and comfortable Great location and view. Reception staff helpful . Loads of bats hanging in tree across the street they were a bit noisy ( but worse if you were staying at the Novotel) Pool ok but no rail to get in and out with .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Maiz1,

Thank you so very much for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Our team works hard every day to present a clean and comfortable property for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great advertsing photos! The rooms STINK! and yes I have been and lived in the tropics and never smelt anything that bad. Recently went to Singapore and no smelly room there...... Very average, think Australia has lost meaning of hospitality and do not know what a duster is anymore. Carpet needs replacing too...has put me off Mantra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear travelbug586,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We always strive to provide a higher service experience for every customer and your honest comments are much appreciated.

It is very disappointing to read that you felt that the cleaning was not up to standard.
I sincerely apologise and have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeping Manager to review immediately.

Thank you again for taking the time and providing us with your feedback and I sincerely hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked into the Mantra was not aware rooms are unserviced, other hotels in area provide rooms for near same price and with servicing.
Wifi was overpriced and poor.
Room smelt damp and sickening. Air-con was loud and didnt work well which made for very hot unconfortable nights.
Carpets stained and fittings/furniture tired and broken.
Bath/shower dangerously high from floor level and small.
Through out the whole night was itchy in the bed, constantly being bitten by something? Mattress was terrible had springs in my back for entire stay and suffered headaches from sore neck because of it. Overall would not stay here again...only redeeming factor was friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 2roam,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

Encouraging are your comments in regards to the service you have received at the time from our staff.
I will make sure it is passed on to them in our next team meeting.

It is very regrettable that you have not been advised of our non serviced rates. In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. Admittedly some still have serviced rates and un-serviced rates available. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed. A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, but I understand your disappointment if you have not been advised at the time of booking so that the choice would have been yours. We do include weekly servicing in our rates which means that housekeeping will service apartments once a week if you stay more than 7 nights with us.

I would have liked to search our records but your review provides too little detail to go by. As mentioned in a previous response I would have like the chance to discuss your experience personally whilst you were still staying with us and provided you with some solutions to your comments. Many of the mentioned maintenance issues could have been rectified right there and then. I have checked Our records which show no indication of any pest infestation issue being reported in March or the subsequent period. No other guest has reported any incident of this nature with any of our units, however guests have reported being bitten by sand flies on the Esplanade adjacent to the hotel. It would have been helpful to receive such feedback during your stay and we could have addressed it right away.

Regrettably permanent staining in carpets is an unavoidable nuisance to the unit owner and Mantra Trilogy but please trust that all carpets are professionally cleaned as soon as we discover a stain. Most of the time we are able to remove it right away but sometimes the staining is permanent.

You can see from my response that I really would appreciate more detail in regards to your comments and invite you to contact us directly to discuss it further.

Again I thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back to Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing