We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get.”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked into the Mantra was not aware rooms are unserviced, other hotels in area provide rooms for near same price and with servicing.
Wifi was overpriced and poor.
Room smelt damp and sickening. Air-con was loud and didnt work well which made for very hot unconfortable nights.
Carpets stained and fittings/furniture tired and broken.
Bath/shower dangerously high from floor level and small.
Through out the whole night was itchy in the bed, constantly being bitten by something? Mattress was terrible had springs in my back for entire stay and suffered headaches from sore neck because of it. Overall would not stay here again...only redeeming factor was friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 2roam,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

Encouraging are your comments in regards to the service you have received at the time from our staff.
I will make sure it is passed on to them in our next team meeting.

It is very regrettable that you have not been advised of our non serviced rates. In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. Admittedly some still have serviced rates and un-serviced rates available. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed. A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, but I understand your disappointment if you have not been advised at the time of booking so that the choice would have been yours. We do include weekly servicing in our rates which means that housekeeping will service apartments once a week if you stay more than 7 nights with us.

I would have liked to search our records but your review provides too little detail to go by. As mentioned in a previous response I would have like the chance to discuss your experience personally whilst you were still staying with us and provided you with some solutions to your comments. Many of the mentioned maintenance issues could have been rectified right there and then. I have checked Our records which show no indication of any pest infestation issue being reported in March or the subsequent period. No other guest has reported any incident of this nature with any of our units, however guests have reported being bitten by sand flies on the Esplanade adjacent to the hotel. It would have been helpful to receive such feedback during your stay and we could have addressed it right away.

Regrettably permanent staining in carpets is an unavoidable nuisance to the unit owner and Mantra Trilogy but please trust that all carpets are professionally cleaned as soon as we discover a stain. Most of the time we are able to remove it right away but sometimes the staining is permanent.

You can see from my response that I really would appreciate more detail in regards to your comments and invite you to contact us directly to discuss it further.

Again I thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back to Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    601
    340
    203
    145
See reviews for
467
560
78
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location, so close to restaurants, coffee shops and can also walk to big freshmarkets and large shopping centre in about 20 min. However, don't be fooled by "resort" wording. Rooms are comfortable with excellent views, Yes they do smell damp but its the tropics and you need to expect that a little. Great pool, although not refreshing only due to weather being so humid. There is no on site restaurant, no porters, no daily housekeeping and entry to each tower is not through reception but doors out on side street. I believe these rooms are owned by individuals and then rented out to holiday makers so one room may be in different condition to the next depending on the owner wanting to upgrade etc. Reception were helpful when we needed help with beds and it is worth it just for location as we only slept in rooms and ate out all the time.

Room Tip: Tower 3 has views of hinterland as well as water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 007sg,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. As we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer your honest and comprehensive comments are extremely helpful.

Whilst Mantra Trilogy does not own the onsite restaurant we do work closely with the restaurant owners to ensure their facilities provide the best possible service for our guests. This still includes room chargeback options and room service.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your recent experience.

I invite you to contact me directly should you ever decide to come back to Cairns for leisure or business.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice rooms, incredibly happy with what was provided as well as location and views! As another reviewer said, room smells a bit damp/mouldy but it's the tropics!!! Nothing ever dries completely!! Very happy and would definitely stay again, thankyou!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realitybites78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Realitybites78,

Thank you for your recent feedback, it is great to know that you have enjoyed the time at Mantra Trilogy. We really appreciated your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived at the Mantra mid morning from an early flight from New Zealand, our room was ready for us and what a wonderful surprise on entering. We had a hotel room but this was very roomy with a separate space with a sofa and TV. Room was clean and well set out. Staff were very friendy and helpful. Excellent pool facilities for adults and children and hotel was in a great location. We stayed in numerous hoteld during our holiday over 3 weeks and this would of been the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stenedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear stenedy,

Thank you for taking the time and submit your recent feedback on Mantra Trilogy.
It is nice to read that you have enjoyed our hospitality at Mantra Trilogy and there is little I can add your summary of our Resort. All the staff were very happy to read your review.
They work tirelessly to provide quality service and clean apartments and feedback like yours is a real uplift to all.

We hope to welcome you back very shortly.

Kind regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here in January with a friend from the Gold Coast who made the booking on our behald. The locaton of the Mantra was excellent, close to the oceon, great views and plenty of restaurants nearby. Our first impression at reception was very good, the staff pleasant and welcoming. One room was ready but the other not until after 2pm which was fine. We were slightly confused at the mention of "no housekeeping" and assumed it was because it was Sunday but wondered who was preparing our room. Actually, no housekeeping was exactly that. Our room wasn't serviced throughout our stay though we were able to collect fresh towels, extra toiletries etc as required. This didn't trouble us too much though felt we whould have been made aware prior to booking and as we stayed for 6 nights our room would have benefited from being refreshed. We felt cleaning materials should have been provided for our own use if we wished.
Our room had a distinct damp mouldy smell when we arrived. We hoped that once the windows had been opened it would help and it seemed to or we just became used to it. The carpet was tired and stained but otherwise the room was basic but ok. I was bitten each night, hopefully just by mosquitoes and also developed a very sore throat which required medical attention and which I suspect might have been caused by the air conditioning.
WiFi is expensive and difficult to access. Having paid for 5 days I still couldn't connect. Although Barry was very helpful, he first suggested I phone the third party company who operates the system or use the free WiFi at McDonalds!!! When I said this wasn't what I wanted he said he would come and reboot the system which worked.
I wasn't impressed by the surcharge for paying by credit card. When I queried the charge I was told brusquely " it's the same everywhere !"

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Cairns, a beautiful city and good restaurants. If we returned we would probably try to find something more upmarket than the Mantra.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmblesideMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AmblesideMaggie,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We always strive to provide a higher service experience for every customer and your honest and comprehensive comments are extremely helpful.

Encouraging are your comments in regards to the service you have received at the time from our staff.
I will make sure it is passed on to them in our next team meeting.

It is very regrettable that you have not been advised by your agent about our non serviced rates. In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed. A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, but I understand your disappointment if you have not been made aware at the time of booking so that the choice would have been yours.

The Wireless internet system installed in the Trilogy complex is owned and operated by Azure Wireless. The system is independent of the hotel and is monitored by Azure staff to ensure connectivity at all times. Regrettably we are also unable to influence the pricing structure. I will forward your comments to the Queensland account Manager of Doco-Intertouch to allow them to review their current structure.

Please accept my sincerest apologies and thank you again for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Mantra trilogy before. It is a great location and the reception staff are very helpful. In particular Barry was extremely professional and always willing to assist. The hotel is very centrally located on the esplanade with everything in walking distance.
The rooms are always clean and well furnished. It is a great location for an overnight or week long stay. Will continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGlobalWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear OzAstute Travellers,

Thanks for your review of Mantra Trilogy. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your break to the fullest.
Barry was very happy to read your kind words in this forum.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kinds Regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here recently with my wife & three kids. I was going to book a two bed apartment but an extra bedroom was only another $150 over 5 nights so I went with the 3 bed. The location and view from the balcony can't be faulted. I'ts located right on the esplanade. Walking distance to shops & restaurants and the Cairms swimming lagoon is only 5 minutes away. There is a handy 24 hour convience store right below the complex on street level. The staff were very efficient & friendly. My kids loved the pool & I used the small gym every day as well as went walking on the Esplanade walking track across the road from the Hotel. It's probably on the more expensive end of the self catering apartments in Cairns but I think well worth it. One small gripe was the lifts...only 2 out of 3 working but this wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorypatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rorypatrick,

It is great to know that you have fully enjoyed your time away from home.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy very soon.

Kinds Regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing