We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is just right at the Cairns city centre, with full of restaurant & shops nearby. The room is clean & tidy. Frontdesk staff is very helpful and even borrow the whole BBQ sets for us to go BBQ nearby the beach. What a great experience to try out the Australian style BBQ!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Lilianna C,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience at Mantra Trilogy.
It was great to read about your experience in Cairns and knowing that you have enjoyed Australia to the fullest.
We are looking forward to welcoming back next time you are in Down Under.

Kind regards,
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are well travellled locals and chose to stay at the Mantra Trilogy because of its central position to shops and restraunts. Which was wonderful. The rooms however were fairly average, and not what I was expecting after seeing the pics on the site. The pictures on the site show more modern upmarket rooms not the basic boring rooms in which had. The staff were friendly and helpful. And we most likely would stay at the Trilogy again if only for its central position.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tink07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear tink07_11,

thank you for your recent feedback.
We always appreciate constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards
All the reception staff were very happy to read your review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agent, staying here three nights over two stops. This was our first stop after traveling from Maryland to Australia, so a hot shower was in order.

In our first room, the water ran cold, even after letting it run for about five minutes. They gave us another room, and we were able to get barely lukewarm water. We decided to stick it out, since we didn't have many options.

On our second stop here, the situation was similar, with barely warm water.

On the positive side, the hotel is located right on the Cairns Esplanade, with easy walking access to hotels and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Mike D,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback of your recent stay.
Please accept our apologies for the hot water problems you experienced during your time with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What an amazing experience at the Mantra Trilogy! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff who ensured that we were well taken care of. Alas, we were only at the Mantra Trilogy for a night. There is more than one tower of rooms at the hotel, and we were located in Tower 2. My only complaint is that as you exit reception to go to Tower 2, you pass through the garage and smell the trash. This can be avoided by entering from the outside entrance, although you would have to circle the building to do so.

Our 3-bedroom, 2 bath apartment gave us amazing views of the ocean as well as the mountains and even the beautiful pool down below. The master bedroom was very large, while the other two were average-sized, yet comfortable. This property also offered free laundry in the apartment. The decor was very tasteful and modern; I felt like we were staying in an apartment straight out of a home decor magazine. The location was right along the Cairns Esplanade, so it was easy to leave the hotel to eat and shop. We also had a 5 minute walk to the Reef Terminal, where we boarded the sightseeing cruise out to the Great Barrier Reef. Hotel staff even allowed us to borrow towels to take with us on the cruise and held onto our luggage as we checked out of the hotel earlier that day. The Mantra Trilogy was the most glamorous hotel during our stay in Australia and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: Tower 2 offers views of the ocean, mountains, and even the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear hashbrowny,

Thank you so much for your review. We are proud to read that you highly recommend the Mantra Trilogy and in particular that you enjoyed your 3 Bedroom Ocean View Apartment so much.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back and next time we hope for more than one night!

Yours Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked a two bedroom apartment for myself and my family visiting from overseas. The apartment was very modern and well appointed. It had everything we needed, including a coffee machine which we didn't use. The apartment had a very modern feeling. Each bedroom had two single beds (I had to request these as they are normally joined to make king size beds) and we requested a roll-way as there were five of us. I was expecting that the extra bed would be placed in one of the bedrooms but when we arrived we found a sofa bed already made up in the living/kitchen/dining room. The room was not very big and there were only two additional chairs so some of us had to sit on the dining chairs when we were all in the communal area. Some of the apartments in the building seem to be privately owned, and the hotel doesn't have any restaurants or bars. So you actually don't feel you are staying at a hotel. The swimming pool was surrounded by three towers of apartments and didn't look very relaxing place to stay (we didn't use it). The receptionists were overall helpful. There were a few Japanese speaking receptionists so the place must be popular among Japanese. The location was great, close to shops and restaurants. Overall, it was a nice place to stay but I wouldn't have minded more space.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Pengapa,

Thank you for your review we really appreciate your comments.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm regards

Christian Lachemeier
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights here, receiving a free night. The location was perfect as it is walking distance from restaurants, shopping centre and bus depot.

The gym room was disapointing as the equipment were old and worn, with no tv or even music.

The pool was decent size and perfect to relax in, and looked really good at night.

The room could do with a clean, the bathroom especially. The carpet had stains and the grout in kitchen and bathroom needed a good clean.

The room size however, was pretty good, pretty spacious for a one bedroom apartment with a spacious balcony.

The only issue we had was check in. After our flight had been changed we were in Cairns at 9 am (5 hours earlier than planned). I had called Mantra to see whether we could check in earlier. She assured me that as it is low season it was more than likely we could get in our room earlier than the standard 2pm check in, she said that they would call housekeeping as soon as we arrived, and they would put us as priority. However when we arrived we didn't get in our room til 2 pm, the only reason I am annoyed is because I was reassured that I would have an early check in, so I felt that they shouldn't of gave me that false hope.

As we had to wait for 5 hours to check in we could have our luggage stored in a room, we were giving tags to get our luggage once ready. When we went to get our luggage the receptionist just opened the room allowing us in to a room full of luggage, while she had already returned to desk, I see this as a problem as anyone could claim anyone's luggage and it's not very secure.

Overall it was an okay apartment with it's negatives and positives, was hoping for something more modern and something closer to 4 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear KK6192,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
As we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer your honest and comprehensive comments are extremely helpful.

I am sorry for the service you received upon check in at Mantra Trilogy and will have it addressed with all staff immediately.

It is also very disappointing to read that you felt that the cleaning was not up to standard.
I sincerely apologise and have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeping Manager to review immediately with the team that serviced this room upon your arrival.

Thank you again for taking the time and providing us with your feedback and I sincerely hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Christian Lachemeier
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Highly recommend this resort. We were there over the New Year 2012/2013 period. An amazing room amazing views. We stayed on the 11 floor room 4.........omg...amazing.
The staff were so friendly. Reception staff outstanding and knowledable. Its central to everthing. Great restaurants,shops, IGA, bottle shop, everything really. Everything is in walking distance. Would hightly recommend this resort. Simply beautiful!
We will go there again. We only book MANTRA properties within the Australia region.

Room Tip: We wanted a waterfront room, they were sold out, so we went for a partial view of ocean and the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin1959_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear karin1959_2013,

Thank you so very much for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Our team works hard every day to present a clean and comfortable property for our guests.

We could not be happier to receive such great comments from a guest that stayed at Mantra Trilogy. It will certainly serve as an encouragement to all staff to read your feedback.
It sounds like you had an amazing start into 2013.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $92 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing