We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in 301”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Location for Centre of Cairns is as good as it gets. Views over the esplanade and marina were great and walking distance from everything makes this place a pretty solid proposition. PLease note, this is not luxury by an means, it is simply clean, modern accomodation in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p2026l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Ip2026,

thank you for your review. It is great to read that you had a great time.
We defnietly are blessed with an outstanding postion.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,773 - 1,779 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very disappointed. Room was not serviced, severely bitten by bed bugs, air con did not work. Clearly not on my list for a return visit. Good points............... no sorry, can't think of them. Sill suffering a week later from the bites too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Swissfahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Swissfahys,

Mantra does take comments like yours very seriously and we are more than disappointed to read this unsubstantiated accusation on a public forum weeks after your stay.

Bed bugs can occur within all types of dwellings, including private homes, hotels, resorts, dormitories, cruise ships, army barracks, and shelters.
Mantra has strict procedures in place should bedbugs be identified in a unit under our management, specifically the engagement of Pest Control Experts.
Immediate treatment of an unit is paramount. Any such claim will result in a full investigation and closure of the unit until cleared.

Our records show no indication of any bed bug issue being reported in August or the subsequent period. Should a unit have bedbugs and not be treated the issues would remain an issue for any guests using the unit.
No other guest has reported any incident of this nature with any of our units, however guests have reported being bitten by sand flies on the Esplanade adjacent to the hotel.

Mantra does not manage all unit in the complex and regrettably without more information identifying the room number and date of stay it is impossible for me to investigate your claim any further or
substantiate the claim with one of the several private operators that provide holiday accommodation at the Trilogy complex.

I invite you to contact us on trilogy.rec@mantra.com.au to discuss your comments further.

Respectfully,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wanted to stay in the CBD for a couple of nights & thought we would treat ourselves in a "flashy" hotel, WRONG! The Hotel Room we booked had the smallest bathroom known to man! The room itself was a good size but checkout the bathroom before you commit to this accommodation which was still (in my opinion) quite expensive at $160 per night. Parking was also an issue in their underground facilities, lots of empty spaces but on closer inspection they were all reserved for nearby businesses, we ended up 'double-parking' ! To be fair, upon complaining on checkout about these & a few other issues the supervisor was apologetic & offered us a 15% discount so we would stay there again but only in an apartment!

Room Tip: Only book apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelique_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Angelique_Phil,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We always appreciate constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards.

I am grateful that our Manager on Duty has acted promptly and addressed your concerns to your satisfaction.
The limited amount of car parking spaces at the Trilogy complex is not only an issue for our guests.
Owners and Residents alike wish that a higher ratio of spaces to units was applied at the time of approving the construction.
Regrettably this was not the case and no one is able to change it anymore.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you don't have a car while you're staying in Cairns, MTr is perfect for you. The views are stunning from every aspect of the towers. The pool looks gorgeous and I can definitely say the same for the reception and BBQ area. It is all fine and dandy ~~BUT~~ the price you pay is too much.. I don't know if it was just my room but there is a drainage problem in the shower, it floods and goes EVERYWHERE. The bathrooms are dark and gloomy and the furniture is worn. There is even mould on the roof... Don't let those things throw you off this place is a GREAT place to stay if you are willing to pay based on location.

Room Tip: The apartments facing the East are quiet, but still look at the ocean and down at the esplanade. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zccrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear zccrts,

thank you so much for your recent review of Mantra Trilogy and the constructive comments.
It would be very helpful to receive such feedback during your stay or on check out so that we could have it addressed right away. This way we would have all necessary details to approach the owner in regards to the furnishing issues.
Almost all of our units are now refurbished with just a small number to be completed over the next few month.
We do address the ceilings all year around due to the fact that the air-conditioning is blowing air as well as dust particles directly onto it.
What might seem like mould usually turns out to be dust particles, especially if found outside the wet season, that accumulated within the uneven surface. I will have the staff re-check all ceilings so that we are able to find the one you have mentioned in your feedback.
I really appreciate your comments and would like to invite you to contact us directly to discuss your comments further.

Kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Paid mid $300 for one night in a 3 bedroom apartment.
Room wasn't ready on check in but took about 10-15 minutes. Given keys to the room but cleaner was still in it and was told by cleaner very rudely to go ahead. Front office was apologetic and gave free drink cards.

Room itself was obviously once nice, but hadn't had a lot done it. Vinyl on chair seats was about 50% peeled off, the oven didn't work (when told reception the next day they were not interested) and the room generally was very tired looking. View was nothing to write home about - perhaps other rooms have a much nicer view.

Not worth the money paid - look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashmanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear sashmanash,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.
I would have liked to search our records but your review provides too little detail to go by. As mentioned in a previous response I would have like the chance to discuss your experience personally whilst you were still staying with us and provided you with some solutions to your comments.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the miscommunication between the Front Desk and Housekeeping that resulted in you being checked into a room where housekeeping was not entirely finished. I am thoroughly disappointed that you felt that the staff have handled this encounter rudely and trust that I will mention this incident in our next team meeting.

Again it would have been helpful to receive such feedback during your stay or on check out so that we could have addressed it right away and would have had all necessary details to approach the owner in regards to the furnishing issues.
You can see from my response that I really would appreciate more detail in regards to your comments and invite you to contact us directly to discuss it further.

Again I thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back to Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was very convenient. Close to the esplanade and within walking distance of the convention center. The room was large, but lacked any dresser or luggage rack for clothes storage. Apparently, the rooms are individually owned, so there is some variation between rooms. However, most if not all have some water view and a small verandah from which to enjoy it. The staff could not have been nicer. We had an issue with the number of plugs, so the desk provided a strip plug. When our refrigerator did not work, the maintenance man found one in a room that was being renovated because all of the other rooms were booked. The only real downside was wi-fi. They contract with an outside servicer charging $15 for 2 hours. This is high-even for Cairns. Also, because of the package we purchased, we did not have daily maid service. However, fresh towels were available from the front desk and was no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WickedThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLMT, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear WickedThisle,

Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate feedback.

Our Reception team will be thrilled to read your comments about their service culture.

The Wireless internet system installed in the Trilogy complex is owned and operated by Azure Wireless. The system is independent of the hotel and is monitored by Azure directly. Regrettably we are unable to influence the pricing structure. I will forward your comments to the Queensland account Manager of Doco-Intertouch to allow them to review their current structure.

In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. Admittedly some still have serviced rates and un-serviced rates available. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed.
A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, like yourselves. Weekly servicing is included in our rates which means that housekeeping will service apartments once a week if a guest stays more than 7 nights with us.

Your comments regarding the wardrobe storage will be addressed in our next Managers meeting and I am hopeful that we will be able to find a solution, thanks to your feedback.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Cairns soon

Kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Girlfriends and I stayed here last week in a 2 bedroom apartment (we paid for city views - but had gorgeous views of the water). The location of this hotel is amazing! Everything is incredibly close. The downsides I have for this hotel are: I think they could provide more things such as we called up to see if they provided Ice, and we were told to buy our own. For a hotel with such a high rating I was expecting them to provide a few little extra things like that. No internet provided without paying extra even though on the website it does say there is wireless internet. Also for a apartment that said it could sleep 5/6 people it seemed to only have enough plates bowls and even chairs for 4 people. There is only a small table and two chairs on a balcony, so you have to take out dining chairs with you.
The reception service was amazing too. A lovely apartment, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLMT, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear DanielleB,

thank you so much for your posting. We really appreciate your comments and certainly will take your recommendations on board.

We are looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $91 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing