We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cairns
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Green Island
from $67.02
More Info
from $67.02
More Info
from $80.70
More Info
from $150.45
More Info
Reviews (2,332)
Filter reviews
2,332 results
Traveler rating
891
726
454
162
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
891
726
454
162
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass bottom boat day trip fish sea grass nice island outer reef the great barrier reef semi submarine boat ride snorkel gear marine life full day tour swimming pool buffet lunch fitzroy island turtles jetty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,332 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Both myself and my wife went to Green Island with Big Cat Tours, wow. The island itself was a paradise. We paid to dive on the reef and to take a trip on a glass bottom boat. Our dive was one of the best experiences of my life. Our guid was first class. He was very patient with my wife who was unsure if she wanted to go down. She eventually did. We had the joy of seeing a turtle in the wild. Again the boat tour was first class seeing loads of fish and yet more turtles. A must do if you visit Cairns

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank markrI6024YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is no reef left around Green Island whatsoever , bleached thanks to climate change! However as had friends staying they had already booked . They advertise if go all day a buffet lunch .
Now, Cairns does have fabulous fresh seafood . We got dead wilted salads, curry?????? Wtf , and coleslaw ! Horrendous!!!
Also as a local was so embarrassed! Never ever again .

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank LydiaS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So worth a day trip if in Cairns. Such a beautiful island. The snorkelling was amazing saw nemo fish and lots of other fish swam with turtles. Crystal clear water and in parts turquoise blue. Great day would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank kmc3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Green Island is not worth your time or money, I would recommend looking at other reefs to visit. It looks beautiful in pictures and even as the boat nears it, but...once you get there you are hit with the strong stench of bird urine across the main area and it has very dated facilities and equipment. Lycra suits were severely worn (and wet!) When they were given to us, not sure how a holey suit would protect from jellyfish. Bathrooms were disgusting.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank MerryL583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Staying over at Green Is is the way to go. Once the day trippers retreat a wonderful calmness returns to the island. And, as a house guest, you have a secluded oasis to enjoy through the days hours of your stay.
The rooms are well appointed and well maintained. The public areas are on need of some renovation but that is worth overlooking, and I think it may be in the planning. The staff are get good and nothing is too much trouble.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews