We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Island

Green Island
Book In Advance
$148.38*
and up
Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns
Ranked #17 of 114 things to do in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recommend you choose a day when the wind is light and not coming from the South as the island is only small and water activities like glass bottom rides over the inner reef and swimming may be difficult to appreciate. The boat trip across from Cairns is also pleasant if the winds are light. The sea can become rough on windy days.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sdpcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    439
    253
    90
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

the glass bottom and semi-submersible boat rides were brilliant, the beauty of the reef was just amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kld52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

we booked a full day tour at Green Island including snorkelling gear and glass bottom boat tour. It was not exactly a warm day but we still managed to enjoy the island. Our teenagers just wanted a chill out day and Green Island catered for this. They could go snorkelling although I'm not sure the section of the reef we saw was as spectacular as what you would have seen further out on a pontoon. I think a lot of this reef was in shallow water and probably touched by thousands of people. Still it was nice to just potter about snorkelling or swimming or sun baking. There was not a huge range of food to choose from and the shops and sitting area were all extremely busy but if you were organized you could take your own food and drinks. The walk around the Island literally took 20 minutes but it was another activity you could do for free. The were other activities which you could pay for but I cant comment on these as we did not do them. Basically once you were on the Island you had to wait there until the boat came back to collect you so you need to be prepared to pay for all your activities or just enjoy the day lazing about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Green Island trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

It is a great one day trip, only thing that we weren't warned about is the near-gale force winds that greet you on arrival at the jetty once you depart the ferry. We had to hold onto our toddler in fear that she would be blown away - literally.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura235732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went on an am 1/2 day tour. Wished we had done the full day. Staff on "Reef Rocket" friendly and helpful. Ticketing system easy to understand and simple to work. Snorkelling superb however the semi-submarine quite disappointing. Not many fish to see. Same fish following sub waiting to be fed who know the routine. Overall great value advise anyone to do it and regardless of age to snorkell- relaxing and in very shallow water. Nothing to fear fantastic expereince.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Island also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Green Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing