We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!!!!!”
Review of China Palace Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Palace Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unbelievable! Really bad experience. Over priced, food cooked terribly. Definitely will not revisit in the future.
Three words "Do not go".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babylon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

As a Chinese person I like to try other Chinese cooking at different places. So visiting Cairns for the weekend we walked past at 615pm and was tempted by the girls out the front offering 15% discount if we seated before 630pm. On ordering san chow boi the sauce was over strong, sweet and thick with gravy. The main courses arrived followed by the missing entree! We were informed that there was no duck left and asked if I would accept chicken instead. The pork was very dry in the trio of meat dish and the bean curd dish and fried rice was bland. I was very dissapointed to pay too much for a very poor meal. I should have known not to go there as we were the first people in there. Said to say for a tourist town this resturant was poor. We will not be returning again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buddhah_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One time was too many!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We saw a yum cha sign at in the window so we went in. What a big mistake. Yam Cha menu consisted of a handful of dishes and most of our choices weren't available. The actual menu was very overpriced but we ordered anyway. The food was edible but nothing to write home about. Definitely not worth the huge price tag. Service was lukewarm at best. I had to ask for a plate and cutlery as we got two sets between the three of us. In the middle of our lunch the front door opened and a staff member burst in pushing a shopping trolley, talking loudly. Surely they have a service door? The high chair was a tall and wobbly affair with a broken harness. The insert plastic cushion was dirty and mouldy! The floor looked like it has never seen a clean and had sticky tape running through it - I assume to hide the rips.
All in all it was terrible and we won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poohooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ordinary and expensive”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very ordinary and expensive. Don't waste your money or time. The food was bland and meat in the dishes was very light on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The venue was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. There were literally hundreds of food choices on the menu, but the ones we chose were just ok, which was disappointing. The overall experience was fine, and the price was reasonable, but I wouldn't be rushing back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing