We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food, best view in Cairns”
Review of iyara by Sakare

iyara by Sakare
Ranked #52 of 607 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Thai food, best view in Cairns”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were walk ins last Friday night and were not sure what to expect as some of the restaurants on the Esplanade are hit and miss. But an amazing surprise as the service, menu and meals were all spot on.
The only complaint we could manage was the meals could be larger for the price. Small portions but extremely well presented and great flavours. The view and atmosphere is great, probably the best in Cairns.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    72
    23
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great either”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to restaurant at about 6.30 on a Saturday night. We were told by staff during the week that we didn't need to book but when we arrived it was obvious we should have. Staff were happy and attentive. Restaurant clean and nice atmosphere. Checked out the food and wine menus and was gob smacked by the prices. The Massaman curry even advised that it was made with chuck steak but still it was over $30. I had the Duck red curry with grapes. It was lovely in flavour and presentation but was so stingy a portion that I had to order more rice. Also the duck (all 8 wafer thin slices) was precooked and dry. If I am going to pay more than $30 for a meal then that duck should have been slammin! My friend had the salmon dish. She said it was nice and was a decent portion. I don't think I can justify going back a second time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janineconway73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Service improvement”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Since our last visit almost a year ago the quality of service (at least on our visit) has improved. Wait staff were friendly and our meals appeared as ordered and in good time.
Portion size is not large but we found the flavours really good. If what you want is a huge plate of Asian tucker for a few bucks maybe the Night Markets are a better bet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not go again.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Terribly overpriced Thai food which was below par. Miniature serving sizes coupled with lack of taste and texture. Ordered the beef massaman and the green chicken curry. The beef massaman was ok at least edible but the green curry was watery and the chicken pieces were thick and undercooked. Far too much chilli for a green curry. Cost over $80 for the two meals and one beer. Very expensive meal. The atmosphere was nice and the location at the esplanade was nice. Overall, will never come here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This would be the worst restaurant I have been to in my life. After ordering we waited almost 3 hours before we were served. The meal size was another story it was all plate and not much to eat. The food was very ordinary. The service left a lot to be desired - there wasn't any. The food was overpriced and very average, it couldn't be called Thai. This place is a RIPOFF, don't waste your money. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oreillysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iyara by Sakare also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to iyara by Sakare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing