We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, beautiful location.”
Review of Wild Bean Cafe

Wild Bean Cafe
Ranked #152 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice food, beautiful location.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a beautiful location, in such an amazing building built of mirrors.
We also found the Information Centre very interesting.
The service was good, friendly & helpful staff. It was a busy day with only a couple of spare tables, which had not been cleared & we did have to wait a while for our food. This was not a problem as it's so pretty & peaceful.
We both had the salt & pepper squid, which was melt in the mouth tender & juicy. The chips & salad were both nice & fresh. Other servings I saw all looked ample.
Will definitely return for a breakfast & healthy juice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RozfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunching in the gardens”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Wild Bean Café is in Collins St, Edge Hill located next to the Visitor Centre of the Cairns Botanic Gardens.

The day my husband and I went to the café was perfect Cairns winter weather, clear blue skies and just the right temperature. Seating is mostly outside so we were able to enjoy the beautiful day with a backdrop of lush rainforest across the way. Not sure how outdoor dining would be in summer time.

The staff was very friendly and the food was served quickly. Very little waiting time at all.

The lunch menu ranged in price from approx. $14 to $20. The menu read very well with a variety of dishes. My husband had the Beef Burger, for $17:90, which came with salad and fries, while I had the grilled Barramundi with salad and fries ($18.90). I can’t really say that either dish was anything out of the ordinary. In fact, eating here only reinforced my opinion that eating out in Australia can be quite expensive.

Lavazza coffee is served. The coffee was well made and tasted fine, even though I am not a big fan of Lavazza coffee. My biggest peeve is that when you ask for a large coffee you really only get a normal sized cup of coffee. I think it has something to do with serving Lavazza as the china wear has their brand; the company must dictate cup size.

Probably won’t visit again due to value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAC4880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stopped by on a public holiday. It was busy, but not frenetic. I was in no rush, but the service was quite slow. In saying that, the coffee was worth the wait and the Thai Beef Salad was to die for! Not over priced, pleasant surrounds, give it a go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great place, well done Wild Bean.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have been planning to go to this lovely little cafe ever since it opened about 2 years ago. We finally got there when our family came up for a visit in March. We will certainly make sure we get there much more often, from now on.
First my one negative, only one blackboard to view. A blackboard in a couple of different spots would be helpful for those of us who do not have great memories, I ended up taking a photo, so we could peruse the menu at leisure. The food was very tasty, although the mains on the back of the menu are not available, in place is the blackboard menu, so not a problem. The tastes are great, with good portions at reasonable prices. The fruit drinks are delicious. The owners/ staff are wonderful. The atmosphere is great, being next to the gardens and beautiful tropical walks. The building is worth a wander around to have a good look at.
It is a pitty that the council has not put better shelter over the seating area. Thankfully the day we were there it didn't happen to rain, and no harsh sunshine, so we were able to get full benefit of the relaxed outdoor eating area.
We are looking forward to stopping in for an evening meal, after our walk, when they start opening for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussienomadAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“YUMMM”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have now been a few times and loved the food! The service was great and was given a bottle of cold water with glasses at the table. I was served with a smile too! Lovely location to walk off your yummy lunch. They have B.Y.O. at the moment and soon to have full license I was told. Just Lovely!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Bean Cafe also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Wild Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing