We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHEAP & CHEERFUL”
Review of Cactus Jacks - CLOSED

Cactus Jacks
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“CHEAP & CHEERFUL”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great chilli on Tuesdays. Also the Sangrias taste great and only 5 bucks each.

<y 14yo loves the place and we don't argue when she wants to go for a treat. The last time we went was for her birthday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank julie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had to pay $15 for a caesar salad. It was tasty but very very small. I wouldn't eat here again as it is way too overpriced

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We live in Darwin and dont't have Cactus Jacks, so we love to go when we visit Cairns.
It's certainly not authentic mexican but always get a good feed. Tueday $10 all you can eat chilli night is great (as are the jugs of sangria) Our 6 year old loves it.
Always service with a smile.
Music can sometimes be a little loud.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food, Average service”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A group of friends and I decided to dine at Cactus Jacks as a spare of the moment decision. The external appearance of the restaurant is slightly tacky and the inside is styled to appear like a yankee saloon. Overall the food was very bland, the service was unmemorable and the food was cheap, cheap as in nasty cheap. I wouldnt make an effort to return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“all you can eat chilli runs out!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

how can you have a all you can eat chilli every tuesday and run out of chilli every tuesday? surely thats the one thing you would have plenty of as its CHILLI night!!?!? rediculous

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dog_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jacks also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing