We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better,”

The Northerner Steakhouse
Ranked #307 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Well the steak house has now been open for 4 months after it was closed for 12 months and the steaks are stunning and cooked to how you like there is a salad bare changed every two days the bar is fully stocked service with a smile and where under new managment
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could have been better,”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

i did enjoy my meal here, and so did my family including the 7 year old, the wait and price was something that needs to be improved, brilliant staff and service though! salad bar could do with more variety and prices are very high, would expect bigger portions for what is given, yet overall i did enjoy my meal, and it was rich in flavour! may consider coming back in the future

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The service was outstanding”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A very busy (and noisy) family restaurant serving above average steaks with salad and vege buffet. A real variety of people eating here - small groups of young adults, families with young children, older couples and mixed family groups. Everyone was having a good time and while the kids were noisy they were all well behaved and happy. The steaks were above average and the good thing was you could choose from five different cuts and three different sizes plus a variety of sauces. So plenty of steak choices and then a few specials like fillet mignon and pork chop (more like a mini roast the chop was so big). Be aware the big steaks are BIG, so ladies order the small and leave the men to the large portions. VERY impressed with the service - they were busy but kept us informed on wait times, the young lass looking after us treated us like family and we enjoyed her conversation. I noticed other diners being treated similarly by the owner behind the bar. Good night out :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best steaks in cairns”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

i went too many places for steaks, this beat everywhere i went, and i have gone at a fair few places .... the person who cook the steak has been doing it for ages so he knows what he is doing, service is good, i always come back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serge b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrible, don't waste your money.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has been around for a lot of years. I can remember going here between 1988 and 1992 when I lived in Cairns. So when back in Cairns in June 2013 I thought the quality would still be there. I was wrong, very wrong the menu is very over priced for what you get. The decor is still the same, has not changed in all this time. The waitress could not understand much English and we ended up with the entree and mains all coming at once. The buffet salads and veggies were just terrible one out of ten. The steak was very ordinary and my T bone was about two out of ten. Cooked rare, not medium well done this I suspect because the waitress did not understand us. We didnt bother with dessert. Drinks are those tiny little bottles and were very expensive not worth it. Overall a terrible eating experience, very expensive and not pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Cairns areas”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

IT has great steaks cooked to PERFECTION. Succulent delicious, and they just melted in your mouth !!!!
Nice and friendly staff who knows about CUSTOMER SERVICE also which is a huge PLUS PLUS.
My advise if you want to eat a steak like it should be, right meat cut, cook to the perfection and be served by people who cares, there is nowhere to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northerner Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Northerner Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing