We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the veranda!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the veranda!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel twice now and I'm always pleased with the great value it offers and the location. You can get to the bus stops, supermarket etc... within a couple of minutes. The rooms, as has been said before, are basic but they have everything you need for a base. I really appreciated there being a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was large (shower only) and clean.

My favourite thing about this hotel is the breakfast setting. People who have reviewed it are right, there isn't the biggest range of choice but it's free and you get to sit outside and watch the birds and relax over breakfast which was great. I'm happy with juice, tea, toast and jams so I loved it!! It's the thing that made me go back there again!

It does have the internet but it was quite expensive. Good range of tour material in the lobby and they were happy to book us a bus for a trip we did to Port Douglas.

The only thing that I wasn't happy with on the 2nd visit was that I had a room above a bar on a weekend and there was a live band playing, no matter how tightly I closed the windows, curtains, turned the tv up it was still very loud!

Overall I would stay here again but maybe take earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    112
    100
    45
    28
See reviews for
43
120
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located right in the middle of everything in Cairns, very nice location.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Room was clean and tidy. Not the prettiest room ever, but it was alright. Bed was comfy enough.
For the price, I would stay here again.
The breakfast was quite poor, and we ended up getting brekkie at a breakfast spot right around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Overall a satisfying stay due to the convenient location and good price off Agoda.com . Rooms were old and abit run down though. Friendly hotel receptionists, and fantastic buffet breakfast (if only we could wake up in time to enjoy more)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKYtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Since we were traveling with our family we needed multiple rooms. The price was right, but would the hotel be clean? Yes, we were pleased to discover. For a basic accommodation the rooms were clean. Keep in mind you get what you pay for, as the only amenity is the hotels location to the promenade, Pier and Casino. Also, they do provide quite the nice breakfast on their verandah which came in handy with our teenage boys. We did have a bit of a hiccup at checkin but the front desk staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were taken care of. If you plan on spending your time and money in Cairns on outdoor activities then this is a great place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1010msm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's not the newest place but was clean and comfortable and was centrally located near shops and the lagoon. Breakfast is served out on the big verandah upstairs overlooking the town centre. The Paleo cafe is also around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignatius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A girlfriend and I booked the budget room with shared bathroom. We found the room fine and the included breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from. Staff were unreal but our two single beds belonged on the tip. We had an unserviced room but were able to change our own sheets which was great. When we removed our sheets to remake the bed we nearly died when we seen what we were sleeping on. We were upgraded to another room which we very much appreciated, just be worned, check under the sheets. Hotel staff was so obliging and friendly but owner needs to spend some money on things that count and maintenance.Hotel is central to everything and we walked everywhere. Unbelievable 8 days.Would stay again but would check the bed first.

Room Tip: Rooms with there own bathrooms were much cleaner than the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This motel room was basic but clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. The free continental breakfast on the old hotel verandah is an added bonus and a good place to meet and swap travel tips with other guests. There were3 drawbacks, my double bed on castors slid when I sat on it (indicating a basic quality bed and base) and there is on
Y one power point, located on a poor angle for recharging in the bathroom. Lastly the wifi is only accessible on the verandah or lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a motel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#64 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#20 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#39 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing