We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant staff, rooms need an update”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A girlfriend and I booked the budget room with shared bathroom. We found the room fine and the included breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from. Staff were unreal but our two single beds belonged on the tip. We had an unserviced room but were able to change our own sheets which was great. When we removed our sheets to remake the bed we nearly died when we seen what we were sleeping on. We were upgraded to another room which we very much appreciated, just be worned, check under the sheets. Hotel staff was so obliging and friendly but owner needs to spend some money on things that count and maintenance.Hotel is central to everything and we walked everywhere. Unbelievable 8 days.Would stay again but would check the bed first.

Room Tip: Rooms with there own bathrooms were much cleaner than the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

This motel room was basic but clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. The free continental breakfast on the old hotel verandah is an added bonus and a good place to meet and swap travel tips with other guests. There were3 drawbacks, my double bed on castors slid when I sat on it (indicating a basic quality bed and base) and there is on
Y one power point, located on a poor angle for recharging in the bathroom. Lastly the wifi is only accessible on the verandah or lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a motel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to add that this hotel was so quirky and an really an interesting building - it had lots if character ! However , we definitely had one of the ' oldest' rooms , as I peaked in others and they were completely different , modern and very clean. Our room on the other hand was stifling hot ( had noisy air con) , was quite dusty and was opposite a very noisy bar that was open till the early hours! I would definitely ask for one of the new rooms that's quiet and you will have no issues! On the plus side , the staff were lovely , location very good , the hotel was quirky and there was free breakfast which we didn't have in other budget hotels!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmilsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very good, budget place to stay. Rooms are a decent size and are clean. Service is efficient and most staff are friendly. The breakfast on the terrace is lovely. Both the pool area and the verandah need freshening up, otherwise all good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at this great heritage hotel before and on every occasion we have been treated so well by all staff member at this centrally located 'home away from home'. The rooms are well provided with large screen television , a little fridge (which is not a mini bar) and a beautiful King size bed.

Sharon booked a day trip to Fitzroy Island Resort at a cheaper price than the advertised "special" price. Breakfast was lovely especially the Saturday hot breakfast. We stayed 4 nights and we were surprised at the price of the taxi fare to the air port as the return fare was under $20 ! Visit the Court House Hotel and of course P J O'Brien's for their great Guinness pie.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the newer section. Some of the older rooms have trouble with TV receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I always stay at Hides as I normally arrive/depart Cairns by train (yes how quaint) and Hides is close to the station.
However the Hotel is in dire need of a makeover as the hession lining the verandah over the collapsed ceiling will attest. I stay in the hotel section as I don't mind sharing the bathroom, however the minimal number of guests staying there means meeting others in the bathroom is a rare occurrence.
Guests in the hotel section must seek out a maid to procure a change of towels and fresh bath soap etc
I'm well aware of the cut rate hotel tariffs these days and unfortunately Hides is caught in the middle.The continental breakfast included in the rate is appreciated.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are cheaper and if you don't mind sharing with the occasional guests are worth the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, found thanks to Tripadvisor - inexpensive I think it was under $100 per night, right downtown Cairns, close to everything walking. Across the street from grocery Woolworths, lots of small souvenier shops and restaurants around. Walking distance (about 10 mins) to the Lagoon swimming pool and to the harbour from where the reef boat trips depart. Cairns can be muggy, hot in summer time (went in Feb 2014), hallways are hot, but A/C in my room worked great. After spending couple of nights in a tiny room at Budget Ibis airport hotel in Sydney, the room in Hide hotel seemed enormous! Spacious, 1 queen and 1 single bed, small fridge, TV, comfy... bonus points - great breakfast, filling. Not so great - had to purchase internet time, come on, this is 2014 - hotels should offer it for free... just a suggestions. Overall - looks average, but it provided what was needed - good night rest, shower, clean, good brekky :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 64 in Cairns
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
511 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $58 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing