We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just simply liked it”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I just simply liked it”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, found thanks to Tripadvisor - inexpensive I think it was under $100 per night, right downtown Cairns, close to everything walking. Across the street from grocery Woolworths, lots of small souvenier shops and restaurants around. Walking distance (about 10 mins) to the Lagoon swimming pool and to the harbour from where the reef boat trips depart. Cairns can be muggy, hot in summer time (went in Feb 2014), hallways are hot, but A/C in my room worked great. After spending couple of nights in a tiny room at Budget Ibis airport hotel in Sydney, the room in Hide hotel seemed enormous! Spacious, 1 queen and 1 single bed, small fridge, TV, comfy... bonus points - great breakfast, filling. Not so great - had to purchase internet time, come on, this is 2014 - hotels should offer it for free... just a suggestions. Overall - looks average, but it provided what was needed - good night rest, shower, clean, good brekky :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    118
    116
    52
    36
See reviews for
48
131
77
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not bad for a cheap one night stopover. It was clean and the staff were friendly. The single bed wasn't real comfy and it is shared bathroom down the hallway. Included brekky was fine. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Hides and were really impressed at the value for money.A simple breakfast true-but it was fine for us and the location was just fantastic-close to everything.The down side of that is that some of the rooms can be noisy.When we asked about changing our room, we were given a room on the 2nd floor (at no extra cost) which was much quieter.The hotel is older style and no frills but it was clean and the staff (particularly Dianna on the night shift)were friendly and very customer orientated.All in all we considered it great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the building are quieter-The budget rooms on the veranda etc can get a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights either side of a liveaboard dive trip. We had a heritage room.

Both rooms were very comfy and the aircon was really welcome as the bathrooms and non aircon areas could get rather warm.

The room had everything we needed for a very nice stay.

We had breakfast both mornings and it was very nice - all that you needed and could sit outside on the terrace which was lovely.

We would stay here again if ever back in Cairns.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We managed to get a cheap deal via the information site at late notice after leaving the awful Globetrotters hostel (see my review!). This hotel is well managed by full time reception staff, you get free breakfast (which oddly includes pots of noodles, who wants these for breakfast?) which is between 6:30 - 9am and the air conditioning in your room is a life saver from the tropic heat. We also had a fridge and a TV although we didn't watch it at all. It was pretty quiet when we stayed here in March 2014, I don't know what the breakfast situation would be like in peak season - properly mental. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hides Hotel is located on Lake St. in Cairns. It's a quick walk to the Marina. I paid $60 per night for a room with two single beds, shared bath and including breakfast (cereal, toast, juice, eggs, noodle soup). The building is a bit older and the furniture is dated, but you can't go wrong for the price. Internet area is available for an additional cost. Was satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneekymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We (family of 3) stayed in hides hotel for three nights. Our room had three beds without any view. Fresh towels and toiletries were provided everyday, but no full housekeeping service. The Free Breakfast is adequate (one of few hotels providing it).

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank devilzheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 64 in Cairns
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing