We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in one of the flats on the opposite side of the street in a two bedroom unit. We had a couple of issues with leaking taps and not enough cooking utensils and dryer not working but the staff helped in fixing these problems straight away only complaint is no B.B.Q at these units. We stayed there 11th August to 18th August

Room Tip: Rooms above second floor hear more noise above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 531 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed with our family in one of the flats on the opposite side of the street. Two bedrooms, a large diningroom with kitchen and good equipped bathroom made our stay to luxury one. Only the dishwasher was a little bit small.
We stayed here in July 2011.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Our last day here, (7 in all) and I still can't find anything BAD to say about the place....Maybe it is that the pool was cold?...but then it is Winter so...
The staff are good, the room is good, the food is good, location is good....good,good,good is all I can say....
The Balinese style restraunt is magic and worth dining at ...
then if you want good ol 'Ozzie' style food head to the Cock 'n' Bull pub just 500mtrs up the road, but be prepared to eat well....

It is close enough to walk to the Esplanade and mix it with the the crowds in the evening for shopping or dining....

So all in all, if you're coming to Cairns, and want to be near, but 'far from the maddening crowds', then the Bay Village Tropical Reatreat is the place to stay......was for us.


Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for night in a 2 bedroom apartment with my wife & 2 children, for one night; saturday 12th July 2014.
I found adequate in almost every way, fresh & clean.
Unfortunately, others wanting to stay here shouldn't expect a hot shower or bath.
The 2 bedroom unit includes 2 bathrooms, 1 of which includes a full sized bath, which was the main attraction for my wife.
On the night of our arrival, 1 of the children had a quick shower & my wife began running a bath. The bath would have been lucky to be 1 quarter full before the hot water ran out.
The following morning my wife contacted reception to enquire if this was normal, hoping to have her bath on the morning of checkout. Reception informed us that this was not normal & sent housekeeping (for some bizarre reason) to check out the problem, there was little they could do, so I decided to investigate myself. The electric hot water cylinder was located inside a cupboard off the main living area. On checking the capacity of the unit, I noticed that it was a small 80 litre unit, no where near sufficient for 4 people. As someone who works in building design I can profess that this hot water system is suitable for 1 person only, definitely not for a family. My hot water system at home is 250 litres. As it turns out, on checkout morning my wife & I had two very fast, world record pace showers & that was it for the hot water. No bath, no hot water for the kids. When checking out from the hotel we enquired about this, reception replied by saying "You need to have quick showers". Well, if my wife & I had showered any quicker we wouldn't have got wet, still not enough hot water for 4 people. I call this skimping to the extreme.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a hot shower before you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tandarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Bay Village Tropical Resort twice when in the Cairns area this past month. Open air, quaint, and a very short walk to all the downtown restaurants and area attractions.

We had a studio room which comprised of a twin and single bed, small kitchenette area, table, microwave, refrigerator, table, small bathroom with shower, large screen tv. The room was clean, and although a few of the amenities may be a bit worn, it was a perfect layout since one of my sons was traveling with us. Water pressure was awesome, and plenty of hot water was always available.

Grounds included a bar/restaurant, small pool, well landscaped grounds, washer/dryer, and protected parking.

Front desk was always friendly, present, and capable of dealing with any of our requests. Wi-fi was limited to one device and 5 hours per stay, and as long as you log out as they recommend, it was ample for our needs while at the hotel. Computers are available if extended surfing is needed.

The restaurant had a great breakfast buffet, with several tiering options for the type of breky you were looking for. The Balinese dinners served here were amazing!!!! Plan on reservations, as this is one of the top restaurants in Cairns, and is booked often with large groups. It would of been nice to see the restaurant open earlier (6AM instead of 6:30) to allow us to eat here more often before our tours picked us up.

Our only complaint were the mattresses on the beds. They are in need of replacement. I require a firmer mattress for my back. Some black out blinds would be nice too to keep the ambient lighting out of the room.

Room Tip: The staff will let you tour a room to ensure that you pick something to suite your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for a week. Overall I would have to say I was really happy staying here. The prices are affordable, the rooms are clean, there are air conditioners in every room, and it's a short walk from the centre of town. The staff were friendly and helpful when ever we needed anything, and we were even allowed to use the car park for a rental car we had. There is a great restaurant attached to the hotel as well. I would recommend Bay Village if you are staying in Cairns.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank NesmarM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom with kitchenette on 1st floor. Staff very friendly and helpful. I loved it was so clean & had a good relaxing feel about the place. The Balinese restaurant was just superb and you could also get takeaway which was handy. We looked into this place beforehand and knew it was approx 25min walk to Marlin Wharf - which we enjoyed the exercise or bus was just around the corner. The bed was very comfortable but the pool a bit cold to swim, otherwise our stay was very enjoyable. We thought the price was very good value and would not hesitate in staying again. There is also a convenience store almost across the road. This is in the hospital area which wasn't a bother at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#16 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $93 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing