We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartment Stay in Cairns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Apartment Stay in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bay Village Tropical Retreat is a very nice place.Near to the beach and also a quiet place to spend some quality times with your loved ones. It's a stroll away from Malls with plenty of things to shop for. For those who are lazy to cook,no worries for there are foodcourt and also fast food chains in the mall itself. Be sure to also head to the swimming pool area too near the mall. All of these are just a stroll away from the apartments.

Room Tip: Remember to liaise with the management to see whether free breakfast can be added in to the package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethtancw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    219
    101
    30
    15
See reviews for
105
231
41
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this (resort) in August 2013. It is ok for budget accommodation. You pay for what you get. Cant expect too much, but I do believe we could of got better for the price.
If you want to stay here make sure you ask for a room overlooking the pool area. We got one next to car park. It was very dark and noisy and I believe was the worst room in the place. The distance from Cairns central is about a 20 minute walk. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The pool area is very small and only has four lounges which take up nearly the whole area. The staff were nice and friendly and the restaurant was nice. Also you get 5 hours of free Wi-Fi.
I have heard you have to pay to use the BBQ, we didn't bother.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChezzyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here on my own for 1 night and it was okay. My room was a basic motel style, which was fine because all I did was sleep but I wouldn't stay here for longer. There is better value within a block of here. Staff were very pleasant and service at the restaurant was great.

Room Tip: My room was basic and I suspect if you spend a bit more here you will get a much better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew81Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was easy to find from the airport, although it's on the edge of the touristy part of Cairns. It was in a borderline ghetto area, enough we didn't really feel comfortable leaving the car parked on the street at night. It was only a few blocks from the beach, but a bit of a longer walk to any real restaurants or the boat harbor for going out the to the Reef. Room was clean and fine, although not spectacular. Staff was friendly, but not terribly competent at fixing problems. We were counting on the wifi to take care of some stuff at home (U.S.), but the access was slow, limited, and didn't work at all for 2 of the 5 days we were there. They didn't even refund any of our money despite the fact we didn't get to use the prepaid wifi, and they still charged us the full $30 we had to spend to make an international call at 1am because we couldn't connect to any internet and had to get a message out during US business hours. (Internet was broken until about 10 hours later.) The included continental breakfast was adequate and probably worth springing for. Overall, just an okay hotel in a sort of sketchy area where you should not go if you need reliable wifi access. (As an aside, the city of Cairns supplies FREE wifi for areas closer to the downtown, while we had to pay for this limited, often broken wifi connection. One reason why it might be worth paying a little more to stay closer to the harbor.)

Room Tip: Upper floor might be worth it for extra safety in this area, although the hotel is fairly secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel is at airport end of Cairns so easy to reach by taxi. Pleasant walk into main part of town either along boardwalk on coastal park path or through the streets. Beach volley ball courts and kids playgrounds nearby on the Esplanade.
We were mistakenly given a room without microwave/kitchenette on arrival but luckily I had kept our booking receipt and this was quickly rectified. Our room was quiet and we slept well, just was quite light in rooms with lights on outside . Foyer and bar very pleasant
Cock and Bull pub just afew minutes walk was fun for the kids - very reasonable prices, lots of things on the walls for kids to look at and they got to eat crocodile. Handy little shop across the road for ice creams /drinks etc. The 5 hours free wifi was really useful. Unfortunately bottom of the pool was slimy when we were there so we avoided the pool, but had much more fun swimming in the streams or sea

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived at this hotel and we were extremely jet-lagged. The airport shuttle was very easy to use and we got to the hotel really quickly. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious with great amenities. The location is great, a short walk from the busy city centre and the beaches. We spent a few days here, the breakfast were great and started us off on our days to the reef and the rainforest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

On checking in, I was pleasantly surprised to see such a nice looking reception and pool area. The staff were friendly and the room was modern and clean. However, I was very disappointed to find that the 'kitchenette' consisted of a fridge and kettle. I booked a room at this hotel specifically because according to TripAdvisor , the hotel's amenities included kitchenettes.

The biggest problem with this hotel is the soundproofing. I stayed in room 121, which is at the top of a flight of stairs from the reception area. Occasionally the sound from the reception carried through the floor. There was also a section of textured paving tiles at the top of the stairs, which created the most unbelievable noise when guests arrived late at night and rolled their suitcases across it. The first time I was woken up at 3:30am, I actually thought the suitcase noise was an articulated lorry on the way to the Cairns Base Hospital building site around the corner. Be warned - earplugs are not enough!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#23 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing