We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$154
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$168
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$99
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$225
$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$124
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$244
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
119
247
123
35
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
247
123
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalinese restaurantstudio roomsmall poolcairns hospitalcontinental breakfasttown centreno liftkitchen areafree upgradesingle bedcomfortable staythe great barrier reefbeds were comfortablereception staffwashing machinebayleafesplanade
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 547 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was easy to find from the airport, although it's on the edge of the touristy part of Cairns. It was in a borderline ghetto area, enough we didn't really feel comfortable leaving the car parked on the street at night. It was only a few blocks from the beach, but a bit of a longer walk to any real restaurants or the boat harbor for going out the to the Reef. Room was clean and fine, although not spectacular. Staff was friendly, but not terribly competent at fixing problems. We were counting on the wifi to take care of some stuff at home (U.S.), but the access was slow, limited, and didn't work at all for 2 of the 5 days we were there. They didn't even refund any of our money despite the fact we didn't get to use the prepaid wifi, and they still charged us the full $30 we had to spend to make an international call at 1am because we couldn't connect to any internet and had to get a message out during US business hours. (Internet was broken until about 10 hours later.) The included continental breakfast was adequate and probably worth springing for. Overall, just an okay hotel in a sort of sketchy area where you should not go if you need reliable wifi access. (As an aside, the city of Cairns supplies FREE wifi for areas closer to the downtown, while we had to pay for this limited, often broken wifi connection. One reason why it might be worth paying a little more to stay closer to the harbor.)

Room Tip: Upper floor might be worth it for extra safety in this area, although the hotel is fairly secure.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel is at airport end of Cairns so easy to reach by taxi. Pleasant walk into main part of town either along boardwalk on coastal park path or through the streets. Beach volley ball courts and kids playgrounds nearby on the Esplanade.
We were mistakenly given a room without microwave/kitchenette on arrival but luckily I had kept our booking receipt and this was quickly rectified. Our room was quiet and we slept well, just was quite light in rooms with lights on outside . Foyer and bar very pleasant
Cock and Bull pub just afew minutes walk was fun for the kids - very reasonable prices, lots of things on the walls for kids to look at and they got to eat crocodile. Handy little shop across the road for ice creams /drinks etc. The 5 hours free wifi was really useful. Unfortunately bottom of the pool was slimy when we were there so we avoided the pool, but had much more fun swimming in the streams or sea

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived at this hotel and we were extremely jet-lagged. The airport shuttle was very easy to use and we got to the hotel really quickly. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious with great amenities. The location is great, a short walk from the busy city centre and the beaches. We spent a few days here, the breakfast were great and started us off on our days to the reef and the rainforest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On checking in, I was pleasantly surprised to see such a nice looking reception and pool area. The staff were friendly and the room was modern and clean. However, I was very disappointed to find that the 'kitchenette' consisted of a fridge and kettle. I booked a room at this hotel specifically because according to TripAdvisor , the hotel's amenities included kitchenettes.

The biggest problem with this hotel is the soundproofing. I stayed in room 121, which is at the top of a flight of stairs from the reception area. Occasionally the sound from the reception carried through the floor. There was also a section of textured paving tiles at the top of the stairs, which created the most unbelievable noise when guests arrived late at night and rolled their suitcases across it. The first time I was woken up at 3:30am, I actually thought the suitcase noise was an articulated lorry on the way to the Cairns Base Hospital building site around the corner. Be warned - earplugs are not enough!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked and stayed in a Studio Room. Great sized apartment with the basics for a kitchenette. No cooktop but we did not want one and a microwave fine by us. What more could you want on a holiday. Large shower bathroom. Public transport, if you want it, is one to 2 streets away. Less than a 5 minute walk to the front and a nice 15 - 20 min leisurely walk to the centre. We booked through an online agency and received excellent value. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Great value overall and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews