We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bay Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a place to stay! We got upgraded into the family suite which was very spacious for two people. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their faces. It was a bit of a walk away from the shops but it wasn't too far. The only down side was the beds, they were not the most comfy but other than that, excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mz-Aramat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    221
    102
    30
    15
See reviews for
108
232
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

the place was lovely, the staff were friendly and it was in a good location. a bit of a funky smell which i think was coming from the vegetation in the gardens but that was my only complaint! the location was quite good also, only a five minute walk to the lagoon and the esplanade. very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailbhe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chonburi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

my friend and I stayed at the bay village resort one week this September.It is a nice place,very friendly staff,good restaurant for dinner but the breakfast is a bit boring.when you dine there you get a voucher for a free glass of good wine.
To the center you have a 15 minutes walk, but along the Esplanade it's nice.

Room Tip: do not chose the standard room,as it is the cheapest offer it is booked by backpackers and can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wihoChonburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Travel agent had booked the apartment and it was a good choice. Apartment was a good size although the cooking facilities were a bit limited. Apartment was well sited for the harbour and the main shopping centre. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant was very good. A free pick up from the airport was very useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel on a trip around Austrailer.
Situated just out of town and one block off the beach this was a nice suprise as it had been booked blind off the internet in a rush.A very clean and well maintained Hotel with an award winning asian restuarant attached.
The rooms were very spacious with TV fridge etc.There is a small pool in the central area and nicely surrounded with trees etc.as mentioned on other reviews wifi was a bit slow and expensive.I quite often put wifi top of my list when deciding on hotels due to my line of work and am still amazed how hotels fall behind on this
The bar area was pleasant and staff attentive if not sometimes too preoccupied with making cocktails .
The walk to the centre was quite a walk (20mins) or a taxi for 5 dollars
Desk staff were very helpfull

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I spent a week at the Bay Village, and enjoyed it a lot. The apartment was comfortable and the pool area was very nice. My only complaint is that the internet was extremely expensive ($15 per computer) and slow. It also took me 30 minutes to walk to the center of Cairns, which was a bit far, but I imagine most visitors usually rent a car. Overall a good option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Would highly recommend staying at the bay village, it's surprisingly good value. The rooms are a little dated but very clean & tidy, and the hotel staff are friendly & accommodating.
The restaurant food is out of this world traditional Balinese cuisine, I can still taste it now!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkie5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing