We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A pleasure!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A lovely motel style place surrounding a pool. Lots of tropical plants and a nice feel as you walk in. Standard rooms and suite rooms available. The suite has a fridge and a microwave. It's spacious and pin drop clean. Balinese style decor and meal in the attached restaurant. A long walk (1/2 hour) to the town centre. Wi-fi available. Downside was (for me) that none of the windows could be opened and not a comfy lounge chair to be seen.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite room as it has more space and the microwave is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    223
    107
    33
    17
See reviews for
110
239
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is ideal stay in Cairns. It is very clean with good en-suite facilities and powerful shower. The Staff are very helpful with anything. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and no bugs or anything as all rooms have a slider net to repel insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 3rd -9th June. We had not stayed here for at least 10 years, not a lot has changed, except of course, the place has been updated. Clean, quiet, comfortable, good continental breakfast, freindly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This establishment was really nice. Rooms are large and clean. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The adjoining restaurant caters for breakfast and dinner. I had breakfast there and it was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Estelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five days in April of this year. We found the staff very helpful and we were given an upgrade which was really nice. The room was very spacious and clean. It was a short walk to the Esplanade and city center. We dined at the resturant a couple of times but found it to be very pricey and not a large selection.This hotel also had washers and dryers for reasonable prices. It also has a free shuttle to the airport which isn't very far away. We would defitinely use this hotel again if we were to travel to Cairns again.

Room Tip: We had second floor which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 5 days. Excellent location,nice walk along the Esplanade to the city centre. Friendly, helpful staff.
Only thing we didn't like was the step right in the middle of our room, even though we were on a ground floor room we still had to negotiate a big step. Chairs were very uncomfortable and no microwave or toaster just a fridge and a kettle and small coffee cups (Larger cups would of been good.) The room was spacious as was the bathroom. They gave us 5hrs free internet also which was nice.
Very nice place and well worth going again.

Room Tip: If you are not to good on steps make sure you get a room with no step in the middle of the room. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was clean and had everything you wanted. A lot of the hotel was closed during our stay as it was easter which I was not expecting. It was a basic hotel but the staff were friendly but after our last hotel it was a bit of a let down. Breakfasts were good. It would be great if you were a younger person with a family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing