We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balinese Motel
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This modest motel is worth considering if you are budget conscious. It is clean and well presented with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are on the small side and downstairs a bit dark but this is Cairns and we didn't come to spend time in our room! There is a clean and serviceable communal kitchen and shared dining room if you are tired of eating out. A basic continental breakfast is included in the tariff. Just over 1 km to town, a pleasant walk along the boardwalk where there is a good range of restaurants and bars. Not the flashiest but it is what it is. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
54
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, , New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very good value, continental breakfast by the little pool was included in the price. Very close to the CBD and close to the board walk around the ocean and CBD. Room was large, clean and nicely furnished. Staff excellent, we stayed an extra night, it was lovely. Would recommend and would stay again. Bonus was the Balinese Restaurant called BayLeaf just along the road - we went twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a good stay at the Balinese Motel for three nights. Rooms were nicely furnished and clean. Staff were friendly enough. The complimentary light breakfast by the pool was nice. Was a bit of a walk to the main part of Cairns but we like walking so this wasn't a problem for us. Would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jss1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Well worth your money! Only 20 minutes by foot to the CBD, we have been staying in this motel for 6 nights and really appreciated it. Very nice rooms, very intimate, very clean, very new, very breakfast included, very everything we want! Very nothing else to say. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Breakfast is included, it is a cheap one, but it is good anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatwick
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here as a stop-off between landing from Sydney and going to Port Douglas, and it is a very comfortable place. Rooms are large and cool, the kitchen is well-equipped and the breakfasts (bread/toast, cereal, juice etc) plentiful.
There is a small, pretty pool for cooling off.
Management/staff friendly and moved us with no complaints when we found the neighbouring hostels' music too loud.
Good location - 10 minutes to the seafront and parks, and about the same to the shopping centres. Supermarket is across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

the balinese was a really good choice! the staff was very friendly, the kitchen facilities are modern and clean, the pool was quite cool and the hotel is located approx. 10-15 mins away from the center. the rooms are very large and the beds are really comfortable. you have to pay for wifi, but there is a computer in the kitchen area that can be used for free

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuKre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed there with a friend for 4 nights.
Its a really good location in cairns. Short walk away from the middle of the city.
The rooms are very nice furnished and clean. Just the breakfast is poor.
There is not much to choose from. But alltogether its a good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresia1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#64 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#21 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Property: Balinese Motel
Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing