We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely different to other hostels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Girls Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Girls Hostel to your Saves list
Cairns Girls Hostel
147 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definitely different to other hostels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in February 2014.
We had been travelling round Australia for 5 weeks staying in various different hostels. This hostel was a welcome change to previous establishments.
The staff here are lovely and are extremely helpful and are hapy to answer any questions which you may have.
This hostel is definitely not a party hostel. This hostel is in a quieter location although is still only five minutes walk from the lagoon.
We stayed in a twin room which was good value for this price and I felt very safe for the duration of my stay.
The only problem I had with this hostel is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms. They do provide a standing fan and also a ceiling fan however this was not enough on some nights due to the humidity and so we definitely had a couple of uncomfortable nights.
Overall this was a pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend staying here. It is perfect for those wanting a quieter atmosphere and perfect for those solo female travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came across this hostel by chance and although from the outside it doesn't look that inviting as soon as we got to the reception we was welcomed by the owner and we was immediately put at ease. The whole hostel is super super clean and the rooms are basic but all you need. The only let down being the lack of air con but there are ceiling fans and plug in fans too. I really would recommend this hostel to anyone, the staff that work here are so friendly and helpful, even helping us up and down the stairs with our cases and believe me that is a blessing after pulling it around for days! If you are ever in cairns stay here!! Cheap, clean, helpful and safe! What more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

first time at this hostel, perfect if you're looking for a place where you can really rest at night! very clean, big house, nice ppl around :) i paid around 20 aud per night in a room with 8 ppl, but we were just 4 ppl in the room, they've a washing machine not too expensive, the only "bad" thing bout this hostel is the internet, not free wifi, you must pay for it, but anyways, you can go to the esplanade and get free wifi there :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was an incredibly charming, hospitable place, with great hosts and lots of friendly guests. A lot of the "girls" seemed to be staying longer than the people in most hostels. It was not at all fancy, and lacked air conditioning in our spartan (but comfortable) room, but the atmosphere was great. People looked up and said hello as we walked through the maze of rooms searching for, say, a shower. The price was wonderful, but when we came back to Cairns we stayed at a more modern (and less friendly) place. The location was great, right downtown, and we felt secure and cared for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarMountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There is an abundance of hostels in Cairns that are all within walking distance to the town and each other, and all within a reasonable budget. However, one thing that makes the Cairns Girls Hostel stand out from the others is the fact that this is an all-girls hostel. If you're used to staying in hostels you would know that most hostels are noisy and often full of late-night young party people, which is something that you would not have to face here in the Cairns Girls Hostel.

Getting there is simple enough - just book a ride at the Sun Palm Public Shuttle Bus counter at the Cairns airport for AUD$10 one way (or AUD$10 return ticket) and they'll send you right to the hostel doorstep.

The environment is safe and clean, with three kitchens to cook from; where most tenants would do their own cooking. Kitchens are fully equipped with basic amenities, microwave and oven, plates, cutlery etc. Toilets and showers are separate and clean. One thing that you must keep in mind, though, is that most of the rooms are with ceiling fans, and with the heat in Cairns, the rooms are quite hot. The common room is nice and cool though, only you're not allowed to bring food/drink there.

Rooms are relatively okay and clean by hostel standards. Beds were not exactly comfortable with thin mattresses, but this is the case with most hostels. Sheets are provided.

One complaint that I would have about my stay though, is that I had to wait two hours before I could be assigned to a room, as I made my booking via e-mail communication to Jenny, the owner, who wasn't present at the time I arrived, and I hadn't been assigned a room. You'd best book through Hostelbookers.com or any other online site to be safe. Mario, the co-owner at the time, was quite apologetic about it though, so I wouldn't take it to heart.

The location is quite good, and there is a launderette right next to the hostel entrance. Cairns business district is within walking distance.

Overall, I'd recommend this hostel to females travelling alone, or those looking for a basic place to stay and not for partying, and for its convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great location , i got up early every morning to go swimming or look around shops i really loved cairns out of all the places in austrilla, it was basic but it was clean and safe the most important things we got food vouchers for the pubs , i did find the ait conditiong bad my only complaint .bus tours picked us up right outside the hotel for rafting, great barrier reef, gus the bus laundrette right beside it food shops down the road loads of food place sto eat good nightlife .lady that owned it was lovely but outr last few days a young girl had bought it of her and she wasnt as nice ....cheap warm showers internet just make sure u have coins for it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Can nearly only say good things about this hostel!
Very clean, very nice staff, good kitchen, quiet and nice atmosphere. No party hostel, I like that a lot.
Its safe cause you can get a key for a locker near the kitchen from the receptionist,
Only negative points are, there is no free internet, the toiletroom itself doesnt have a sink, other nearby hostels were loud, and the beds were not the most comfortable ones, but still ok. overall I can recommend every girl and woman this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina23983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#22 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Girls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Girls Hostel

Address: 147 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairns Girls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girls Hotel
Girls Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing