We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place. Needs updating. Nice pool and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average place. Needs updating. Nice pool and friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

PROS:
Quiet at night. Staff seemed nice. we only stayed one night so can't say much for the "vibe" of the place. Nice pool and lounge area. Free pancakes in the morning was nice.

CONS:
I stayed at the YHA in Lake Taupo, New Zealand and this was nothing compared to it. YHA Cairns had old furniture and very sad looking rooms (twin private with ensuite). Terrible energy saving white light bulbs made the room look like a prison. The shower head was a disaster. Some updates needed to the rooms to make them more modern and inviting. Cairns should learn from Taupo about kitchen etiquette and organize everything with labels and provide enough supplies. Taupo had literally everything nicely labelled (fresh towels, dirty towels, spices, bags, etc). No one ever left unwashed dishes and their glass fridges were neatly organized. Location was ok, still a 10 min walk to the central parts. I stayed in Caravella other nights that was also not central but it was by the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear CannedFresh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cairns Central YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

Since your feedback I have spoken directly to the hostel manager, who has made me aware that Cairns is in the processs of updating their facilities. The hostel manager was also disappointed to read your feedback regarding the shower heads and has taken this matter up with maintenance to ensure all shower heads are in working order.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    41
    8
    15
See reviews for
9
56
100
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights. The place is in a very good location to visit Kuranda and the Great Barrier.

The people working there was lovely. Special thanks to Sandra who was always solving our doubts and finding the best options for us, even when the tours were fully booked she was finding great alternatives.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The room was good & clean but rather drab, but I guess that's what you get from a hostel. If you are a princess I don't recommend this place, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep this will work just fine. The staff were very helpful recommending different sights/ tours as our Great Barrier Reef trip was cancelled due to the weather.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in this YHA for 4 nights in January 2014. The location is okay - about 15 mins walk to the front and where the barrier reef boats from, and the rooms although basic, were of a reasonable size.
There is a free pancake breakfast on offer which was well received and a pool in the middle of the grounds. We had a double ensuite room which was quiet, we were away from the main courtyard, so I'm not sure what noise was like for the rooms off there.
The staff helped us book outings and were very friendly. The only slight niggle was the ineffectiveness of the air conditioning, but we did visit in a heat wave!
Overall, a good experience and I would recommend this as a budget choice in Cairns.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. The rooms are clean and fully airconditioned. Its located across the road from a massive shopping centre, which has a big food court (good for a cheap meal) and has a coles supermarket aswell. The Kitchen was one of the cleanest i have seen from a hostel. Kept clean by fellow backpackers and staff. All you saw was the staff cleaning. The reception staff were very helpful and gave you lots of choices for tours too the one that best suited you. We also got a free pancake breakfast every morning we were there. It had a good sized pool which was also very clean. Its about a 15 minute walk to the esplanade and the outdoor lagoon. amazing stay!

Room Tip: Double rooms are small but very clean. Air conditioning is in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The location is ideal- close to a great shopping center, and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. There is secure, enclosed parking as well, which is great to find in the wet season!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyjojojuniorshabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We really enjoyed this Backpackers. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and we could easily walk to all the places we needed to go. Wish we would of had time to swim in the pool! Thanks to the great staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orionsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#43 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#22 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Property: Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing