We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, New, Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, New, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this YHA. It is very clean, everything is very new, it has a pool and the service is also very good. Would recommend and come back here any time. Location is also very central. When you arrive on the Greyhound, you can walk there within 15 minutes. Large shopping centre is just in front of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    41
    8
    15
See reviews for
9
56
100
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The YHA Cairns Central was a very cool spot. First off, it feels like a Caribbean Resort complete with pool, hot tub, open-air dining and common areas.

My wife and I stayed in a double bed room. The room was small, with barely enough room to get around the bed. And it only had one electrical outlet for charging our gadgets. But the A/C worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. Common bathrooms and showers were close and clean. There was nothing better after a long day on the Reef than to sit outside with some food and drinks and take in the warm dark night. It was just very cool.

Everything is a short walking distance away. You can easily walk to the marina and pier in under 15-min. And Cairns is a very cool tourist town with loads of restaurant and shopping selections. The YHA is right across the street from a fairly large indoor mall and grocery store.

If you're not too concerned about a few pesky bugs and smaller, dated rooms, then this place will be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTheCat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Reasonable Prices and a good location. Is part of the YHA chain (obviously) so thats helpful if you have a membercard. I could also buy that after bookimg which was awesome. Has a small pool and clean community kitchen. If you just want a good nights sleep before a dive trip that works too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMidway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of this YHA, while probably not as smack-bang in the centre as other hostels (e.g. Gilligan's), is still very strategic - just opposite Cairns Central shopping mall where there are shops, food court, and cinema. It is very easy to reach as it is on the main road that connects to the airport, and you only need 10 minutes' walk to the Esplanade.

The place itself is nice and laid-back, but there's no special character. Two levels of rooms surround a communal area and a small pool. The dorm room I stayed in was quite bare, and it was right next to the communal area so you could hear very clearly the sound of people walking and talking outside. The room was air-conditioned (probably a necessity in Cairns), which is great. What's not-so-great is the fact that there was only one lamp in the room, with the light switch awkwardly semi-covered by one of the beds that is closest to the entrance.

The friendly staff keep the whole place clean and tidy, and I liked the free cheese & wine on certain nights, as well as the freshly made, free pancakes in the morning. But the staff also doubles as travel advisers, so during busier times they could be swamped with questions/requests and you'd have to wait long for your turn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hostel is in a good location with very friendly staff and a nice swimming pool which is a bonus! However, as an 18 year old traveller, I was slightly surprised by the age of some of the other guests staying in a "youth" hostel. They clearly were not "youths". This wouldn't matter except when myself and some others were sitting out in the communal area one night we were asked by the staff to keep our voices down as some people had complained - it was only 11pm. I am all for being able to get a good night sleep in a hostel but when one isn't being overly loud and it is still relatively early it is rather annoying having to talk in hushed tones so not to disturb the older, 40 year old guests.
Apart from this, great stay and thank you YHA!! x

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 743KATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overall absolutely terrible, although they have good resources. One good thing: they have a small but comparatively good selection of books in the kitchen, and the smoking area is quite big and the smokers are friendly (I'm not a smoker but I basically held my breath and became a token non smoker just because they were the most friendly people).
However other than that I have no idea how this got certified as a YHA-- the key cards didn't work, there were serious maintenance problems, and the staff was so poor at letting you know about the facilities that I roamed the place and discovered things that people who had been there for a week did not know-- like there is a beautiful tv room tucked away upstairs, where absolutely no one was because they weren't told about it. Our experience was bizarre. When we got there there were several people staying illegally in our room, including a boy spread-eagled on the floor of our all girls dorm. Even though we kicked him out it was bizarre. It's one of the only times I thought of reporting someone (but I didn't, he was harmless to us). The YHA staff was cheerful and oblivious but too overwhelmed by work to chat with. The key cards did not work well and the location is on the outskirts of town-- as a single woman I felt unsafe walking in deserted areas of Cairns at night and even with a friend we jogged back. The entire city of Cairns is disgusting-- a 14 year old local boy raped a 16 year old traveler only weeks before we got to the city. Don't walk around at night. That said there are some fun safe clubs in the well populated area in the center of town, Gilligans goes off, and there are some nice bars and music venues if you know where to go with locals.

Room Tip: Location is dodgy, hostel is bizzarely dirty and chaotic for a YHA, a lot of broken things and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in 4 share for 3 nights. Standard. Plenty of communal space and nice pool / outdoor seating area in the middle. Ample parking out front which is mainly free at weekends. Helpful staff and longer than usual reception hours. Well located near shopping centre, main road, and ten mins walk from esplanade. Only issue is depending on your room it can be a comparatively long walk to the bathroom. We went up to Port Douglas for a couple of days and then came back to Cairns and we chose to stay here again as it is a safe option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#42 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#22 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Property: Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing