We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Bad Stay”
Review of Cairns New Chalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns New Chalon
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Yes- Expedia said it was 4-stars. That was ridiculous. We stayed two nights, and asked to move rooms because of the roaches. There is a sign in each room saying that they "try their best to keep the room free of bugs, but it is a tropical environment." Seriously?!? That sounds like an excuse, as I've been in bug-free rooms in other rain forest areas including Panama and Costa Rica.

The worst part is the location. We had contracted for a trip to the Great Barrier Reef and Kuranda with our friends, who smartly stayed in the CBD. NO ONE would come out to get us, so we had to get a $20 into town to catch our tours, then take the $20 back to our hotel. I thought the hotel was downtown- IT'S NOT and it will COST YOU SERIOUSLY if you don't have a car or plan to do organized touring.

The fridge was nice to have, and staff did their best, but seriously, I woulnd't stay here again, ever.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelerkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 70 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2007

Newly renovated rooms, TV, DVD, Fridge.
Location is less, but if you have a car, only 10 minutes from CBD.
Very Clean rooms.
I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Danny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

I booked this place on Wotif which claimed it was a 4 star hotel....They certainly had some amenitites that could let it achieve such (i.e. in room utencils/plates, fridge, separate shampoo/conditioner, etc.) but it was really an old building, way out of town with bad air conditioning and worst of all our room was just crawling with ants everywhere.


And like the other review said (which I should have read) they don't change your towels.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRNSNEWCHALON, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns New Chalon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

*Under New Management*
Thank you for your review we are now under new management and have made changes to our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

The price for the hotel was extremely reasonable, but I would not stay there next time because it is not centrally located. Even though it is a few miles from town, you either need to take a taxi or bus to town. It did not look safe to walk to town since the road is not well lighted. Note that although some tours say they will pick you up from this hotel, they will charge you an additional cost for it. There is a McDonald and fish & chip restaurant within walking distance, but to get decent food, you will have to take a taxi to town.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. If you have are not particular about the choices of food, you do not plan to stop by town, and want a hotel that is clean and reasonably priced, then this isn't a bad pick. However, I would choose to stay next time closer to town for the convenience of food and shopping and picking up tours.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane
14
Reviewed October 29, 2005

A great place to stay. This property is well located out of the Cities hustle and bustle but still only approx 5km from the City Centre. But it's locality is a real asset the property posseeses.

The motel has A fantastic huge pool area and the meals are out of this world as far as quality and portion sizes are concerned.

We have children and the staff made us feel like part of the family and made us feel all feel special nothing was ever a problem.

We stayed for 6 days at first and then extended for another 4 days and when back in Cairns we would more than likely stay longer and without doubt would stay At Best Western Cairns again.

Our stay was also really affordable and many of the other guests we spoke to at the Motel have stayed there many times over and over , what more can we say.

Well done Best Western Cairns.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2005

This hotel was a former backpackers hotel. The rooms were spacious. The pool and grounds were well kept. The restaurant staff was terrific and the food was good and well presented.

That's about it for the highlights of this hotel. Now the problems:

(1) It was advertised on the BW website as having a free shuttle. Upon arriving we found out that there was no shuttle and it cost us $25 (AU) to get from the airport to the hotel.

(2) This hotel is located waaayyyyy out of town on the Bruce Highway. There are no restaurants to walk to easily and their restaurant is not open everynight. If you don't have a rental car (highly recommended) then you must take the bus, which takes forever. Definitely not a convenient location.

(3) The woman at the front desk was rather brusque and very unsympathetic about the false advertising. Eventually she agreed to comp us a continental breakfast for our three days.

(4) There was a man at the desk for the rest of our stay. Evidently he didn't like the deal the original woman gave us for a free continental breakfast, because for the remainder of our stay, he only let them fill half of our order (breakfast for one).

(5) Our room and bathroom were never cleaned during our stay. We didn't expect our towels to be changed but they didn't clean the sink, toilet, vacuum...nothing. When I enquired, I was told "it wasn't part of our 'deal'." Huh? We were paying $10/nt higher than the rate advertised out front when we checked in. And since when does cleaning a room depend on the rate you pay?

(6) We asked to check out early and be credited for one night of our stay; it was refused because we had booked ahead. Never heard of that before.

(7) We asked for the rate advertised out front when we checked in, because it was $10/nt less than the website (which was supposed to be the lowest rate available) and were told we could not change our room rate.

Overall this is not the way we expected to be treated by a world-wide chain. We will be writing to the HQ to express our dismay at how unprofessionally this hotel is being run.

15  Thank EmpireGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle, England
15
Reviewed April 15, 2004

An amazing hostel with excellent facilities and true Northern Queensland charm, the best hostel I stayed in while backpacking around Australia!

  • Stayed: May 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Cairns Southside International
3.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
3.5 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#39 of 63 in Cairns
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 63 in Cairns
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns New Chalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns New Chalon

Address: 702 Bruce Highway, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best New Chalon)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $50 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns New Chalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairns New Chalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing