We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most complete review ever !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Days Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“The most complete review ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hey, my name is Adrien, and I just stayed at Tropic Days for about 1 month.
During my stay I had the opportunity to try all of the five 4 bed share dormitories(26$/n), as well as the tents(16$/n) and the futons(16$/n).
All of the dormitories are very clean (cleaned everyday). I would recommand dormitory n°8 which is the most quiet at night (most isolated from common areas). 12 and 13 are very close so you can sometime hear the music from the next door room. But all dorms are really good anyway.
Now the tents : they really are OK. Don't be afraid to use them if you want to save money and still enjoy the nice peoples and facilities of Tropic Days.
Futons : a really good alternative to dorms (or to tents on rainy nights), if you don't necessarly have to go to bed early. Had a really good sleep. Obviously not recommended if you like to have your own space though.
The facilities are awesome : hamocs, swimming pool, pool, BBQ, all in a peaceful environment !! The customer service is incredibly good as well, really reliable staff. And the stuff TRUST you on money (if you're a trustworthy person of course). Good animations too (Aussie BBQ, Pizza nights), good discounts on several restaurants in the City. Really nice free shuttle service. And lot of fun and friendly peoples there !
If you want to enjoy your activities in Cairns, have good nights sleep, and lovely evening enjoying music and chatting, this is the right place for you !!
The only negative things there is that this place is so meallow that you can end up doing nothing all day, and actually enjoy it ! Really hard to leave once you get used to this place ;)

Room Tip: Room 8 is the most isolated room from common areas. Shower next to rooms 12-13 is the best one. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    83
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
159
167
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Best hostel we have been to in Australia with super friendly staff! Feels like Home! Really hope to come back! Was an amazing expérience, all you need is here from free coffee, tea, spices to TV, and internet everywhere! You have to stay there if you travel to cairns! The staff is lovely and so helpful, and rooms are great from dorms to double rooms

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We would definitely recommend this place, the staff and owners are all very helpful and friendly. It's clean, we can't really comment on the rooms because we camped, if you do camp, you still get to use all the amenities as the people who stay in the rooms, plus it's cheaper! The pizza night was great, as was the free shuttle into and out of the centre of Cairns. Also the cooking and laundry facilities are great! We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank targaryenfire_blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was more like a home. It was clean and friendly, the BBQ on Monday was hilarious (Digeridoo competition) and eccentric (Meal). The tour bookings were well organized and a nice break from doing everything ourselves. We were fond of Lara! (:

Though the location is a bit of a pain, the free shuttles make up for it easily.

Only downside is I may have been allergic to the detergent, because I got a bit of a rashy breakout from the sheets. My travel companion insists they weren't bugbites so I'm taking her word for it - she was completely fine, anyway.

Great place, happy to have stayed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fresh_Heir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very good hostel, definetly recommendable. Don't miss Monday night's BBQ as they are a lot of fun, and you can get to taste a bit of the real Aussie Barbie, with Kangaroo, Croc, Emu, Barramundi meats, sausages and planty of salads!! Plus some entertainment with comedy and a Didgeridoo contest. Simply great. Our room was very cleaned and the staff really attentive and always ready to help.
They have two bad points tho: reception hours are 8 - 12am and 4 - 8pm, and the hostel is 15 mins walk from the city centre (although they provide a free bus service through most of the daytime).
All in all, definetly worth the money, we would be back!!

Room Tip: If you're not really into camping-at-any-time, I'd rather you spend a few more bucks and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albe_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great people in charge, heaps of useful advice on where to go and what to do, able to book everything, really clean hostel, cooking facilities great. Can't fault it apart from the guy who snored all night in my room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahA255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are visiting the Cairns area you MUST stay here! This place could not have been more perfect! We stayed three nights and would have stayed longer if we did not already have arrangements to pick up our campervan!
It was a combination of the relaxing, tropical environment and the super friendly and helpful staff that made our stay so enjoyable. There are hammocks hanging all around the pool, free shuttles to the night market and center of town as well as great deals on meals and other activities around town.
Even though there we so many other great reviews we could not resist leaving one more!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLange171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing