We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice place. Quiet - no place to party. If you want that go to others places more central in the city. Good connection to the city with the bus. The staff is very friendly. The garden ist very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    83
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
164
176
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hostel is the best hostel me and my girlfriend stayed at in Australia. We were there for two weeks around new year's and we loved it. It's affordable, clean, there's free internet on three computers and free Wi Fi you can use, free coffee and tea in the kitchen. A swimming pool and hammocks all around the premises to chill-out on the warm, drowzy tropic days in this beautiful hostel are magnificent. You can set up your tent in the back, that's what we did, it's awesome!
There is a BBQ night every monday with prizes to be won and excellent food; Emu, Crocodile, Barramundi, Kangaroo, Sausages and salads. On thursdays there is a pizza night including a beer, all reasonably prized as well as the BBQ.
The people working there are more than helpful, Laura and all the others are extremely nice people, they helped us out with all our enquiries about tours, car rentals and everything. We did our diving course over there and we rented our car via them. We had some hassle with that because of the car rental company, and the ladies in the hostel sorted us out. Nothing but compliments for this hostel, I would highly recommend everyone to go to this hostel if you're planning on staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: You can book a tent with them if you don't have your own, it's cheaper than a dorm!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed one night in a private room at this hostel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the manager, Laura seemed very intent on keeping her guests looked after. The whole facility is very clean, including the pool. The free wifi is a definite bonus as most hostels charge for this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Clean bathroom and kitchen, great pool... I stayed in tents for the first night, but coudn't sleep at all because of the noise: people AND animals. But if you don't care about it, it's a good and cheap option, because you can use the hostel structure.
In the second night I stayed in a room for 4 people and when I get there it wasn't smelling very well, and the staff did everything they could to fix this. They also gave us free air conditioning, what was great because was too warm inside the room.
The girls in the frontdesk was helpful and nice.
Is a good place, I recomend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaTrevisanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were here for 3 nights and we haven't seen such a good hostel since! The staff was so nice and helpfull. Pizza night was really good as well. Free internet, free games and biljart table, free shuttle bus! There's a nice garden where you can just relax during the day or the evening. With a pool as well, open till 10 pm!
And yes the staff was so great, really helpfull in deciding which great barrier reef tour we should get on (there's just so many).

Only concern was the airconditioning : you have to pay 1$/3hours which isnt much so not a big problem.

Best hostel so far!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_agb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Tropic Days last year and loved it so much I had to go back again when I returned to Cairns to do my Open Water Diving Course. It's a bit of a walk from the town centre but I didn't mind the exercise or I would just take the bus to town which was very convenient. Clean, quiet, friendly, lots to keep you occupied and relaxed. I met so many great people and had such a great experience, once again. Wish I could bring Tropic Days with me everywhere I go!

Room Tip: Room 7 has the glow of the vending machine through the window and is a walkway for people staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hostel is beautiful!
The Staff is nice and friendly and helps u whenever u need something.
The kitchen is really comfortable and u find free tea and coffee.
The Garden is nice and have a load of Hammocks, a Pool, a Pooltable and more....
Tropical Days is not in the middle of the city but not far away. And there is a free Bus, 9 times a day in town.
+ they have a good, cheap Camping Area with tents which u can use...

When u look for a nice, comfortable- but not boring- place, u should go there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 85 in Cairns
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing