We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definate must!! Stay here you will not regret it! x”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A definate must!! Stay here you will not regret it! x”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow ! Fabulous Hostel, a definite must when staying in Cairns.

The staff are very friendly and helpful with booking tours and arranging taxi transfers to the airport.
Make sure your stay here includes the monday and thursday night. On monday the BBQ night is great fun, a true aussie barbie where you can try local delights including emu, crocodile and kangaroo, they even accommadate vegetarians too. You also get serenaded by a digeredoo using a vareity of instruments including a vacuum cleaner by the owner! its a good laugh x
Thurday night is all you can eat Pizza and beer night which is a great chance to get to know the other backpackers (p.s. avoid the wine go for the beer, trust me!)

The rooms are VERY clean and airy and they provide full linen, duvet and towel, beach towels are provided also when you go on trips to the reef/beach. They provide free tea and coffee as well as free spices in the kitchen area for your use if you wanted to cook, the bathrooms were very clean and hot water was always availible.

The atmosphere we found very relaxing with hammocks, free wifi (good connection) and chilaxing music in the communal areas. They also provide a regular free shuttle bus into town but you can also walk into the centre of town in about 15 minutes if you wish.

A free meal is provided every night except monday and thursday night at the local Woolshed. If you go before 8pm you have to buy a drink, after 8pm you can just eat your food and go. The free meal is basic, if you have the pennies its worth going for the upgrade. We as a couple upgraded one meal and got one free meal and that filled us up.

Overall a very high standard of hostel and a very good price, i advise you to book early as many people as places here go fast. They have a sister hostel a little closer to town too if you cant get in here.

I wish all hostels were like this !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    83
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
164
172
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barefoot Bay,Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

you cant beat this for overall value for the budget traveler: Friendly staff, very helpful booking tours,relaxing , pleasant atmosphere, cheery decor with paintings of tropical plants on walls, very clean, well organized, easy to use and pleasant kitchen facilities, free shuttle bus to reef trip booking place and downtown. Stayed in rm with 3 beds, no bunks, with access to two shared bath facilities

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel with a lovely, friendly atmosphere...the rooms were really nice and the entire place was spotlessly clean. Staff were great. Would definitely recommend the Monday night BBQ...good food and very entertaining! Only downside was the location as it was a 20 minute walk into town but there is a free shuttle bus going into town at certain times. Free wifi available and reasonable rates on rooms made this hostel best value for money. I'd definitely recommend to anyone staying in Cairnes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had an absolutely great time at this hostel. With all the hustle and bustle of Cairns, it was great to kick back and relax here with hammocks, films, and free tea and coffee which as a British backpacker was the biggest plus of all! They provide you with single beds which makes a great change from having to bunk as you do in most places. There was a great barbeque on one of the nights too which allows you to try some of the more exotic styles of cuisine that Australia has to offer, along with a didgeridoo lesson! And with regular bus trips into town provided for you, you can easily get to the lagoon and other attractive features of Cairns. Easily one of the best hostels I stayed in :)
Oh and did I mention there's a pool?

Room Tip: All I can recommend is that you book in advance because this place tends to get booked up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a double room with shared facilities. Spotlessly clean. Nice and quiet. Pleasant staff. Worth the walk/using the free shuttle bus to get away from central Cairns. Just a flying visit for us but it would have been nice to have more time to just relax at Tropic Days.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went to Australia initially to travel, but when I hit Tropic Days I knew I'd be there till the flight home! Initially booked 4 days but ended up staying for almost 3 weeks! Met lots of lovely people, and the staff were fantastic, lovely and amazing; It was a very easy hostel to meet people, I was going solo but settled in very quickly. To cut a long story short I WISH I COULD LIVE THERE! Pizza night (all you can eat) on Thursdays, awesome BBQ on Monday, and free meals every other night, not to mention regular free buses into town and back, free wifi, and perhaps most importantly; FREE TEA AND COFFEE!!! :~)

Basically; if you like to chill in a hammock by the pool enjoying Cairns beautiful weather and good company then head to Tropic Days, if that's not for you then maybe you should go to Gilligans or a similar dive.

THANKS TROPIC DAYS!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffafafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Where can I start. Tropic Days is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everywhere is spotless, regular cleans everyday, comfy beds, great atmosphere and location and top top staff. Staff are so helpful and sort out all your trips for you. There's a BBQ night and a pizza night and 5 free meals a week which can be upgraded for a few dollars, to such a steak, which was probably made by Zeus it's that good. Pool, pool tale, hammocks, garden at the back, you could go as far as saying it's like the garden of Eden an you are Adam and Eve, but everyday. There is a 15 minute walk to town but there's many free lifts in the day to and from town, also if you can walk the 15 minutes now and again, you're probably a whale or some other type of sea creature that's either far too unfit or just can't handle walking and breathing on land. Overall Tropic Days is the best value hostel in Cairns. Stay there, if you don't, I'll tell your ma.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannymills162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing