We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hostel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hostel was absolutely amazing, really well maintained, lovely little kitchens and bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, particularly the 3 bedroom dorm in the building on the left. We met a lot of lovely people around the big picnic tables outside and really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom dorm is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_n_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 578 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

wow what a hostel!! Amazing gardens with hammocks, pool and really clean facilities. The staff were awesome booked me on all the best tours around cairns. I was only booked in for a night and ended up staying for 10 days. The croc, em,u roo bbq was fantastic, met heaps of great people at the hostel too. Big thanks to all the staff and guests who made my stay amazing. Highly recomended !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Tropic Days is my home in Cairns! I found the hostel by chance and I am so glad I did. I was fortunate enough to stay there for one month, after initially booking in for 3 nights, as a guest and then had the pleasure to take on a job for even longer. That's how much I loved it! Never wanted to leave and wanted to be a part of the place I loved!

Tropic Days is by far the cleanest hostel I have ever been to! The kitchens, bedroom, toilets, even the rubbish bins are squeaky clean! I was so amazed when I got there and the bedrooms are awesome as well. No bunks! Absolutely love that! The staff there is amazing too. I was so impressed when everyone knew my name. Doesn't happen a lot when you travel. And the owners, Kathy and Gabe, are so friendly and outgoing they go to extra lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, not just at Tropic Days or Cairns, but the whole of Australia! The best people by far to give you a big warm Aussie welcome and sort you out with trips and give you tips on what to see and do in the rest of Oz.

My favorite part about Tropic Days was the Aussie BBQ!!! It is a must for everyone. Emu, crocodile, barramundi (awesome fish), kangaroo...the works! It's such a good feed and such an awesome time meeting fellow travellers. You'll have such a good laugh and there's a didgeridoo competition at the end of it. Gabe is amazing at blowing the didgeridoo. Learned a few tips from him on how to blow one and it's not as easy as it looks! Now I am an expert blower. Woohoo!

If you get to Cairns, Tropic Days is a must! I love it and can't wait to go back!!! You'll have a blast staying here. Everyone is family. :)

Thanks for everything Kathy and Gabe, and the rest of the staff. Y'all are amazing!
Marco.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnmcty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights in late December and found the place to be colourful, friendly but quite individual compared to other hostels. The grounds arabs facilities are great with free pool table, swimming pool, hammock, kitchens, showers, BBQ, wifi, Internet, air con in some rooms (coin operated), TVs in some rooms and TVs in loungeds with DVD rental available and a very handy bus service to town. The staff are very friendly and always on hand to help with your bookings or any issues you may have. In conclusion we would happily reccommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Ive stayed at Tropic Days a couple of times....everything about the place is great....definatly one of the cleanest and most friendly places I've ever stayed in. Kathy and Gabe, the owners, are lovely, all the staff are helpful and really good at recommending places to see and things to do, so that you get the most out of your trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunnypiedead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Lovely helpful staff- nothing too much trouble. Best place to stay inCairns by far!!! X

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephandMikeplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This Place has a really nice chilled out feel and whoever designed it must have been inspired by south east Asia!

Good things: free wifi, free Internet computers, free shuttle to town, friendly staff, facilities are quite good, pool, hammocks, garden area, laundry

Bad things: it's quite a walk to town, It's quite noisy if your room is near the outdoor communal area even after the supposed quiet time of 11pm, the kitchen is small

Overall probably a better place to stay if you are a backpacker wanting to share a dorm and meet people than a flash packer wanting somewhere a bit nicer than a basic hostel ie theres no ensuite but it does have a fantastic unique laid back feel that is worth checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stustustustustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $21 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Days Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing