We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropic days is awesome in every way !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Ive stayed at Tropic Days a couple of times....everything about the place is great....definatly one of the cleanest and most friendly places I've ever stayed in. Kathy and Gabe, the owners, are lovely, all the staff are helpful and really good at recommending places to see and things to do, so that you get the most out of your trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunnypiedead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Tropic Days Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 560 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Lovely helpful staff- nothing too much trouble. Best place to stay inCairns by far!!! X

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephandMikeplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This Place has a really nice chilled out feel and whoever designed it must have been inspired by south east Asia!

Good things: free wifi, free Internet computers, free shuttle to town, friendly staff, facilities are quite good, pool, hammocks, garden area, laundry

Bad things: it's quite a walk to town, It's quite noisy if your room is near the outdoor communal area even after the supposed quiet time of 11pm, the kitchen is small

Overall probably a better place to stay if you are a backpacker wanting to share a dorm and meet people than a flash packer wanting somewhere a bit nicer than a basic hostel ie theres no ensuite but it does have a fantastic unique laid back feel that is worth checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stustustustustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here back in March of 2011 and wanted to write a review for awhile because I thought this place was just so awesome. Great people who work at the hostel they very helpful with anything you need, very friendly you can chat with them about your trips or tour you did and they have this Aussie BBQ on Monday nights which is soo good, I will always come back to this hostel when in Cairns, you can't beat the price and the service and people make this hostel an awesome place to come to. I will be back to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerbreze18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Tropic days 

I stayed here for around 10 days in october 2011. Being hindu the first thing that struck me when i walked in was the welcome sign Namaste :). 

Have been meaning to write a review for a while. This place deserves it. It waa the last leg of my east coast trip before i flew to india. A resting place, and rest i did!! 

Absoltuley loved it here! The staff were incredible. Everybody was so friendly and helpful especially laura and micheal. I must have done laura's head in with my planning, cancellations, itinerary and she was always ready to help patienctly despite being rushed off her feet. 

The swimming pool is like a lagoon, the BBQ fantastic, the free shuttle very handy, i chilled and watched movies, i got all my diving and trips booked here, the place was very atmospheric with hammocks and relaxation areas, very spacy, great big showers, plug sockets right next to ur wall (very handy!), free wi fi and laura went out of her way to help me look for hiring a cheap car and arranged all the pick up and dtop off. 

Everyday i would go out in the morning and laura would plan my itnierary for me whilst i was out telling me what she had sorted for me when u got back that eveninf! She took the stress out of my itiberary. 

The staff go above and beyond here. Its a family and friend environment not just a hostel! Very clean too. 

I was dubious about anywhere i booked because i knew i would be there a while and wanted a relaxing after a full in time up the east coast. I was so pleased i stayed here and would definitley go back and recommend it! 

Thanks tropic days!! 
Seema xxx

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seematohani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a double room. Our room was in a separate building from the main building and we had a separate kitchen and bathroom between two double rooms. The room had a fridge and a flat screen tv. There is air conditioning in the room that costs $1 for 3 hours. The room was an ok size and clean. Bathroom could have been kept cleaner. The shower didn't have a shower curtain and the hand soap in the dispenser smelt bad. Kitchen was a good size and well equipped. Reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. The girl on the desk helped to book us into another hostel in cairns when we wanted to extend our stay at tropic days but they were fully booked. Also good for booking tours etc. Courtesy bus to town is good and frequent. Grounds are nice and pool looked good. Kitchen in main building looked like it could get really busy as it's quite small. Free wifi is always a bonus! 

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this hostel. Free pick-up from airport, free wifi and lots of free shuttle buses to and from the town centre. The hostel itself was lovely, very clean, lots of bathrooms, relaxing pool area with hammocks and generally lots of social areas. The staff really do make the place, it does feel like a home away from home. The Aussie BBQ evening is a must- we ended up going twice after extending our stay from 3 nights to 2 weeks! The food was delicious and Gabe's hosting skills must be praised! Free enrty to The Woolshed after provided a great afterparty and an equally great oppurtunity to go out with other travellers at the hostel.

It truely is a lovely hostel, best by far along the east coast and would love to stay again.

Rob & Sam

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $20 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing