We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jack Backpackers
Ranked #24 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was home!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at The Jack for almost 4 months and it really became my home away from home! The people are amazing and there is plenty of opportunity to socialize at the bar or over on the balcony. The music does get quite loud at the weekend, but you're choosing a hostel above a bar so it's only to be expected. The hostel offers so much for such a good price: free daily wifi, free dinners (which are actually really tasty), fantastic location, amazing and friendly staff and all the rooms and communal areas are always kept clean and tidy thanks to Harriet and her team :)
I can honestly say that I have made life long friends from staying at The Jack and I walked away with so many amazing and happy memories! I recommend it to anyone and everyone I come across that are heading there.
Thank you Jack family :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhonarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
1
36
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Jack backpackers is in a great location, between the esplanade and the central mall, cheap rooms, free dinner, free WiFi and very social. I work on the reef and always come back to the jack. I've met so many friends at the jack and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cairns. Always feel welcome, friendly staff, clean rooms and there's a bar downstairs which always has something going on whether its live music or the weekly beer pong you'll definitely have a great time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan198666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The jack backpackers is located above a pub - we were a bit worried after reading reviews that we were going to be kept awake all night by loud noise but it couldn't have been further from that! We were located at the far end of the hostel and although we could hear noise it certainly wasn't overpowering and didn't keep us from sleeping or wake us up. The beer garden closes at around 1am so chances are you'll not be going to bed till after that anyway!

The hostel is very centrally located and you are in 5/10 minute walking distance of everything.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating, they gave us advice and directions within the local area and you can also book trips at reception.

Hostel is very clean considering how big it is which we were pleasantly surprised at! You are given a 200mb wifi allowance each day.

The Jack Bar downstairs is a great bar, it is reasonably priced and you can get even discount off food / drinks with a card you are given on check-in. We ate there a couple of times and the food was lovely. You do get free backpacker meals nightly but we chose to sort ourselves out.


The only 2 negative things I would have to say are the room we stayed in literally had a bed and a fridge - would have been great to have a couple of shelves to put food / belongings on. The other thing was that if you wanted to use anything you had to pay a deposit for it at reception. I understand it's a pain when people don't treat property as their own but having to pay $10 deposit for a plate set is a bit ridiculous., especially when they were dirty when we got them! You also have to pay a deposit if you want to use the iron, watch a DVD and the list goes on!

Other than that I have nothing bad to say about the place - I would definitely recommend staying here. It is one of the best hostels we have stayed in!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMW1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

good hostel for the price, i staying here for 5 weeks, free diner, helpful and friendly people, and cleaners came everyday to clean your room, it's also a good location, just a couple of minutes from the city centre, and the lagoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here for the first time back when it was known as Shenanigans and had a great time.
I came back 4 years later and it's now known as The Jack - but i still love it. Nothing too flash, basic but clean and has everything you need. The cleaners came every day to clean the dorms and all the public areas. Great social hostel with a big veranda to meet people during the day and night. They offer free dinner every night with something different every day and a BBQ on Sunday which was great. Also free internet and wifi!! The location is perfect, a really easy walk to the reef fleet terminal and all the shops and pubs. The hostel has a pub attached where they have different events on every night and they also have a tour / info desk on site.
Great value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed in a private room, basic but clean and had a fridge and great air conditioning! very cheap for what you get! the evening meals are tasty and for free you cant complain! the free internet is also a great bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Dirty room and rude guy at the check in. He did not even wanted to explain how things worked in there.

An English lady instead was very helpful and kind.

The room was like not cleaned at all!

Well located and you can buy also trips with 10% discounts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#41 of 64 in Cairns
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#40 of 85 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
1.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.2 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jack Backpackers

Property: The Jack Backpackers
Address: 48 Spence St | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jack Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jack Backpackers is newly refurbished pub-style backpacker accommodation. The accommodation has 120 beds, ranging from 8 bed dorms with shared bathrooms, to four bed dorms and private double rooms with ensuite. The massive pub downstairs has three different bars, a beautiful outdoor undercover beer garden, top quality meal deals for the budget traveler, our famous Friends With Benefits VIP guest discount card, SETANTA & FOX sports action shown on our BIG screens daily 7 days a week, pool tables, a CASINO gaming lounge, plus free entertainment & activities 5 nights a week from Wednesday to Sunday, between the hours of 6pm & 12am. Entertainment on offer ranges from some of the best local & national live bands and DJ's, themed parties, crazy games, beer pong, open mic nights, + much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Jack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing