We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“N'Joy Cairns, enjoy N'Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Njoy! Travellers Resort
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Ickleton, South Cambs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“N'Joy Cairns, enjoy N'Joy”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at N'Joy end of june 2012 had only planned to stay for 4 days ended up staying over a week. The staff were great, Jen in particular was awesome, my room was clean and spacious, the kitchen roomy with free T & Coffee :) cool little pool to hang around particularly liked the atmosphere good groups of peeps mixture of ages, party peeps and chillers...the movie every night was great, loved staying here felt part of N'Joy and was sad to leave at the end of my stay would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeGilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    108
    52
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
75
126
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Despite of the good staff all the facility it's very dirty and not comfortable. It's also located quite far from the esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina82Sbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

the staff are all really friendly and very outgoing!! rooms were clean with a sink, fridge and air-con! very calm chilled atmosphere but there is always someone to go out with and party if you want to!! Jen and martin behind the counter are bother really good fun like minded travelers with loads of advise on what to do and not what to do!
its close enough to town to walk but they offer a bus every hour anyway! and you get a free meal at the Woolshed as well! that u can up grade to nearly anything else on the menu for like $8 very nice food!!

i would happily recommend a stay at this hostel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked a double room with ensuite facilities at $30 a night each which we thought was a bargain. We booked through hostelworld and paid a $12 deposit. When we arrived at the airport, we were told that there'd be a shuttle bus to take us to the hostel. So we called the number that was on the booking confirmation and we were lucky to have a bus waiting for us as soon as we arrived at the Bus Pickup Zone. We were coming from Melbourne so it was probably a popular time.
The bus driver helped us with our luggage and we said hello to one other passenger on the bus. So perhaps they'd do their best to come and collect you - certainly no truth in only 1 bus per hour as stated in the negative reviews.
We arrived at the hostel and checked in which was all OK. We paid the full value upfront (which I always feel uncomfortable with because it means you're less likely to get a refund if you dislike or need to leave the place on longer stays). The receptionist explained that we had to hire a dinner set which is basically a bowl, plate, cutlery and mug each which we paid a $20 returnable deposit for. The internet is NOT free and there is WIFI but again, not free. However, we did spot a nearby cafe with free wifi so this is not a problem if you have a laptop with you.
There was a swimming pool which nobody used during our stay, computer and print facilities, a communal kitchen and outdoor dining area which I thought was cool. There was also a TV and a place to watch DVD's.
Smoking was permitted outside in the ONLY dining area outside so we had to hold our breath whilst eating our dinner - this was the first negative.
When went into our room, it was very basic. The size was reasonable, there was a clean double bed, desk with an empty fridge (we thought this was cool), aircon and windows you could open with a view of the back yard, bathroom had a basic shower, kitchen sink, wardrobe, mirror and toilet. There is no hot water at the sink but there is hot water in the shower. The shower isn't that powerful but worked fine and we thought the room was quite clean. The aircon wasn't used but we turned it on to see if it worked which it did. It was not that noisy and to be honest, would have been a nice sound to drown out any drunk party people in the hostel.
No towels or soap so bring your own!

Luckily our room as at the end of the hostel but it was also right by the bathrooms so we were often woken up by the sound of people showering at 4am or 5am. During the evenings, we could hear people from the kitchen and dining area well after 11pm so that was a bit annoying. Had we booked a room closer to the dining area, it would have been even worse so I felt even more sorry for those guys! Earplugs recommended!

The communal bathrooms next door to us was a basic bathroom, one for girls and one for boys. Each one had 2 showers, 3 or 4 toilets and sinks. They looked fairly clean though people tend to take long showers and waste water so there were lots of signs about water usage throughout the hostel.

This is definitely a party hostel where people love to socialise but also drink and shout a lot late into the evening, However, for the price, this wasn't a bad price to pay. I had brought ear plugs in case it was too unbearable but luckily didn't have to use them.
The only thing bad about the kitchen is that the stove tops are very old and electric so it took ages to cook anything. I would recommend you plan dinner well in advance! Everything else was fine. There were cupboards, fridges and labels for your food if you choose to stay in a dorm. Plenty of pots, pans and stuff to go round.

We were offered a free meal voucher at the Woolshed but by the looks of the poster, it didn't look at all that appealing. I'm also vegetarian so I didn't think there'd be much of a choice. Judging by the amount of people cooking for themselves at the hostel, I also thought it was probably not that good! However, we'll probably try it next time we're back in Cairns as I've just checked out their menu and it looked pretty OK for something that is free.

The reception is staffed during 10am-7pm - if you need anything such as checking out earlier (checkout is at 10am), then you just let them know otherwise noone will be around. If you're arriving into Cairns outside of these hours, the shuttle bus won't be around to pick you up.
The people who stayed at the hostel were mostly very young student types, age ranging mostly between 18 to 25. There was the odd old dude there too who didn't really speak to anyone or was too drunk/stoned to communicate which was a bit weird but he kept to himself. There is a good mix at the hostel, a lot of Irish, Koreans, Dutch, French and Germans. Not many Australians and English.
There was free sugar, salt, tea, coffee and sun lotion available.

Upon checkout, we were going to walk to the airport but reception checked if the shuttle bus were on their way or able to drop us off. Usually, the bus only goes to the airport around 8.35am and then 11.35am...couldn't remember the other times, but about 6 times throughout the day. Don't let that dishearten you, we asked if they could drop us off and luckily they were able to arrange this just for us so that was awesome!
Otherwise, a taxi is only about $13 to the airport and takes about 10-15minutes.

Generally, quite happy with this hostel and for the price, it's pretty damn good! Would definitely stay with them again!

Room Tip: The double rooms with ensuite are the quietest rooms. All dorms are right by the communal areas so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

When we arrived at NJoy we entered our 4 bed mixed dorm to find 2 males already living there. One was and English traveller who was working for a while in Cairns - fair enough but the other was a middle-aged, homeless, australian alcoholic who was on the dole. Not really what we were expecting. He was pleasant enough but we didn't feel comfortable sharing with him and he smoked in the room which made our stuff smell and could've caused a fire! I felt sorry for the English guy because he felt that he had to explain to the other guests in the room who this homeless man was. It should not have been left to him but the hostel staff should have explained this. Or put all the people living in the hostel in one seperate dorm together.

Aside from this, the hostel is ok, the bathroom is clean and was never busy. There was a fridge and sink in the room , free suncream, and free vouchers for dinner at a bar in town (you had a choice of 4 meals - 3 spaghetti dishes or chilli). The staff were mostly friendly. There is a different film shown each night.

The hostel is about a 15 minute walk to town and the lagoon, but there is a free shuttle bus into town and the airport.

Room Tip: Ask to be put with all other travellers so you don't get put with a resident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Such a cheap hostel but fantastic we has drinks before we would go out and would also have night where we would just sit in and have some. Adam the guy on reception was the nicest of guys so helpful and would ensure we where not been party poopers and include us in and also get us in places for free. we stead for 3 weeks until we realised we had to start travelling. Would DEFINATLY recommend NJoy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leem216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I chose this hostel by reviews from hostelbookers.com as it was rated very highly for such cheap accommodation. Myself and my partner had booked for 5 nights in a 8 share room and when we arrived they upgraded us to a 4 share dorm!! The guy on reception Adam was very helpful and knew everything we could possibly want to know. He help us organise almost our entire stay in Australia which helped us relax. I forget the name of the lady who worked on reception but she was so nice and friendly there was not anything she wouldn't do to help. The rooms were fantastic very clean and in good condition for the price we paid including a fridge, sink , aircon and small wardrobe. The Kitchen was a bit small but after the first day we managed to find a time where the kitchen was not quite as busy. They had a movie on every night which was a nice extra. Free dinner every night at The Woolshed which became our second home. The food was ok nothing special but it was for free so hard to complain. Perfectly situated hostel was about 20 minutes walk from the city centre but they had a free shuttle bus running all day until 11. Overall I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is not looking for the party hostel but still with the social side.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.6 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Property: Njoy! Travellers Resort
Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing