We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns City Backpackers
Ranked #68 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hostel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

So the rooms could be a little bigger I guess but besides that you really can't complain for the price. Especially with free internet (compleetly free, no limit applied). Hostel cat was very popular and very cute. I liked the kitchen upstairs the most as it was the least used. Used their tour booking service to get a discounted reef trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johhny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    18
    16
    15
See reviews for
2
32
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Overall ok, though the room and toilet/shower needed cleaning! We also had stained sheets! Free Internet was appreciated! Nice receptionist. Would have preferred to have stayed closer to the centre. Overall you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CerysandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent place to stay as for youth, as for adults (as we are) which looking European style sleeping. Staff is very friendly, speak English. Free Wi-Fi in the room, Free Internet access at the common area. Well appointed rooms (I had a single), the staff are brilliant, friendly and ultra helpful. Had a free tour on my first day. Kitchen facilities are excellent, great common area. If it's raining, just borrow an umbrella. Really, you can't go wrong

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were glad we chose this backpackers as it had a real old style backpackers feel about it. It is not one of those massive, newly built places that fits hundreds of people . Sure the buildings were built a while ago and weren't the newest. That was ok with us as it had an authentic backpackers atmosphere about it. You knew you weren't staying in a 500 room hotel where you don't get to meet anyone. We had a double room which was extremely cheap , just $40 a night. I am guessing because it was low season. Room was perfectly adequate and had a decent mattress. Common areas weren't shiny glossy clean, but they were cleaned every day and that was all you could ask really. Staff were nice and it was good that they give you 10% discount on the tours without needing to haggle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived at cairns airport where we had pre-booked a bus shuttle to pick us up which to start with was almost 2 hours late. When we got there the first thing we noticed was that it stunk of stale urine. The reception was closed so we decided to dump our bags in our room and head straight out as we had lots to do. When we got back that night it was around 10pm and the reception was still closed. We got into the room where we found small bugs crawling all over the bed, all along the floors and walls and the smell of Urine was disgusting. The 'bathroom' looked like it hadn't been cleaned in about 1 year, and there was cobwebs all over the hostel. We wished we had noticed the bugs earlier as we would've just left straight away, so instead we called a cab and went to the YHA which was 100 times nicer. We went back the next morning at around 9.30am to say that we hadn't stayed that night because of the bugs and the smell, and there was a lady behind reception who was straight on the defence. She didn't really listen to what we had to say other than her own opinion. A man then came through and said there was nothing wrong with the room, we asked for a full refund as we hadn't stayed there and they didn't exactly look like they were short on beds, and instead we were offered 2 nights refunded out of the 4 which we didn't even stay. I would avoid this hostel at any costs, it may be cheap but in no way is it worth the agro or the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloving2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This backpackers is one of my favourite that I have been to in Australia. Sure , the price was good but I especially liked the tropical garden atmosphere. So many palm trees and ferns, really felt like I was no longer in the UK. Room was clean, and facilities were good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Yeah, so stayed here in March, it rained a lot so I stayed at the backpackers a lot. That made me glad I chose a nice place. Especially appreciated the free wifi as most backpackers make you pay or only give you 1 hour free or something. Here it was completely unlimited and I could get it from my room too. Swimming pool was small but nice place to cool down in. Other guests were all friendly and staff were too. Am coming back here after going to Cape Trib for a few days.

Room Tip: I was in 3 kangaroo which was a quiet room and had its own shower.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#51 of 84 in Cairns
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#25 of 84 in Cairns
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
0.5 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.7 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Backpackers

Property: Cairns City Backpackers
Address: 274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairns City Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cairns City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing