We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in a private room for 7 nights and really loved it! The Gecko's is homely and friendly, has a lovely atmosphere and everything you need. Kitchen, AirCon, Fans, TV, Pool and Laundry and very clean facilities! The shopping Centre is just next door and you can easily walk into the city for a beer at night.
We definitely recommend to stay here if you're not after a party hostel but just want a lovely time and good night sleeps!

Room Tip: In the private rooms in the back, you can sometimes hear the hostel next door which didn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi Julie and Nils. We are very happy that you had a lovely time here. Thankyou very much for your review, we really appreciate it. As you mention all you need is here. Have a nice holiday. The caretakers and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 416 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

I originally stayed here after reading wikicamps when first arriving in Cairns. I first stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was really nice. Wifi worked in the rooms, they were spacious, clean and the beds very comfy. The manager is very friendly and let me sleep in my car at the rear of the hostel. If you want a nice relaxing stay in cairns this is the hostel to choose, it has a no drinking policy on the premises so it keeps the hostel clean and quiet, but there is no problem if you want to go into town (less than 5 minutes away) and drink then come back for a good night sleep! I recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank English_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Good day Marc. Thanks a lot for your brilliant description of Geckos. As usual you are one of the many guests that just keeps staying longer. Recent renovations has made the place more comfortable. We wish you all the best from the caretakers and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was having great time of staying in Gecko's. I stayed there 1 month. I had lots of things going on while I was staying in there, but manager were flexible and helpful. Room where I was staying for 2 ppl, had aircon and fan, wifi was working in the rooms in main building just fine. Also switching rooms were easy and had no problem with it. Quiet and cozy hostel! We miss good old George!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petteri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Petteri. It was just great that you just kept staying longer. Goerge says good day. Thanks very much for your very nice review. All the best and happy travelling. The caretakers and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very pleased with this hostel. The owner can not do more to help people. Always offers advice. He runs it basically on his own with the help of a backpacker to clean. He's always working everyday making it clean and tidy. Kitchen is always clean and so is the bathroom and our room. It is no drinking and I can see why as there are families who pass through. Although people drink in their rooms once he has gone and on the tables outside aslong as you clean up after yourself it's not a problem and he gives vouchers for giligans where you can drink. Really can't get over how much the man does for this hostel a nice chilled out laid back place close to shops and a short walk to lagoon. Very happy and would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChArFeRn050292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi Cha. Thank you so much for your brilliant review. I am here constantly keeping the place in order and also renovating. The night manager has not reported anyone breaking the no alcohol rule. There might be the odd person getting away with it quietly in their room. We try to keep this rule as strict as possible. Yes it is very chilled here and we are very happy to read your words of appreciation. Take care and all the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

It is a nice, quiet and super clean hostel! In a very good location, you can go walking everywhere. The staff is very kind and helpful. They have rooms and also you can stay with your van. Nice environment!! Feeling like at home and is always clean!! Strongly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Aida and friends. Thankyou very much for your excellent review. Safe tavelling and all the best. Thankyou for your reccommendation of Geckos. The caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The Geckos Hostel is highly recommendable!

+ staff is very helpful and easygoing
+ quiet place to relax
+ very clean rooms and facilities
+ swimmingpool and tanning area
+ laundry access $
+ TV
+ geckos
+ clean and big kitchen
+ low prices
+ parking spaces

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Good day Julian. No worries mate. Thanks a lot for your very clear description of Geckos.Oh and the free high speed wifi 24 hours. Take care from the caretakers & crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks and it was definitely a good choice. Nice kitchen always clean. Also a nice pool which was cleaned daily. It's a very quiet hostel without bunk beds. Highly recommended for backpackers traveling to Cairns!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Max 4 person room without bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andries_Rutger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello Andries. Good on you mate. Most of our guests end up staying longer as they really enjoy it here. Thankyou very much from the caretakers & crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#9 of 83 in Cairns
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $18 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing