We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We only spent three days / two nights in Cairns and expected to stay in an average backpackers.
Our expectations were all exceeded. Our double-bedroom was with two comfortable beds, chairs, ac, enough power-points and even a mirror - bathrooms are partly renovated (other half is getting renovated at the moment) and everything was always clean and tidy!

Free Wifi and even a dinner (in another hostel just around the corner) is included if you stay here. The owner is always around and is happy to help with bookings and other stuff.

The nights were quiet but as the hostel itself is located quite central it's really easy to join (and escape later in the nights;-)) the nightlife! Only 15 minutes to the harbour where all the trips to the Great Barrier Reef start (lots of brochures in the hostel available!) and a discount on the local airport-shuttle!

All in all there's nothing for us to complain about; we'd definitely recommend this place for young and old people who want to have a nice time in a small backpackers in Cairns!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello Jacky. We are so happy we exceeded your expectations. The new beds are very comfortable. Thankyou kindly for your appreciation and for your recommendation to other travellers to come here. Best regards from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    87
    19
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
80
165
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice and quiet hostel, no alcohol permitted in the hostel so you don't tend to get the typical backpacker (which was great for us)
The pool is excellent and for some reason people don't use it so we had it to ourselves most of the time.
The owner is really friendly and will help you if you have any questions. He knew about which companies had deals on for the Great Barrier Reef so is well informed with tours etc. He also organised a shuttle bus to take us to the airport which was also really helpful.
The only cons I can think of are - Internet is not always very fast and can be pretty slow. Also, there was no food labelling system in the fridge so some of the food had been there god knows how long. We went away for 4 days and then ended up going back (because it was a good hostel!) and some of the things that would have gone off in that time (e.g. meat, veg/fruit) were still there.
Also, I thinks it's kind of standard for hostels in Cairns to offer a free evening meal voucher but they never mention that you have to buy a drink to get this (which cost us $6 for soft drinks and we could have easily made our own meals for a lot less than that). We are on a pretty tight budget so we didn't want to be spending $6 a night to get a tiny meal that was not even half decent.
These are only minor issues though and given that I went back for a second time, I would go back again if I was in cairns.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Good day Rebecca. Thankyou for your review. We will help our guests as much as possible.The free internet may become slow sometimes as there may be to many people down loading at the same time, however we are getting a new system this week so we should over come this. Guests are advised to put there food in proper cooler bags. Any food found not covered, cans left opened, etc are binned emediately. Some rooms also have fridges.Sorry we may have not mentioned the drink purchase with the free meal, as we always make a habbit of mentioning this as it also states this on the voucher. Thankyou for mentioning that you would come here again if you come back to Cairns. Best regards from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Right next to the bus and train station (2mins) and the same to Cairns Central shopping (inc Coles). The pool is v refreshing for those hot Cairns days.
Peter the manager helped us out with directions and tour bookings, plus the airport shuttle.
We had another 2 days in Cairns and we stayed here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank O I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Oliver. Thankyou for your nice review and also for coming back to stay again. With best regards, the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed there twice - great place, quiet, super friendly staff! Pretty much everything you'll want to see in Cairns is within walking distance. We also booked a day trip there, was good - would book again.
Note that alcohol is not allowed on the premises, which you may or may not like - it does contribute to the quietness at night, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillmannSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Tilmann. Thanks for coming back a second time and booking your tour here. The no alcohol allowed certainly means it is very quiet at night and everyone has a good nights sleep. With best regards from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed 2 weeks at geckos backpackers. It´s a nice, quite and familiar hostel. Very clean and the price is good too. It´s perfect to do diving courses or other tours because you can have a good sleep, not like in some other big hostels with party every day. If you want to party all night long, it´s only 10 minutes walk to the clubs and pubs.
I had a good time there and can realy recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Markus. You are exactly right, Geckos is really great for resting before and after tours. Thankyou very much for your support. All the very best from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Geckos twice over the last week and a bit - with a trip to Port Douglas in the middle. Fab hostel, located across the road from a shopping centre. Affordable, clean, comfy beds and a pool for relaxing. Enjoyed a really relaxed stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Peter the manager was extremely friendly and helpful when it came to trips and local info.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Richard. Thankyou for mentioning the comfy beds & relaxing stay. To provide comfortable hotel standard beds is very important to me. We try our best to help our guests as much as possible. Hopefully we will see you again someday. All the best from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Upon my return to Cairns, far north Queensland I only needed one destination to find the best accommodation in Cairns... GECKO's. This was the second time i've stayed in this hostel and as usual, Cairns has welcomed me back with open arms! The facilities are amazing, the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are always immaculately clean, the pool is an absolute luxury for me, palm trees, friendly neighbors and two minutes to the shopping mall for groceries. It is definitely the quietest and most peaceful hostel, and for me, the free WIFI, free coffee and tea, and free meals at a prize winning restaurant in town, means that i never want to leave. Peter the owner is amazing, always helping us with directions in the city, the best tours of the reef, the best nightclubs for parties, the best rain-forest walks and he seems to know just about everyone! i would give Gecko's 10/10 for quality and customer service! If you do visit this magnificent tropical paradise, you must stay here!!!! Thank You Gecko's for my home away from home!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazingly comfortable and clean! I stayed in a dormitory with four beds and couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi David. We are so happy to recieve your excellent review. We really put a lot of effort to make sure the property is managed to very high standards. Every room now has brand new beds. Geckos is attracting more travellers seeking peace and quiet for a great rest after there day tours. We look forward to seeing you again when you return soon. All the best from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Property: Gecko's Backpackers
Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing