We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #10 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I Have stayed here a few times in the past 5 years since I left Cairns. It's really good the manager Peter will look after you if you have any concerns, very quite. No trouble, No Alcohol allowed anytime. The price I paid for a week has not gone up in 5 years time since I been coming here. As you may now very close to cairns central less than 100 meters to Coles supermarket where you can buy some food, especial if arrived late. The places is looked after and renovated, bather room clean and painted. It would been better if there additional TV during peak times, if you need to watch something else.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from traffic with are double rooms. BBQ and swimming pool. Rooms got Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Good day Glenn. Its really great that you always come here on holidays. We try to keep prices down so its affordable. We look forward to seeing you again. Thankyou for your review. Take care and all the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a twin room and it was a very nice two nights. Likely because of the no alcohol policy, it was much quieter than another hostel I stayed at just two blocks away a few days before. Friendly staff also. Another bonus is the free pasta, bread and cereal in the food lockers above the sink :) if I return to Cairns I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kyrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello Kyrie. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday here. The no alcohol policy is the best thing ever.Most of our guests are spending on tours and getting a great rest here. Often we have free food left by guests. With a big thanks from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hostel is clean, is in a good location (lagoon is not far away + shopping center right next to it) and the service is great. We, as backpackers, went there with a lot of bad experiences, so it was very nice to see that the owner put a lot of efford in keeping the kitchen, showers, toilets and rooms clean and tidy. The service was awesome and you just get a very comfortable feeling.
The beds are very comfortable as well!
All in all i really recommend everyone who want to stay in Cairns and is searching for a enjoyable accomodation to have a look at Gecko's.
Thank you very much Peter!

5 of 5 Stars :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishaeova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi Michael. It was a pleasure to help you. Hope you and the boys are having a nice time travelling down the east coast. Thankyou very much and best regards from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Geckos is a great, friendly, relaxing and quiet place to stay. It is located in a great part of Cairns. The manager is very helpful and nice to guest. The place is very clean and always in top shape. I would recommend if you are staying in Cairns to stay here. Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello Drew. Thankyou very much for your review. We constantly ensure the place is clean and comfortable. All the best for you and hope to see you again some day, the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay in Gecko's! We stayed in a double room which was really good and clean, as is the rest of the hostel. It's a nice and quiet place with a good parking space.
Michael the manager really looks after his customers. He is really helpfull with finding good things to do, for a good price. We had free pizza's on tuesday.

Its a great hostel to relax for a few days.
Keep up the good work Michael!!

Ray & Bren

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Raymond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hello Ray & Bren. Michael says it was really nice to help you as it is the most important part of his job. Thankyou so much for your review. Take care and all the best from Michael and caretakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

If You are travelling and wanna to stay couple of nights this is the best place! Really Clean and tidy, you'll have a lot of fun and meet many people. The swimming pool is really nice and You although have a really good wifi. The price is one of the best probably in Cairns. I really appreciated it was quiet after 11pm and the bed are brand new. So I will tell you something guys and girls go in this place you will love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AurelienM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Good day Aurelien. Thankyou for your splended review and recommendation to travellers to come to Geckos.Our quiet atmosphere and renovated rooms really assures our guests a great comfortable holiday as well as getting a good nights sleep. All the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've stayed at Gecko's several times and can only recommend it highly!!! It's quiet, clean, extremely good valuefor the money for single travellers looking for a private room, and the management will bend over backwards to help you with anything, get you booked on a tour, or just to make you feel at home. Free fresh mangos seem to be part of the welcoming in January ;-) They helped me get booked on an amazing liveaboard certified dive trip with Reef Encounter at a reduced price (as the only customer on the boat!). If you're a certified diver, I can highly recommend that trip. And you can't get as good a discount yourself when booking trips and shuttles as the management at Gecko's can find for you!

The rooms are great with a choice of aircon or fan, and some of them even have a private fridge as well, and the beds are good. They seem to be constantly renovating and improving the place. The no alcohol policy in the hostel makes sure it's quiet at night, and if you fancy a drink anyway, all you have to do is walk to the hostel w. a bar next door... Gecko's attracks a really nice blend of independent travellers. The kitchen and bathrooms are spacious and clean, and the pool and tropical garden is lovely! The train station and the shopping mall with Coles is just across the street.

I love the old converted queenslander buliding and garden. But most of all it's the people of the place that does it! Superb management! A home away from home! Thank you for always making me feel welcome and at home here!

Room Tip: All the single/double/twin rooms I've stayed in are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turid1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hello Turid. Its just great and we are so happy that you keep coming back to Geckos. Us caretakers will help everyone as much as possible. Everything is being renovated in and to a modern style. We really appreciate all the wonderful things you have mentioned. See you again soon and with best regards from Michael, Phillip, Peter and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 85 in Cairns
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $26 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing