We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxed and clean hostel with awesome booking options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hey guys!
I can only recommend the Gecko's Backpackers in Cairns.
Why? Because it's very, very clean and quiet. You can go partying within a walk of 3-5 minutes and can sleep calmly. Best option in Cairns. The Cairns Central is in front of the hostel as well. So you can get anything you want within 500m!!!
You can also book a lot of tours in the Gecko's and the manager doesn't want your money. He helps you to find the best trip for you and your demands and is caring about your happiness a lot!
You don't do anything wrong when you check in there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Good day Mick. Yes you said it all. We try our best to keep the place clean and quiet. Michael always tries his best to find you the best tours and most pick you up at Geckos. He is also excellent in making sure that everyone is happy and well looked after. With many thanks from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 419 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hubby and I (retired folk of a certain age) decided to give hostels a try on our extended Australia/NZ vacation. We wandered in to ask about prices for a private room and Michael sold us very quickly. Stayed 4 nights.
The private bedroom had new linens, good towels and a clean common bathroom. There were only 4 rooms in the building so no lineups to use the shower. There was a little noise from the hostel across the street, but not much.
The kitchen facilities were good. The other guests could do a better job of washing their dishes and cleaning up - but those skills should be taught by the parents, not the owners of the hostel.
The common area was adequate; we sat outside most of the time. Upgrading was taking place while we were there. Free internet in the common area.
The no alcohol rule was a positive thing in our opinion. There was a nice "vibe" here. People were quiet but friendly. Personally, I think everyone is so busy with excursions that they are exhausted by the time evening rolls around.
Michael was SO helpful with excursions and taxis and car rentals.
All in all, this experience was very positive and we would not hesitate to recommend this hostel to other retired travelers.

Room Tip: Separate building in the back yard means less street noise. These are all private rooms, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eak027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello Eak. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We try our very best with all aspects of running the property. Helping people plan there tours is a pleasure. Thankyou for reccommending Geckos to retired travellers. All the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I move to this place because like most backpackers, try to find the cheapest location at the lowest price. I was first on the cheapest and had the worst experience (party place, ultra noisy, kitchen absolutely busy and disgusting, tent site looked like abandoned rubbish place...)
Then I moved to geckos just for 1 aud more had a really nice stay, like totally opposite than the first.
This place is one of the cleanest I ever seen in backpacker, real hot shower, a very clean garden, swimming pool and toilets, a fully clean equipped kitchen without any cooking residues, free breakfast and Internet (even fast that's is rare). The manager is nice and helpful, also try to give us a better discounted tour place than most city tours. And this place is quiet, the people living are lovely and the place is safe for you and your backpack.
Had also a food living experience.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beautis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello Beautis. We keep our rates reasonable for all travellers. Our priority is to keep the place as clean and as comfortable as possible. As you say it is also very safe here. Thankyou very much Beautis and have a nice holiday. All the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really nice place to stay a while and relax. Cheap dorms with proper single beds instead of rickety bunks so you can get a good night's rest, small room to camp in the back as well for $13/night. I stayed in both for much longer than intended. There's a no alcohol rule which might seem like a pain but it just makes for a much more pleasant and calming atmosphere. Gecko's has a good clean kitchen and lounge area, a pool to swim in, free wifi, and has some laundry facilities too: $3 a load for washing and $4 for the drier (not the best though). Mike the manager is a cool guy who is good to book tours through, he got me some nice discounts on dives, cheaper than the quote I got from the actual companies in question at their offices.

The hostel is just behind the big Central shopping mall which makes getting groceries very convenient, and despite being a little further out than some of the more expensive central hostels, it's max. a 15 min walk to the lagoon, and less to any of the restaurants and shops etc Most tours will pick you up at the hostel anyway.

Most definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank OMGJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello Jones. Its really great that you just wanted to stay longer. Your exactly right our rule of no alcohol insures our guests of a great nights sleep and a continuous pleasant atmosphere.Michael looks after everyone with the best advise and great discounts on all tours. Thankyou for your time and recommending Geckos. The caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in Gecko's for 3 nights. This is our first stop in Australia, we have a pretty good experience here. Gecko's provides clean rooms, decent kitchen and friendly service. Michael was especially helpful for trip information and suggestion. I will definitely recommend Gecko's as its quality environment and friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallywong0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thankyou for your excellent feed back. What you describe is exactly how we run this property. Michael is very good in helping people with anything they need. We would love to see you again someday. All the best regards from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ended up here for nearly 2 weeks, primarily because they accept vans (not many spaces so get in quick). Really small quiet hostel with good friendly service. Best sleep I've had in a hostel environment. Directly beside cairns central and trains and close to city. Good pool, free wifi and decent kitchen. Lovely building, my only advice would be
decorating/ making it more a hostel feel e.g the outdoor area at
back, reception and upstairs such as signage, modern posters
and artwork. Overall would recommend for the quiter hostel types wanting not to party but a
good nights sleep. Thanks Geckos

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Geckos & the team at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi boys thank you for accepting us for being alcohol free so it was good for you to dry out.So from the van to a beautiful comfy bed must have been bliss hey.Just to let you know we have taken all posters & paintings down becuse we are getting ready to paint all the walls now that we have done our rooms.Thanks for your review from Geckos & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Geckos for 9 Nights and we are totally happy we did!
This is a great Hostel to relax, meet friendly travellers and enjoy cairns!
The Manager is a really nice, friendly helpful person! And if you're looking for a Trip, you should book it there! It's a 2 min walk to the big Shoppingmall! Theres a great pool to relax and the rooms are big and clean.
We really enjoyed our stay and recomend this place a lot! If you stay in cairns, thats the place to go! Nice Place, nice rooms and a great Manager! Thank you very much!
Greetings Ela&Fabian

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Geckos & the crew at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello Fabian & Ela thank you for the review we like our geusts to be comfortable thats why we freshly painted all our rooms, with new beds & linnen.It is great to have the shopping center on our door step.The photos of the Mike Ball Expedition were great it was a pleasure to help you out with other tours.Thanks from Geckos & the crew,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $29 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing