We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to slow down & relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good place to slow down & relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm actually at geckos right now. The only thing making the pool look green is the reflection from the trees. The water is clear & the inside spotless. All the rooms (including the sofa) are clean & its a 10 min walk to the sea.

Staying here again in a few days & would stay again in future

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Rachael. Your review is well appreciated. As you say all is well. It would be nice to see you again someday.With best regards Peter and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    85
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
13
77
160
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I absolutely not agree with the review which has been done before mine.
Yes, the weather wasn't that good these days. But for me it has no relation to the accommodation I stay.

I really could recommend that hostel.
This is a clean and very cozy place to stay with a familiar atmosphere.
The owner is very helpful and friendly.
The kitchen is tidy and well spaced.

The hostel is close to the town centre and clubs and shopping facilities are in walking distance.
Wifi is running without any interruption. (I know that. I had to sell a car)

The pool is awesome and clean.
Right for relaxing after an exhausting shopping tour.
There is definitely nothing to say against it.

Have a great time in Cairns and enjoy your stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Kerstin. Thankyou for your support in relation to our recent review. The false/rude accusations are not acceptable. Anyhow it was just great how you managed to sell your car on time. It was lovely to meet you. Take care & all the best from Peter & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I arrived in Cairns by train n Friday night and although i was running late peter waited around so i could check in that evening. From the minute i was met i was impressed. He explained that renovations were going on upstairs and that instead of having a single room i had been upgraded to a double bedded room with a fridge...fantastic!!

The room was at the back of the property (room 20) and was wonderfully quiet in the evening, the bed was comfortable, there were clean and new towels provided and the fridge was fantastic for keeping drinks and snacks cold in. On the Saturday Peter helped me to book two tours, one up to kurada with the sky rail and coming back on the train and the other out to the reef to do a dive and some snorkling, Peter managed to get me a great discount on both tours which was a welcome suprise! he also helped me to hire an underwater camera for the day and kept me informed of when it would be dropped off and checked up on my photos on disc so i didnt miss the delivery.
There are also other advantages to staying here... there is a pool, i was too busy to use it but with the sticky cairns heat its a huge bonus, there is a bbq, laundry is cheap and powder avaliable from the front desk for very cheap, breakfast is provided each day for free and there is free wifi. although it didnt reach my room at the back it wasnt a problem sitting in the communal areas or the garden to get access and the signal was strong and quick, good enough to skype and facetime with little or no interefence from an ipad.

Overall i had a wonderful stay at this peaceful and clean hostel and should i return to cairns i would stay here again.

if your looking to be in the centre of backpacker action perhaps its not the right place for you but i enjoyed the option of being involved in the fun withiin a fifteen minute walk and the option of leaving and knowing i was going to get a comfortable and relaxing undistrubed nights peace! especially when getting up early the next day for the tours!!

Room Tip: i stayed in room 20, large room with double bed and big fridge, overlooks the garden and next door t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello Alexandra.Thankyou very much for your extensive review. I think your experience would exceed anyones expectations. Good on you Alex. I could not thank you enough. With best regards Peter Hoare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been in a lot of hostel in Cairns and this is my favorite!
Rooms are big, bed top quality, the atmosphere is really tropical style and the owner is really kind.
There is free internet with wifi and this is a must, is also near the the Cairns Central and pubs but there is no noise at all.

Room Tip: All the room are good :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunZuCattivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello SunZuCattivo. It is really great that you decided to stay longer. As you have experienced, to relax with no noise is fantastic. Your rerview is well appreciated. Take good care and all the very best with travelling. Peter and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for the 3 nights I was in cairns. Found it on the first day and didn't want to go anywhere else!! Really chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are clean. Peter (the owner) is superb, he couldn't do enough to help. I will definitely be recommending this hostel to friends and family.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prisley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner F, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Phillip. As usual you are one of our very happy guests / its a " REAL" great feeling my friend. Wish you all the best and most of all thankyou very much for your kind words. Peter and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at two other (very noisy) backpackers in the two nights before i found Gecko's... Ended up staying there for three nights. Pleasantly quiet so i was easily able to catch up on much needed sleep. The owner was super helpful and probably the nicest bloke i met in Cairns. I would not be able to say a negative thing about my stay at Gecko's, even if i tried. I have already started the recommendations to my friends and family, and continue doing so. Will definately be back when i'm in Cairns again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Good day Daniel. Thanks a lot for finding Geckos. Our serene property and refurbished rooms provides our guests with a comfortable nights sleep. I am sorry as at the time i was not able to check you in to one of our renovated rooms. I look forward to seeing you again. Thankyou very much for your recommendations. With best regards Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at Gecko's...speaks for itself really. Its quiet and peaceful environment is its primary draw card. Although there can be 40 people staying here, it's not unusual to have this well maintained, centrally located, heritage building to yourself. I was in the kitchen recently and I thought, "Where is everyone? This almost feels like the homely space one creates when mixing the ingredients for your own perfect abode."

The pool is on hand to refresh and Peter, the friendly - information charged owner - advises the adventure focused journeyer on 'good deals' which he can also book. For the more laid back, non adventurer the tropical, bird songed gardens at Geckos are a short walk from the exotic fruits at vibrant, multi-cultural Rusty's Market.The awesome views of ocean blue, mountains and spectacular sunsets that present in magnificence from the 5 km long Cairns Esplanade make this an extremely satisfying, eye candied destination.

And at day's end.....Ghecko's, which is more like a lodge than a backpackers, awaits the weary traveller with its quiet, welcoming atmosphere. Enjoy your journey on the planet. Derek

Room Tip: Downstairs tends to be cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Guest Relations Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Derek. Thankyou very much for keep coming back to Geckos. It is very interesting to read your review. Here we love the peaceful, tranquil, serene and the air that we breathe. We really look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Peter and Geckos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Property: Gecko's Backpackers
Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing