We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent Location with over few steps to Central station.
walking distance to the beach.
and the direct train which goes somewhere else the nature reserve.
over a solo traveling or with few people group
they do have valiety of rooms ready for you.
free breakfast in house and a meal at nearest location is a bonus.
I wish I could have time to use these vouchers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larmerpicka0857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hello Larm. Thanks a lot for taking the time to write your review. Very much appreciated. With best regards Peter and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 419 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for only one night upon returning to Cairns after driving around the Atherton Tablelands and Cape Tribulation for a week. Before that trip we’d stayed in Asylum. That proved to be a bit too much for us as we weren’t really into the constant party vibe that goes on there. Instead we kind of wished we’d have stayed here for longer as this place catered to backpackers who wanted things a little slower and a little quieter. We enquired about 2 dorm beds but as the twin room was empty they let us have this for the same price. There was free breakfast, free wifi and also a free evening meal voucher for Gilligans (which we chose not to take as the experience at the Woolshed when taking our free meal voucher from Asylum was not good).
There is a pool here although we didn’t use it and I have to say that the kitchen was one of the best equipped I’ve ever seen in a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hello Mattdor. You know my friend, its really great to have a well experienced traveller like you, to take time to write a review, for the world to read. Upgrading at no extra cost is a common thing here as much as possible. Giving things for free is a great feeling. I am constantly improving our facilities in order to provide our guests with further more satisfaction. To relax and rest is the geckos peaceful place. Please come again someday and with best regards Peter and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The house is a classic old "Queenslander" - which I like. Wooden floors, neatly equipped rooms, run by a nice and helpful couple. The good thing is: No parties and public drinking after 10 p.m. And this is necessary, otherwise with all these wooden floors and walls one would not find a rest. The bad thing is, if you get a room towards the street. There is not really any isolation against the car noises on a busy street. Also: no WiFi. However, it's a friendly run average backpacker; perfectly fine for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAD2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hello there. I have asked tripadvisor to remove this review as you are not registered in our check in book which includes the date,country and passport numbers.. Also you have no record in our room register.
If this review remains then these points need to be made clear.
- The traffic on Bunda Street is quiet at night time.
- Most of our guests stay for a long time,infact up to 3 months. Not a couple of days as you say.
- We do have wireless internet and its for free.
- And no we are not overrated on Tripadvisor.
Please contact me directly at " geckoscairns@gmail.com " as we have no record of you being here? Peter Hoare owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sensational Hostel for so many reasons. Geckos is in the heart of cairns though you can be decieved at first by the peace and quiet. I loved the BBQ's in the back yard under the Mango tree, with the light from the pool adding to the ambience. The Owner Peter is one of the nicest blokes you'll ever meet, nothing is too much trouble if you ask him. When choosing tours and things to do in this area he can help with all the pro's and cons specific to your individual needs. For example if you have the kids and their ages, some tours not so good with a baby yet others perfect. My boy loves his tech toys and peter sorted us out,,we had it all set up in the room for Eden to get into when he wanted. There is FREE internet and Peter even let me use his own personal computer in his office when I needed(been around the world twice and this was a first!) The day I arrived a woman from Iceland was carrying on and making such a scene about internet Peter calmly offered the use of his computer and I thought it was a one off..no he is a generous man and proved it time and again. I cant believe anyone would ever have anything but praise for this guy. Geckos is a reflection of him and his family and they also live here. The beautiful heritage building is the largest Queenslander in Cairns and reminded me of growing up here (we lived in one). There are so many reasons why GECKOS should be your 1st choice when staying in Cairns, close to the city and tour points,quiet peaceful gardens with pool. Families welcome, free tea and coffee 24hrs,big screen tv in lounge (perfect for travellers whose body clock hasn't adjusted yet) and the calibre of guests was awesome. I was between houses and decided to come here with my son...big mistake! Eden wants to stay permanently!! A massive thank you to Peter and his family at GECKOS you really made a difference in our lives and I know our friendship will continue long after we have packed our bags and moved out. LUEN

Room Tip: If you want air conditioned room, ASK when checking in. Anything you want all you have to do is ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hello Luen and Eden. It was an absalute pleasure to have you here. What a brilliant review you have written. Geckos is versitile in many ways. We offer travellers a peaceful enviroment and atmosphere. A great place for relaxing and just having a wonderful time. The main building is historical with very interesting construction. Have some cornflakes and internet for free, coffee or tea. ... A massive thanks for your extensive words of discription and your photos are great. Also Eden thanks for cooking a nice bbq mate. With best regards. We cant thank you enough for your kind words Peter and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

definitely one of my favorite places to stay here in Cairns. the management is really friendly and helps you whenever they can. I even got my free breakfast they night before as I had to leave early in the morning before the normal breakfast time starts at 7.30am! The family owned hostel is very clean and free internet/wifi is also available. Supermarket, cinema and shopping centre is not even a 3 minute walk across the road. You will get a lot of privacy here, most of the rooms contain only 2 beds!
So don't hesitate, book your bed now ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello Andre. Kindness brings people together. Thankyou very much for your great review and all the very best from our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Gecko is a very nice place, the owners are very friendly and you feel like in home because this is realy not a backpacker's factory. It' a quiet place with a familial atmosphere. The common rooms are clean as the bedrooms are. The backpackers here are all friendly and the owners do everything to keep it like that and they are right ! The big shopping center is just on the other side of the street and the Esplanade about 10min walking... If i have to come back in Cairns i will surely come back here !

Room Tip: If want a solo room take the "room 1" because the wi-if router is just under you ;=)
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hello Sofia. It is with absalute pleasure to read your brilliant review. We are more for the comfort of our guests, not a factory, ha ha ,ha, " that was a great way to put it". Friendliness and kindness takes people a long way.The free 24 hour wireless is fantastic, giving the surfer the extra edge. We wish you well on your 4 wheel drive journey and would love to see you again someday.With best regards Peter and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want a nice, quiet and clean hostel which is also close to the city centre this is definitly the best place to go. You can use the Internet for free, clean rooms and a really clean kitchen. You get also a free breakfast! To the beach you walk only about 10 minutes. Next door is a Coles supermarket and Cairns Shopping Centre. Already recommend this hostel to a lot of my friends cause you won't get a cheaper place that close to the Esplanande and the famous bars and pubs in Cairns. Good parking there if you come with a van like us.
Pete, the friendly hostel owner, even helps me after leaving the city weeks ago cause my repaired laptop were sending to the wrong adress!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hello Marina.Thanks a million for your fantastic review. Our " FREE INTERNET " is also " WI-FI ".
" CLEAN " is " GECKOS " second name. Also a great thanks for recommending our place to your friends. Our camper van parking area is an excellent spot and secure. We like to help our guests as much as we can. Best regards from our family Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $29 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing