We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #4 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Dreamtime Hostel is perfectly situated directly across from the train station. My bed and pillow were very comfortable and I never had an issue with the hot water, I was always able to have a hot shower. Chris and the other staff members were incredibly helpful, probably the most helpful staff at any hostel I have stayed at. They were always happy to help you. The layout of the hostel was great with plenty of "public space" to sit and chill out. If my travels take me back to Cairns I will definitely stay at Dreamtime.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi what is a flyingfoodie? Never mind thanks for your review it's always great to know the staff are doing a great job and that you enjoyed the hot showers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    168
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
27
188
233
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location is very near to city and staffs' attitude are positive and helpful . There is one thing need to improve , the bathroom water is unstable and also it is troublesome to keep pressing the button every 30 sec for the light . That can be very disturbing when using the bathroom for shower and our little "business"

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Leon, thanks for your feed back we are always looking on things to improve. As you will be aware we've had gcooler nights during the last couple of weeks in Cairns and longer hot showers are the norm , we have made the necessary adjustments to our hot water system and reset the light timer in the bathroom you mentioned thanks for the heads up .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice little hostel compare to the rest I saw in Cairns, we stayed there for 4 nights.

For twins room, once comes with fridge and washing basin, another one doesn't comes with those. The room comes with towel as well.

Two drawbacks: The room downstair near the kitchen and toilet can be really noise at night, and toilet upstairs don't have hot shower; toilet downstairs has timer for 45-60s. (need to keep redo the timer)

Overall great location, price, service and atmosphere.

We stayed in both up and downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regina_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Hi Regina thanks for the review of Dreamtime Hostel , it was Great .
happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I could not believe they called this place a hostel - it was so lovely and a pleasure to stay here. I looked forward to going home everyday which is not something you usually feel when staying in a hostel. The theme was wonderful you could relax in so many areas away from others or you could socialise if you wanted to - we had a little dreamtime family whilst we stayed! I would recommend the BBQ they do on a Wednesday evening if you can make it - this was the best place to meet other travellers and perhaps even to try out a couple of new activities! I would like to thank Dreamtime for the stay we had because it really was a dream!

Room Tip: The private rooms were lovely but the dorms still looked amazing in comparison to some i have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Kaylleigh, the Dreamtime family will miss you remember you are all what welcome to come back ! Thanks for your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really nice little hostel. Very quiet and clean and excellent value. We paid 58 dollars for a private double room. Room was clean and comfortable, so quiet. Highly recommended. There's two kitchens which are clean and there's plenty of bits to use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Hi Mark ,
hey thanks for your review of Dreamtime hostel glad you enjoyed your stay safe travels the Dreamtime team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Dreamtime is definitely a hostel, not a hotel, but the private rooms are spacious and facilities relatively clean. All hostels can have issues with dirty kitchens when other guests fail to clean up, but at Dreamtime this is not a big issue. They could use more bathroom facilities, but we never had to wait. Great common space, low price, and fairly chill. One nit: daily internet use is capped for all guests,collectively. So if one guest decided to do a lot of downloading, the internet shuts off for a while for everyone. The cap resets every few hours, the internet is free, and the free computers in the lobby are always online (during lobby hours of 7:30 am-9 pm). We paid $60 for a private double so its a good value as well. Tip: for a very quiet room ask for a room in the back building (further from the street and common spaces).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi thanks for your positive review. Glad to know you thought we were value for money. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent staff. Clean friendly cosy attractive hostel excellent value fun and charming. Staff go out of the way to help you and make you feel at home. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great for older budget travellers as well as younger ones. Chris the manager is brilliant at looking after everything. With a fun relaxing theme each night barbecue or movie night pizza night etc there's always something to enjoy and a great place to make new friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Mandy. Chris is looking after the hostel while we are away sounds like he is doing a great job. Thanks for the feed back. Steve and Sally Southern Chille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.0 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing