We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Ranked #4 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic - clean and friendly”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really nice little hostel. Very quiet and clean and excellent value. We paid 58 dollars for a private double room. Room was clean and comfortable, so quiet. Highly recommended. There's two kitchens which are clean and there's plenty of bits to use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Hi Mark ,
hey thanks for your review of Dreamtime hostel glad you enjoyed your stay safe travels the Dreamtime team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    187
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
212
269
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Dreamtime is definitely a hostel, not a hotel, but the private rooms are spacious and facilities relatively clean. All hostels can have issues with dirty kitchens when other guests fail to clean up, but at Dreamtime this is not a big issue. They could use more bathroom facilities, but we never had to wait. Great common space, low price, and fairly chill. One nit: daily internet use is capped for all guests,collectively. So if one guest decided to do a lot of downloading, the internet shuts off for a while for everyone. The cap resets every few hours, the internet is free, and the free computers in the lobby are always online (during lobby hours of 7:30 am-9 pm). We paid $60 for a private double so its a good value as well. Tip: for a very quiet room ask for a room in the back building (further from the street and common spaces).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi thanks for your positive review. Glad to know you thought we were value for money. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent staff. Clean friendly cosy attractive hostel excellent value fun and charming. Staff go out of the way to help you and make you feel at home. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great for older budget travellers as well as younger ones. Chris the manager is brilliant at looking after everything. With a fun relaxing theme each night barbecue or movie night pizza night etc there's always something to enjoy and a great place to make new friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Mandy. Chris is looking after the hostel while we are away sounds like he is doing a great job. Thanks for the feed back. Steve and Sally Southern Chille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed in Dreamtime 4 weeks doing work for accommodation! Such a nice hostel with really great people around. It's clean, friendly and super cosy. BBQ night and fire show on Wednesdays were my favorite night! Also they do have the best WFA deal in town. You're lucky if you can get a spot! Cheers everyone, had a great stay! :) And really enjoyed the cleaning actually! :P

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi lotten you can come back and work for us any time . Keep smiling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemvig, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

As the titel says this place in nothing less than amazing. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week 6th-13th of april 2014 as a part of a longtime backpack holiday.

The hostel is small with a comfortable atmosphere and is own and driven by Steve and Sally Douglas for about 20 years (as far as I recall). It is located 2 minutes from Coles and not much more from the City center.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always met with a "Hi, how are you?" in the reception. Furthermore the reception staff can help you with booking trips with a book-in-house discount or bookings for traveling the coast and etc.

We stayed in a budget double room which included a fan and towels. It was very clean and nice and it locked like it had just been painted. Great value for 30 $ per person per night.

There are as far as I know three kitchens and the one we used was a little small but always very clean, in my opinion cleaner than the average hostel kitchen.

The hostel has also plenty of toilets and barhrooms which are also held very clean.

The hostel also arranges various events throughout the week. They arrange: BBQ-night, pizza night, fireshow and movie nights on a big screen in the covered yard between the reception and the accomodation unit. They also have a small swimmingpool and free wifi.

During our stay Cairns was hit by the cyclone Ita which meant that we had to extend our stay due to fligth cancelations. That was not a problem and I think that we even got a free upgrade from the budget double room to the double room. They nevet said anything but our second room was bigger and had a fridge.

To comfort us during the many warnings and the time up to, Steven and Sally hang up posters with their number un case anyone felt uncomfortable and told us about what happened last time a cyclone hit Cairns which eased our minds greatly.

On the day of the cyclone Steven and Sally were aware that many of the guest had extended their stay and therefore might were in lack of food supplies because all stores were closed. So in the morning Steve went out and bougth fresh baked bread from the local bakery and hosted a free morning BBQ with sausages, fried onions and of course the fresh bread. After that Steven put on a film at the reception so we could sit and relax plus we were provided with popcorn.

For dinner Sally had made us pumpkin soup and they took so good care of us. It was like being a part of one big family!

All in all we were sad to leave this fantastic place and we would give this place our best recommendation and we wish Steven and Sally the best luck!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwesjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi. Thanks for your review cyclones come and go the most important thing is peoples safety Sally and i are travelling South America for three months while Chris our long term manager will be looking after things at least its not cyclone season . Safe travels. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

i booked the budget double room,always can hear the toilet flush sound and shower sound.
and even shower no hot water, they told me because too many customers use,so run out of hot water.
after 9pm,the reception close,no more wifi, and i call them, nobody can solve this problem for me.
even 23:30 someone play billiards ball and make noise. i felt really terrible.
the hostle should care about every customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiawei6095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Chiawe thanks for your feed back we like to take care of all our customers needs I apologies for the hot water running out the temporary issues has been resolved . As for our free wifi it does have a daily quota that rarely runs out. It resets daily at midnight we hope you find what your looking for . Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We moved to Dreamtime from a different hostel in Cairns that was a little disappointing and were so, so pleased we did!
I honestly love everything about this hostel. It's one of the most unique I've stayed in as it's basically three old houses joined together to make a fab hostel. This means it has so much more character than a lot of others do!
The atmosphere is brilliant as it's only a five minute walk to all of the shops and bars and across the road from a large shopping centre with a food court, cinema etc, but is not situated in the middle of town so you can get some peace and quiet when you need it.
They also do nights such as movie night and BBQ night which helps you meet other people.
We stayed in an 7 bed dorm which was lovely, clean and spacious. Our bunk bed was just behind a little bit of a dividing wall which was great for us, being a couple, as it gave us a little extra privacy.
We were on the upstairs so used the upstairs kitchen which was pretty much always clean.
There's also free wifi, although we did have a few issues with that. If you really need internet they do have computers near reception you can use though. There's also a free pool table which we thought was great because we normally waste so much money on them!
One of the best aspects of this hostel is the staff and their customer service. I had one little issue whilst there and the staff were amazing and so helpful. Everything was resolved quickly so they definitely deserve a special mention for all the fantastic work they do to keep this hostel as nice as it is.
Only small issue we had was that it was quite warm when we stayed and the ceiling fans weren't really powerful enough to make much of a difference, although this could have just been our fan or part of the room.
Over all we had a great time here and would definitely stay again if we head back to Cairns. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzrezz1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Rizz. Thanks for your great review we are glad you enjoyed our hostel it's important for us the get our customers feed back Hope to see you again some time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing